We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Meyrick
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,577)
Filter reviews
1,577 results
Traveler rating
657
481
238
116
85
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
657
481
238
116
85
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseyre squareoyster barhot tub on the rooffifth floorhistoric hoteltrain stationjunior suitechristmas marketgalway cityspa treatmentsfantastic locationcentral locationwithin easy walking distanceboth morningssconespubs and restaurantslovely room
Filter
Updating list...
1,449 - 1,454 of 1,577 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2008

Stayed here in July when attending the Galway races. The lobby and dining room of the hotel itself is rather dark and may not be to everyones taste. However our room overlooked Eyre Square and was excellent overall. I can't see why this hotel gets some dubious reviews. It's a city centre hotel that is conveniently located and it is also comfortable and clean. What more would you want? Recommended for any trip to Galway.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KEM1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2008

Stayed with family for hen night and was more than impressed with hotel and staff. Location in Eyre Square, near train and bus station, shopping and could'nt get more central. The rooms are divided between the older and newer parts but all are large and comfortable with all amenities. There is a cocktail bar, spa and huge lobby. Also there is a late night bar downstairs which is trendy but smallish. The staff are brilliant and even brought us through to train station without leaving the hotel!! Saved us from the rain. Brilliant value for money and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank amylouLaois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2008

We spent one night at the Hotel Meyrick this month. It wasn't a pleasant experience. Although it was a quiet Sunday night, we were put into a small, poorly maintained room in an annex. We arrived late in the day and were in a rush to get to our dinner reservation or we would probably have made a fuss and requested that we be moved. Badly mildewed bathroom curtain, peeling paint, missing light fixture and a generally shabby air. Plus, there was no way to control the room temperature so we were too warm all night. The dining room is dark and depressing but the buffet breakfast was fine. Also, there's a nice little bar in the lobby with a pleasant atmosphere. This hotel is in need of some serious renovation. A very poor value for the money (165 Euros for bed and breakfast). We did tell the manager when we checked out that the room needed maintenance and he reduced our bill by 15%.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wanderlust625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2008

My husband and I stayed 2 nights over a weekend and overall enjoyed our stay.

The service was excellent and very attentive. Our room was a bit small and overlooked the bus depot whihc was a little disappointing. We also had to walk a good distance to get to our room. We had breakfast in the hotel- it was very good and came with a complimentary newspaper.
The location is very central.

The leisure centre has a jacuzzi and an outdoor hottub which were lovely. The gym looked statndard enough. I would have like a swimming pool.

Have to agree with other posters - decor is a bit dark and gloomy, though I did like the fire in the lobby.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2008

Stayed in the Meyrick fo St. Patrick's weekend. Can't say enough about the location. Knew from other reviews on here that it was central - but it is literally bang in the middle of it all. I booked the weekend package for our anniversary, and definitley earned some brownie points. Got a room looking over Eyre square, which was a major plus.
We ate in the restaraunt on our first night, had the steak and it was substantial - best I've had in a while.
Went to a restauraunt downtown on 2nd night, Kirwans Lane? i think- on recommendation from the receptionist and it was class! Defintley recommend this hotel for anyone making a trip to Galway and like to be central!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank lowth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews