We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice night away - Fantastic Breakfast”
Review of Hotel Meyrick

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Meyrick
Ranked #22 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Sligo, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very nice night away - Fantastic Breakfast”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Had a lovely night away in the Meyrick hotel last week. The hotel itself could not be located in a better place in Galway, everything is within walking distance of eyre square, so you've got to love that.
A couple of slightly minor low points include the pay parking (€6 per 24 hours) which was good enough considering the city center location. Our room (room 203) was very small for a hotel room, the bathroom was large enough, but the bed was quite small, and I think it may have been sized to make the room look larger.
The hotel itself has a feeling of slightly faded grandeur, which is not a bad thing, and my wife said it reminded her of when she stayed in the Gresham in Dublin with her mother.
The highlight of our stay was the breakfast, which I have to say was probably the best I have ever had in a hotel, we had to wait for a few minutes to be seated in the dining room for brekkie, all the usual stuff was there, with a selection of cereals, pastries, and the full Irish stuff with sausages, rashers, beans, pudding etc. But the real delight lay in the menu which had to be ordered from the waitress, we asked for the 'fish of the day' which was a fillet of Salmon (before 10 in the morning!), along with scrambled egg. Absolutely top class, really set you up for the day. It is probably the first time ever that I have not had the Irish brekkie, but so enjoyed my salmon, I felt like Pat Short, having the dinner at 8 so we could have a good run at the day!
Staff were very helpful, and after checkout they allowed us to leave our bags in the hotel, as it was lashing rain outside.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms 203 & 204 - probably on other floors - all other rooms looked bigger on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarathonMan101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear arathonMan101,

Thank you for taking time to write of your experience at Hotel Meyrick.

We are absolutely delighted that you have enjoyed so many things about our Hotel, such as its central location and high quality of breakfast. Hopefully on your next visit you will get a chance to check out our Square Spa facilities and enjoy a view over the Galway bay from our outdoor Hot Tub.

Your comments regarding the rooms have been taken on board by our management team. Thank you.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    588
    438
    219
    107
    78
See reviews for
215
674
39
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Booked in for a very brief 1 night stay and was very disappointed. The room was very nice, nice big ceilings and plenty of room, overlooking eyre square and very quiet. The only complaint I had with the room was the Jacuzzi bath didn't work, the button to operate it actually came loose (well it was loose already) and the button wasn't attached to anything so somebody obviously knows it is never going to work??

Booked a dinner B&B rate and was very disappointed to see that you are restricted to ordering off a special menu "One Evening Meal in the Oyster Grill Restaurant " is what was detailed on the rate but the website doesn't qualify that you are ordering off a special menu! the full menu is of course available with a supplement - on EVERY course including the starters, very sneaky I think and extremely misleading. I might have forgave this sneaky condition if the meal had been nice but every course was terrible. I am by no means a foodie or difficult to please (far from it) but my starter - cream of mushroom soup was very lumpy and bland, the croutons were lumps of bread which went to mush and it had little or no taste, shocked at how badly a 4 star hotel can go wrong with a simple soup. My wife had a tomato & mozzarella starter which was ICE cold, it was supposed to be a fresh starter but it was obviously straight out of a fridge and not prepared fresh as the dish itself was freezing. For mains I had a chicken dish, I am being honest when I say this piece of chicken was the smallest portion I have ever seen, I would have been disappointed to see this portion size on a salad starter never mind a main course, there was little or no sauce served with it and the mash was very bland, a little milk/cream/butter would have gone a long way but once again no effort on seasoning. My wife had fish for mains and it was overcooked as was the veg, the boiled potatoes were like rubber and obviously had been prepared well before being served. For desert my wife had a mango dish and the mango had a slight skin on it, once again left for too long pre-prepped in a fridge. The menu options were so bad I opted for the ice cream with roasted almonds. The ice cream was cheap and how you can get away with serving cheap ice cream with a few chopped almonds from a packet is beyond me, not befitting of a 4 star hotel.

Breakfast was OK, nothing special, not a great selection and the fry was average enough.

The staff were very accommodating despite the poor food. All in all we went mainly for a good feed and were bitterly disappointed, Im not sure if we got to thin end of the wedge as a result of booking at the tail end of a bank holiday weekend but we left bitterly disappointed despite the previous good reviews.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alanceltic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear alanceltic,

Thank You for taking time to post this review.

We are glad to see that you found our staff members friendly and accommodating.

It was disappointing to read that your experience at oyster Grill restaurant was not to your satisfaction. This is not the feedback we normally receive on quality of our food.
Sadly you have not addressed these issues with our staff members who were checking on you on the night nor did you speak to the manager prior your departure. How can we fix things if they are not brought to our attention?
All our packages with inclusive dinner do mention that guests are entitled to our Table D'Hote Menu which has variety of choices cooked per order. I am sorry to hear that you were misled by description of the offer; we will review our package descriptions to avoid any misunderstandings with our future guests.

We hope that you will come back to our in the future to get the real Hotel Meyrick experience as we aim to provide nothing less than excellent customer service.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We were in Galway city for a wedding and absolutely loved our time at the Hoel meyrick. We opted for a suite and it was well worth the extra $. Room was lovely and bathroom was spacious. Breakfasts were delicious, as well. Location was perfect. So nice to be able to walk everywhere! Lots of shopping, restaurants and nightlife.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank memijamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear memijamc,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience at Hotel Mayrick with all of us here on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to read that you had an enjoyable time at our hotel specially if it was for such a wonderful occasion like a wedding.

Thank you once again for this review and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Lovely hotel, perfect location, great big rooms with wonderful marble baths.. Quite possibly the best breakfast of the trip. When in Galway, don't hesitate to stay here!@ I love it! Take advantage also of the wonderful tours that the hotel can arrange for you through Galway tours. We took the one to the Cliffs of Moher and it was absolutely perfect!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishMom5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear IrishMom5,

Thank you for taking time to post this review.

We are delighted that you have enjoyed all that hotel has to offer and had a good time here in Galway. We hope you will return again as there still a lot of places to visit around Galway city and we will gladly help you out to organise the trips.

Thank you once again for this lovely review and we hope to see you gain in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Very nice and helpful staff, and breakfast was good. The building is beautiful and in a great location. And did I mention that they upgraded me to a huge suite? TV channels are very limited, but the wifi is free.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank cls112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear cls112,

It is great to see that you have decided to share your experience at Hotel Meyrick with other TripAdvisor users.

We are happy that you have enjoyed your upgrade to a suite and had a good time here in general. We will communicate your positive feedback with the rest of our team.

Thank you for your time and we hope to be welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This was a wonderful hotel, right in the heart of Galway. The staff were extremely helpful. The room was excellent value, we booked a suite. Only comment would be that the bed was a little too firm for our liking, would have been good with a mattress topper.

Breakfasts were included and very good. Would definitely recommend this hotel and would rebook if coming back to Galway

Room Tip: Ask for one over looking the square but get a higher up floor as the pub opposite can be noisy on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Terrey B,

Thank you for your positive review.

We are glad you had a wonderful time here at Hotel Meyrick as this is exactly what we aim for.
your comments regarding the bed have been taken on board by our accommodation team.

We hope to see you return to our hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAMBRIDGE
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We arrived in Galway without a hotel reservation. We stopped at the Meyrick as we liked the lcoation (right downtown on a town square). It turned out to be a good decision. The room was clean and nice with good amenities. The breakfast was included and also quite good. After driving on a lot of very narrow roads on the left side of the street, it was nice to be able to pull up right out front and have someone else take the car to park it! The Meyrick is a fairly large hotel so not the place to stay if you are looking for something small and charming, but given it's size, it feels quite personal.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank soozeeq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear soozeeq,

Thank you for writing this review, we a Hotel Meyrick value all our guest feedback.

We are glad that your last minute decision to stay with us turned out to be a good decision. It is delightful to read that your last minute decision to stay at our hotel turned out to be a good decision.

Thank you once again for choosing Hotel Meyrick and we hope you will visit us again soon.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,922 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Skeffington Arms Hotel
Skeffington Arms Hotel
#27 of 46 in Galway
489 reviews
0.9 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
0.0 mi away
Eyre Square Hotel
Eyre Square Hotel
#29 of 46 in Galway
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meyrick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meyrick

Property: Hotel Meyrick
Address: Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#15 Business Hotel in Galway
#15 Family Hotel in Galway
#16 Romantic Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Meyrick 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the heart of Galway City, the 4 star Hotel Meyrick combines stunning Victorian elegance with modern luxury and style. Enjoy a warm welcome, luxurious accommodation, a range of bar and dining options and the most central location. Enjoy a gorgeous Table D Hote evening meal or order from our A la Carte menu in our restaurant- No 15 on the Square. Relax in our beautiful Gaslight Bar & Brasserie for informal lunch or dinner with drinks, or in our elegant Oyster Bar. During your stay book into our Square Spa on Level 5. Along with treating yourself to a soothing spa treatment, avail of all facilities including Jacuzzi and our Outdoor Rooftop Hot Top. Ideally situated overlooking bustling Eyre Square, the delights of Galway are on your doorstep. With Shop street 2 minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Meyrick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meyrick Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing