We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“staying in Galway”
Review of Hotel Meyrick

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Meyrick
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Lovely hotel, perfect location, great big rooms with wonderful marble baths.. Quite possibly the best breakfast of the trip. When in Galway, don't hesitate to stay here!@ I love it! Take advantage also of the wonderful tours that the hotel can arrange for you through Galway tours. We took the one to the Cliffs of Moher and it was absolutely perfect!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrishMom5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear IrishMom5,

Thank you for taking time to post this review.

We are delighted that you have enjoyed all that hotel has to offer and had a good time here in Galway. We hope you will return again as there still a lot of places to visit around Galway city and we will gladly help you out to organise the trips.

Thank you once again for this lovely review and we hope to see you gain in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,499)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

872 - 878 of 1,499 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

Very nice and helpful staff, and breakfast was good. The building is beautiful and in a great location. And did I mention that they upgraded me to a huge suite? TV channels are very limited, but the wifi is free.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank cls112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Dear cls112,

It is great to see that you have decided to share your experience at Hotel Meyrick with other TripAdvisor users.

We are happy that you have enjoyed your upgrade to a suite and had a good time here in general. We will communicate your positive feedback with the rest of our team.

Thank you for your time and we hope to be welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This was a wonderful hotel, right in the heart of Galway. The staff were extremely helpful. The room was excellent value, we booked a suite. Only comment would be that the bed was a little too firm for our liking, would have been good with a mattress topper.

Breakfasts were included and very good. Would definitely recommend this hotel and would rebook if coming back to Galway

Room Tip: Ask for one over looking the square but get a higher up floor as the pub opposite can be noisy on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Dear Terrey B,

Thank you for your positive review.

We are glad you had a wonderful time here at Hotel Meyrick as this is exactly what we aim for.
your comments regarding the bed have been taken on board by our accommodation team.

We hope to see you return to our hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We arrived in Galway without a hotel reservation. We stopped at the Meyrick as we liked the lcoation (right downtown on a town square). It turned out to be a good decision. The room was clean and nice with good amenities. The breakfast was included and also quite good. After driving on a lot of very narrow roads on the left side of the street, it was nice to be able to pull up right out front and have someone else take the car to park it! The Meyrick is a fairly large hotel so not the place to stay if you are looking for something small and charming, but given it's size, it feels quite personal.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank soozeeq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Dear soozeeq,

Thank you for writing this review, we a Hotel Meyrick value all our guest feedback.

We are glad that your last minute decision to stay with us turned out to be a good decision. It is delightful to read that your last minute decision to stay at our hotel turned out to be a good decision.

Thank you once again for choosing Hotel Meyrick and we hope you will visit us again soon.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Great hotel in a great location. The provision of a valet parking was an added bonus as we were able to settle in immediately. Staff were very friendly. Our room was quaint with a sense of period charm and was very comfortable. Equally the food in the bar was well presented and tasted great. Breakfast offered a great choice with a buffet service and also table service for those who did not choose the buffet option. Situated in a great location with just a short stroll to shops, bars and restaurants. Would recommend and would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish_123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear Trish_123_12,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Hotel Meyrick with other travelers.

We are delighted that you have enjoyed so many things about our hotel; such as bang on middle of the city center location, excellent service and high food quality. Hopefully on your next visit you will get a chance to complete your Hotel Meyrick experience with one of our lovely treatments available in Square Spa on the 5th floor and then enjoy the view over the Galway bay from our outdoor Canadian Hot Tub.

Thank you for this review and we hope to see you again in the nearest future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We visited Galway city on a Friday and Saturday night in early October 2013. We decided to make a return trip to the Hotel Meyrick in Eyre Square because of our satisfaction with the previous visits and the fantastic location of the hotel.

The room was spacious, full of little extras and a great view of Eyre Square.The car was parked for us, which meant that we didn't have to worry about it for the whole weekend. All the staff were welcoming, friendly and obliging.

We didn't have dinner in the hotel, but breakfasts were very good with a nice choice of freshly cooked options available, including a choice of fish.

This hotel is a great base from which to see the city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Eyre Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JABDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear JABDublin,

Thank you so much for choosing Hotel Meyrick during your visits to Galway.

We are glad to read that once again we have reached your expectations. It is very important for us to receive feedback from our return guests and it is absolute pleasure when it is as positive as yours.

Thank you once again for this review and we are looking forward to you return visit in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I loved this place. Our room was a suite on the 2nd floor. The rooms are opulent and full of character. I LOVED that our windows could open and we could hear the sound of the pub music off the square. I also really enjoyed the lack of airconditioning and falsely controlled air temperature. You really do get a sense of history staying here. The dining rooms and bars in the lobby are filled with character and class (without stuffiness). The location is wonderful. I will definitely be coming back.

Room Tip: Our room over looked a side street which was still wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xianachanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear xianachanna,

Thank we appreciate you taking time to share your experience at hotel Meyrick with other TripAdvisor users.

We are delighted that you loved the Historical ambiance of Hotel Meyrick and many other things. We will communicate your feedback with our team.

Thank you for this review and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,896 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
1.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,366 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meyrick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meyrick

Address: Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#15 Business Hotel in Galway
#16 Romantic Hotel in Galway
Price Range: $139 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Meyrick 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the heart of Galway City, the 4 star Hotel Meyrick combines stunning Victorian elegance with modern luxury and style. Enjoy a warm welcome, luxurious accommodation, a range of bar and dining options and the most central location. Enjoy a gorgeous Table D Hote evening meal or order from our A la Carte menu in our restaurant- No 15 on the Square. Relax in our beautiful Gaslight Bar & Brasserie for informal lunch or dinner with drinks, or in our elegant Oyster Bar. During your stay book into our Square Spa on Level 5. Along with treating yourself to a soothing spa treatment, avail of all facilities including Jacuzzi and our Outdoor Rooftop Hot Top. Ideally situated overlooking bustling Eyre Square, the delights of Galway are on your doorstep. With Shop street 2 minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Meyrick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meyrick Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing