We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a 3star shelbourne👍”
Review of Hotel Meyrick

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Meyrick
Ranked #24 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“It's a 3star shelbourne👍”
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Well worth a stay and if you want central it's perfect! It is an oldie and kept clean and the junior suite was perfect! Very happy with my stay! Bar downstairs great for watching some sport while the wife shops! Staff nice and Breakie could do more but for the price it's fine! No real problems only your car gets taken from you as it's not kept local but it's makes you walk every where which is fine as every where is locally walkable!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Peter K,

We are very grateful to you for having posted your review here on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us - Thank You.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Hotel Meyrick and we hope that you will come back and visit again soon.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    423
    217
    105
    78
See reviews for
207
658
38
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Attended a wedding in Galway at the Meyrick in early November and was very impressed with the hotel. Lovely, clean, quiet and comfortable room with a fabulous bathroom. Friendly, helpful staff. Wifi, parking, and a delicious breakfast. Great ambience. Beautiful architecture and fabulous location. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScarlettViolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear ScarlettViolet,

Thank you for taking time to post this comment.

We are glad to read that you had such a wonderful time here at Hotel Meyrick especially that you were visiting Galway for such a great occasion like a wedding. We feel that it is very important that all guests of our hotel leave with happy memories and it seems that we have ticked this box this time.

Thank you once again for this lovely review and we cant wait to be welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This hotel is in the centre of Galway facing Eyre Square and backing onto the train/bus station. In former times it was known as The Great Southern Hotel . I was upgraded to a huge junior suite . The room was comfortable and the bed was excellent. The bathroom was well equipped with toiletries. Breakfast is buffet style but they will cook to order. I had some nice poached eggs which were just perfect. Parking at the train station cost €6

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terry53186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear terry53186605,

We are thankful for your review here on tripadvisor. we feel it is important that our guests share their experience at hotel Meyrick with other travellers.

We re glad that you have enjoyed your complimentary upgrade to a lovely suite and so many other things about our hotel. We will be passing on your compliments on a breakfast to our breakfast chef. Thank you.

We hope to see you again in the nearest future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossmolina, Mayo, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

2nd time here and still love it. Both service and the food are great. Great spot for exploring the city. Make sure to try out the Canadian hot tub - great view of the city! The only fault I could have is that the cooked breakfasts could be better..

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DjKellett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear DjKellett,

Thank you so much for writing this review and for coming back to our hotel.

It is our pleasure to know that our hotel yet again has reached your expectations. It is important for us to know if we are providing the service out guests expect of us. We will be communicating your kind comments with the rest of our team.

Thank you again for choosing our hotel and we are looking forward to be welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Had a lovely night away in the Meyrick hotel last week. The hotel itself could not be located in a better place in Galway, everything is within walking distance of eyre square, so you've got to love that.
A couple of slightly minor low points include the pay parking (€6 per 24 hours) which was good enough considering the city center location. Our room (room 203) was very small for a hotel room, the bathroom was large enough, but the bed was quite small, and I think it may have been sized to make the room look larger.
The hotel itself has a feeling of slightly faded grandeur, which is not a bad thing, and my wife said it reminded her of when she stayed in the Gresham in Dublin with her mother.
The highlight of our stay was the breakfast, which I have to say was probably the best I have ever had in a hotel, we had to wait for a few minutes to be seated in the dining room for brekkie, all the usual stuff was there, with a selection of cereals, pastries, and the full Irish stuff with sausages, rashers, beans, pudding etc. But the real delight lay in the menu which had to be ordered from the waitress, we asked for the 'fish of the day' which was a fillet of Salmon (before 10 in the morning!), along with scrambled egg. Absolutely top class, really set you up for the day. It is probably the first time ever that I have not had the Irish brekkie, but so enjoyed my salmon, I felt like Pat Short, having the dinner at 8 so we could have a good run at the day!
Staff were very helpful, and after checkout they allowed us to leave our bags in the hotel, as it was lashing rain outside.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms 203 & 204 - probably on other floors - all other rooms looked bigger on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarathonMan101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear arathonMan101,

Thank you for taking time to write of your experience at Hotel Meyrick.

We are absolutely delighted that you have enjoyed so many things about our Hotel, such as its central location and high quality of breakfast. Hopefully on your next visit you will get a chance to check out our Square Spa facilities and enjoy a view over the Galway bay from our outdoor Hot Tub.

Your comments regarding the rooms have been taken on board by our management team. Thank you.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Booked in for a very brief 1 night stay and was very disappointed. The room was very nice, nice big ceilings and plenty of room, overlooking eyre square and very quiet. The only complaint I had with the room was the Jacuzzi bath didn't work, the button to operate it actually came loose (well it was loose already) and the button wasn't attached to anything so somebody obviously knows it is never going to work??

Booked a dinner B&B rate and was very disappointed to see that you are restricted to ordering off a special menu "One Evening Meal in the Oyster Grill Restaurant " is what was detailed on the rate but the website doesn't qualify that you are ordering off a special menu! the full menu is of course available with a supplement - on EVERY course including the starters, very sneaky I think and extremely misleading. I might have forgave this sneaky condition if the meal had been nice but every course was terrible. I am by no means a foodie or difficult to please (far from it) but my starter - cream of mushroom soup was very lumpy and bland, the croutons were lumps of bread which went to mush and it had little or no taste, shocked at how badly a 4 star hotel can go wrong with a simple soup. My wife had a tomato & mozzarella starter which was ICE cold, it was supposed to be a fresh starter but it was obviously straight out of a fridge and not prepared fresh as the dish itself was freezing. For mains I had a chicken dish, I am being honest when I say this piece of chicken was the smallest portion I have ever seen, I would have been disappointed to see this portion size on a salad starter never mind a main course, there was little or no sauce served with it and the mash was very bland, a little milk/cream/butter would have gone a long way but once again no effort on seasoning. My wife had fish for mains and it was overcooked as was the veg, the boiled potatoes were like rubber and obviously had been prepared well before being served. For desert my wife had a mango dish and the mango had a slight skin on it, once again left for too long pre-prepped in a fridge. The menu options were so bad I opted for the ice cream with roasted almonds. The ice cream was cheap and how you can get away with serving cheap ice cream with a few chopped almonds from a packet is beyond me, not befitting of a 4 star hotel.

Breakfast was OK, nothing special, not a great selection and the fry was average enough.

The staff were very accommodating despite the poor food. All in all we went mainly for a good feed and were bitterly disappointed, Im not sure if we got to thin end of the wedge as a result of booking at the tail end of a bank holiday weekend but we left bitterly disappointed despite the previous good reviews.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alanceltic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear alanceltic,

Thank You for taking time to post this review.

We are glad to see that you found our staff members friendly and accommodating.

It was disappointing to read that your experience at oyster Grill restaurant was not to your satisfaction. This is not the feedback we normally receive on quality of our food.
Sadly you have not addressed these issues with our staff members who were checking on you on the night nor did you speak to the manager prior your departure. How can we fix things if they are not brought to our attention?
All our packages with inclusive dinner do mention that guests are entitled to our Table D'Hote Menu which has variety of choices cooked per order. I am sorry to hear that you were misled by description of the offer; we will review our package descriptions to avoid any misunderstandings with our future guests.

We hope that you will come back to our in the future to get the real Hotel Meyrick experience as we aim to provide nothing less than excellent customer service.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We were in Galway city for a wedding and absolutely loved our time at the Hoel meyrick. We opted for a suite and it was well worth the extra $. Room was lovely and bathroom was spacious. Breakfasts were delicious, as well. Location was perfect. So nice to be able to walk everywhere! Lots of shopping, restaurants and nightlife.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank memijamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear memijamc,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience at Hotel Mayrick with all of us here on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to read that you had an enjoyable time at our hotel specially if it was for such a wonderful occasion like a wedding.

Thank you once again for this review and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#10 of 45 in Galway
1,825 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
2,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#14 of 45 in Galway
1,428 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#19 of 45 in Galway
859 reviews
0.1 mi away
Skeffington Arms Hotel
Skeffington Arms Hotel
#27 of 45 in Galway
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meyrick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meyrick

Property: Hotel Meyrick
Address: Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Galway
#15 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#15 Business Hotel in Galway
#16 Romantic Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Meyrick 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the heart of Galway City, the 4 star Hotel Meyrick combines stunning Victorian elegance with modern luxury and style. Enjoy a warm welcome, luxurious accommodation, a range of bar and dining options and the most central location. Enjoy a gorgeous Table D Hote evening meal or order from our A la Carte menu in our restaurant- No 15 on the Square. Relax in our beautiful Gaslight Bar & Brasserie for informal lunch or dinner with drinks, or in our elegant Oyster Bar. During your stay book into our Square Spa on Level 5. Along with treating yourself to a soothing spa treatment, avail of all facilities including Jacuzzi and our Outdoor Rooftop Hot Top. Ideally situated overlooking bustling Eyre Square, the delights of Galway are on your doorstep. With Shop street 2 minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Meyrick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meyrick Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing