We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely City Hotel”
Review of Hotel Meyrick

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Meyrick
Ranked #23 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Cork
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely City Hotel”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Meyrick May bank holiday weekend as we had a family wedding. We were worried about parking when we first arrived but there is plenty spaces around the corner in the bus/train station car park and reasonably priced for the day considering you are in the heart of Galway City. The hotel is beautiful and full of character. The staff are really nice and take the time to check you in. We were very lucky as we were upgraded as we were staying a couple of nights and the room or should I say rooms were fabulous. If you like a building with history then this is the place to stay. The high celling, big door entrances and classical decor would win you over. I really loved this stay and would love to return to take advantage of the spa and roof top pool.

The food was lovely and the staff at the breakfast were very attentive and very good in making sure you had enough toast or tea/coffee etc... The bar food is on the expensive side but as mentioned before you are in Galway city.

There are some disadvantages the room was very warm when we stayed and there was no air con so we did have to open windows and being on Eyre's square it was very noisy late at night but hey you are in the middle of the city, It didn't bother me but if you are a light sleeper you might want to pack earplugs. Also the reception desk is located at the right hand side of the entrance hidden away which didn't really make much sense but that is just what I thought.

Considering what we paid I thought the stay was 5 star...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CorkSudee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear CorkSudee,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

We are delighted that you had a nice stay with us. Our staff members will be delighted to read such a positive feedback from our guest. We apologise for the inconvenience caused by room being too warm and we hope this did not take too much away from your stay with us.

Thank you once again and we hope to see you in the nearest future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    429
    217
    107
    78
See reviews for
211
665
39
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

This is a must do hotel. I love Galway. Favourite place in all of Ireland. This hotel is as central as you can get (though tough to find when using GPS - you have been warned). Nice, historic, beautiful lobby, impeccable service by staff, historic, great breakfast, large rooms, comfortable beds, lots of amenities, and cheap overall when compared to anything in Dublin, etc, etc. This hotel is large. But, it is also trendy, quant and a boutique hotel all at the same time. It is right on the main square. The pedestrian mall is a 3 minute walk diagonal to the entrance and across the square. The staff were super accommodating of a some injuries I had injured just prior to the trip. Gave great recommendations for local bars and food.
Careful of the odd metal "anti-slip" protrusions the City put in right out front by the light - they are at most intersections and are deadly; saw many people fall.

Room Tip: We peeked in a number of rooms while the maid was making them up. They all looked good. I liked lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vancouver90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear IrishBear13,

Thank you for this lovely review.

We are delighted to red that you have enjoyed so many things about our hotel. We work very hard to ensure our guests receive the best service and it is nice to see that we have reached your expectations.

Thank you once again and we hope to see you soon.

Kind regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
394 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

The season was warm and their air conditioning was not as cool as we like, and they placed fans in the hallways to try to cool the hotel. We spent some time in the bar and it was quite comfortable and relaxing. Excellent location and don't forget to read the information in your room telling you the history of this hotel and names of some of the famous people who have stayed here. Parking a car is not a problem, just pull up to the front and they will park it for you. Our room was a little small and we asked for a different room but there were none available. It did have a nice view of the park. Breakfast was a beautiful buffet .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deborah r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear deborah r,

Thank you for taking time to post this review.

It is great to see that you have enjoyed your stay at Hotel Meyrick. Our Hotel has a great history and it is nice to know that our guests appreciate that.

Thank you once again for your time and we hope you will return soon.

Kind regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Very convenient location,the rooms were comfortable, but we were a little surprised it didn't have air-conditioning but we were given a fan and were fine. Our room overlooked a parking lot and it was kind of noisy with the windows open in the morning. The staff at this hotel were wonderful, very friendly and helpful.m

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CherylW1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear CherylW1959,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Hotel Meyrick with other TripAdvisor users.

We are happy to see that you had a nice stay with us and that our staff have reached your expectations. We are a city centre Hotel, so it might get a bit noisy at times (especially during the summer), we apologise if this had an affect on your stay.

Thank you once again for this review and we hope to be welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roscommon ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

i recently spent a couple of days in galway at the fantastic merick hotel ..i had to attend a medical apt; there ..upon check in my room was nt quite finished yet ..but i was early ..so that was no problem ..the very friendly receptionist took my bag ...and i went and enjoyed lunch in th erestaurant ...i was exiting the hotel to go for my appointment ..when she caught my eye ..and told me my room was ready ..i said that was fine ..iad check in on my return ...imagine my surprise when i arrived back in that evening ..to find i had being upgraded to a suite ,,what a truely lovely thing to do for someone ...to say it was a fabulous suite ..is an understatement ..what it didnt have ,..wasnt worth having ..lol..;)..i went down to the restaurant for dinner that nite ..the chicken peri peri dish was exceptional ..as was the chilian wine ..what a grt end to a tiring day ..thank u sooo much to the management of this hotel ...u outdid yourselves ..;)

Room Tip: be gracious to ur host ..lol..;)..and have an angel lookin down on u ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank murph48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear murph48,

Thank you for leaving this lovely review here on tripadvisor.

We are glad to see that we have ticked every box for you and you had great experience hare at Hotel Meyrick, as we always aim to please our guests. Your feedback is very important to us.

Thank you once again for this review and we hope to be welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

This is a grand old building in the center of Galway right on Eyre Square. It is within easy walking distance to several fine music pubs.

The photos posted on tripadvisor show fine, spacious rooms with magnificent views of the square. The hotel also has an annex which sits over the driveway to the parking lot. When we first arrived, we were assigned to a room on the second floor at rear side of the annex facing the parking lot. It was very cramped and smelled dusty (perhaps because it overlooked the parking lot and railroad yard). It was just a few feet from a loading dock on which people had long discussions late into the night and smoked cigarettes. Every time a car started in the parking lot, we could hear it. The beds were small and uncomfortable. I could not believe that this was the same hotel that received such a high rating: perhaps my tour agency had paid a discounted rate and the hotel sold them the worst room in the house.

The following morning we asked to switch rooms. The staff at the desk were very accommodating and moved us to another room in the annex a floor higher, this time facing the square. It was directly over the driveway but the buses did not run under it too often.The room was the same size but quieter and cleaner.

The breakfasts were excellent and the location was ideal. The staff we dealt with could not have been friendlier or more helpful.

Perhaps parts of the hotel are elegant - we simply did not see this. Perhaps there are deluxe rooms and annex rooms.

Room Tip: Stay out of the annex, particularly out of the rooms that face toward the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paniolokine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear paniolokine,

Thank you for taking your time to post of your experience at our Hotel. All our guest feedback is very important to us and is taken in a constructive manner.

Although we are grateful for your feedback it was disappointing to see that your stay was not entirely to your satisfaction. All your remarks have been duly noted and will be addressed with relevant department manager. We hope you will return to us again and will see major improvement.

Thank you once again for this review and we hope to be welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danvers, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Great location which was important for us as we wanted our 3 sons to be able to go out at night and get back easily. Staff was very attentive and accomodating. Bar was great as was the breakfast. Overall, the hotel is a little tired looking. Could use some fresh paint. Were surprised that the hotel had no A/C. That should be advertised. Also, fitness center and jacuzzis closed at 8 which is a bit early.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jakster21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 45 in Galway
1,887 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
2,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Skeffington Arms Hotel
Skeffington Arms Hotel
#28 of 45 in Galway
478 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Residence Hotel
The Residence Hotel
#30 of 45 in Galway
41 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#20 of 45 in Galway
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meyrick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meyrick

Property: Hotel Meyrick
Address: Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Galway
#15 Family Hotel in Galway
#15 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#16 Romantic Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Meyrick 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the heart of Galway City, the 4 star Hotel Meyrick combines stunning Victorian elegance with modern luxury and style. Enjoy a warm welcome, luxurious accommodation, a range of bar and dining options and the most central location. Enjoy a gorgeous Table D Hote evening meal or order from our A la Carte menu in our restaurant- No 15 on the Square. Relax in our beautiful Gaslight Bar & Brasserie for informal lunch or dinner with drinks, or in our elegant Oyster Bar. During your stay book into our Square Spa on Level 5. Along with treating yourself to a soothing spa treatment, avail of all facilities including Jacuzzi and our Outdoor Rooftop Hot Top. Ideally situated overlooking bustling Eyre Square, the delights of Galway are on your doorstep. With Shop street 2 minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Meyrick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meyrick Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing