We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An elegant hotel, perfectly located on the square in Galway with modern amenities”
Review of Hotel Meyrick

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Meyrick
Ranked #22 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Massachusetts, USA
2 reviews
“An elegant hotel, perfectly located on the square in Galway with modern amenities”
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We found this hotel elegant and very hospitable. Our suite was lovely and overlooked the square where we could look into the heart of Galway. The staff was very gracious and meals terrific!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wine_rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    435
    218
    107
    78
See reviews for
214
673
39
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2009

My 13 year old son and I (I am a single mom) stayed here for two nights. We did a two night plus dinner package. It was really nice. The dinner was great and we were upgraded to a top floor room when our original double-bed room was not available.

The staff is incredibly sweet and super helpful. I felt safe and secure any where in the hotela nd the city. The hotel's location in Galway can't be beat-- within a short walk to all the historic and cultural sites. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMH1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2009

Stayed with partner and 9 month old baby.

Pros: To start, the hotel "in general" is nice. Quality of food and staff is of good standard. Location is great for seeing the city.

Cons: However, there were 2 negatives from my stay:
1) the noise levels from the street at night is very bad! Even from a room on the side of the building the noise with all windows CLOSED was so loud that I couldn't sleep until about 3 each morning when the "riots" would calm down. Granted you are on the main square so there are loads of pubs etc. in adjacent streets. The screaming and shouting from the drunken "muckers" who've obviously never been away from their home is terrible. I've had many party years but the loutish behaviour outside on the streets demonstrated a particular calibre of individual. Unfortunately I can't see how the hotel can improve on this without replacing the old windows with proper sound insulated windows. Perhaps with better levels of policing on the streets there might be better crowd control. Because of this I would find it difficult to stay there again.

2) For some reason the heat in the hotel was very high. There was no heating on such as radiators etc. and even with windows open it seemed to be extremely hot inside (Even though outside on the street it was actually cool... it was late september/early october.) To confirm this there were large portable fans running on the landings outside the lifts area to keep the air cool. I don't know if there is some source of heat generation that the hotel couln't control?

So by day this hotel is a nice stay... but at night it is just brought down by the poor surroundings and locals...

Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank urckle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burt1972
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2009

Of all the reviews I have done, this is the worst. Purely on the basis of value for money. If it was €60 I would have a different review.
Upon arrival I asked for a quiet room, which at €170 per night would be the least that would expect. The receptionist looked at me with scorn and said "this is a city centre hotel". The public areas are worn and poorly maintained. The corridor outside the room reeked of smoke. I arrived into the room and went to close the windows. After peeling back the net curtain replete with a large brown stain, I closed the windows and noticed the filth on them. The bed was reasonable and comfortable. The television had a severe dose of snowy reception. There was no iron in the room (in a 4 star hotel?). The leather box containing guest information had the cover peeling back. I got up early to go to the gym and it did not open till 9am. What kind of hotel is this?
In its favour, it is right on the square and the breakfast was good.
They have a captive audience in the CIE tours international it seems from signs in the foyer. This was an old state owned hotel so they have maintained inks with other state bodies it seems.
The guide book says "Victorian elegance". I suppose given that most people at the time lived in squalor it could be an accurate reflection of elegance in that era. My opinion was that this is not much of a step up from the gutter.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burt1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull U.K.
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2009

Service was exellant from the time we checked in until the time we checked out .
We had a lovely double room at the front with a lovely view over Eyre Square.
Did not eat in the restuarant in the evening due to other commitments but the breakfasts served their in the morning were first class.
Did have two rib eye steaks in the sports bar in the basement, one cooked medium, and the other well done, both cooked to perfection.
To top it all there was valet parking at 5 euros a day.
Had a lovely time in Galway, mostly due to the Meyrick and its Staff." thank you" cant wait to stay again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanSolihullU_K_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn,New York
1 review
Reviewed September 14, 2009

Everything from Reception to Checkout was as good as it could be. Our room was beautiful with a lovely view of Eyre Square. The restaurant's service and dinners were outstanding. We would reccomend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Mgoody51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2009

On arrival we learned that only rooms on one floor (floor 5 I believe) have,been renovated. Our room 310 had mould in bathroom, filthy shower head ,no robe/slippers, empty mini-bar missing light fitting,broken window catch, dirty floor. Public areas especially stairwells were filthy,even the walls. Chairs and floor coverings in dining room and lobby were stained and shabby. We spoke with other guests who were having the same experience. Breakfast good, Most staff helpful. Not a pleasant experience at 165 euro per night. We were so disappointed, we couldn't wait to leave,

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,921 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Skeffington Arms Hotel
Skeffington Arms Hotel
#27 of 46 in Galway
489 reviews
0.9 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
0.0 mi away
Eyre Square Hotel
Eyre Square Hotel
#28 of 46 in Galway
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meyrick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meyrick

Property: Hotel Meyrick
Address: Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#15 Family Hotel in Galway
#15 Business Hotel in Galway
#16 Romantic Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Meyrick 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the heart of Galway City, the 4 star Hotel Meyrick combines stunning Victorian elegance with modern luxury and style. Enjoy a warm welcome, luxurious accommodation, a range of bar and dining options and the most central location. Enjoy a gorgeous Table D Hote evening meal or order from our A la Carte menu in our restaurant- No 15 on the Square. Relax in our beautiful Gaslight Bar & Brasserie for informal lunch or dinner with drinks, or in our elegant Oyster Bar. During your stay book into our Square Spa on Level 5. Along with treating yourself to a soothing spa treatment, avail of all facilities including Jacuzzi and our Outdoor Rooftop Hot Top. Ideally situated overlooking bustling Eyre Square, the delights of Galway are on your doorstep. With Shop street 2 minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Meyrick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meyrick Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing