We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect stay”
Review of Hotel Meyrick

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Meyrick
Ranked #22 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Bray, Ireland
1 review
“perfect stay”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights in this lovely hotel and really enjoyed our stay. Bedroom was large spotless and very warm. Staff were so friendly and could not do enough for you. Our meals were delicious. We were very comfortable and will return to this hotel in the near future

Room Tip: request room on higher floor in the front of the house to enjoy view of Eyre Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcarney44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear “jcarney44”,

Thank you for this kind review.

We are delighted to read that you had a wonderful time with us. It is very important for us to know that yet another customer left Hotel Meyrick with some nice memories.

We are looking forward to see you again on your return to our hotel.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    588
    438
    218
    107
    78
See reviews for
215
673
39
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We got a present of a one-night dinner, B&B package with a suite the Meyrick. The 5th floor suite overlooked Eyre Square. It was spacious, well furnished and comfortable and had all mod cons, including 2 tvs. The only thing missing was a safe, which seemed a surprising omission. As we were only staying one night, the wife only brought a small selection of the family jewels :) so it wasn’t a major problem.

Breakfast was served in the main dining room and comprised a well-stocked self-service buffet. We’d had dinner there the night before and the food was good hotel standard fare though the dining room was under-populated and lacked atmosphere.

There’s a leisure centre & spa on the 5th floor and the wife had a massage, one of the best she said, & a manicure.

All the staff we dealt with were pleasant and efficient and we enjoyed our short stay.

The hotel is very quiet at night, with little activity around the foyer/bar area. However, given it’s excellent location, right in the centre of town, there are plenty of options for socialising within a short stroll.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peteramolloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear “Peter&Ann”,

Thank you for taking time to write this review, all our guest feedback is very important to us and is taken in a constructive manner.

We are glad to read that you have enjoyed your short break at Hotel Meyrick. It is always a pleasure to able to rely positive feedback to our team and we will certainly do so.

Your comments regarding the safe have been taken on board, but at the moment we have safety deposit boxes available to our guest on request.

Thank you once again for your review and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights in April and had a brilliant Galway experience. The room was fine, nothing amazing, there were two single beds pushed together but it was nothing to complain about.

Breakfast was fine, was nice to have a large variety to choose from, but there was nothing extraordinary about it. Service was quick though and staff were courteous and polite.

The spa was what made this hotel so lovely to stay in. There is complimentary access to the rooftop hottub and the steam room and sauna. The spa was excellent, we had vouchers included in our room so decided to try one of the treatments each. These vouchers along with a 50% off offer on a Monday and Tuesday meant that we got hotstone massages for €5 each! I would have easily paid €80 for this, it was out of this world. So relaxing and the lady was so polite and helpful!

Probably wouldn't stay in the hotel again as it was very expensive but would definitely visit the spa!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MickM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear "MickM2013",

Thank you for taking the time to write of your experience at the Hotel Meyrick. It is always nice to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay with us.

We will be sure to pass on your kind comments to all the staff, it is always a pleasure to be able to relay the positive back to them.

All the points raised in this review have been taken on board by our management team.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I've always wanted to stay here as I used to only stop off in Galway on my way to Sligo to college.

Pros:
Friendly staff
Lots of Irish staff
Love the art on the walls
Fornasetti wallpaper in the ladies bathroom
Bed comfortable - v firm
Bed linen crisp and delicious
Abundant supplies in the bathroom
Reasonably priced mini bar
Bang in the middle of town

Cons:
It's just missing those finishing touches in the public areas to give it wow factor.
Cushions on sofas missing or worn.
Toast was warmed bread, not toasted.
Porridge ordered was slopped up out of a pot and v poor. If you are listing something as from the kitchen I expect it to be cooked to order. This was grey, stodgy and had been sitting in the porridge pot a few hours. Either do it properly and have it eaten or just let people serve themselves and there won't be as much waste. It was a huge bowl of what was essentially wallpaper paste.
The cleaning team need some more supervision, a bit sloppy in the public areas.

Would I stay there again? For its location yes, if I wanted style I'd go to The G, a 20 min walk outside town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahc11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear “sarahc11”

Thank you for taking time to write this informative review. All feedback is important to us and is taken in constructive manner.

We are glad that you have enjoyed so many things about our hotel, such as our location, quality of the bed and high standard of the service. We appreciate all feedback from our guests as without it we are not aware where our guests think we need improvement.

All your cons have been taken on board and will be addressed with relevant mangers.

We hope the next time you visit Galway you will see major improvement on all the points raised above.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We didn't stay but had Sunday Lunch with family in the Oyster Grill Restaurant,the food was the best Sunday Lunch we had in Galway in ages and we eat out around town most Sundays, service was really smooth and professional also, we went downstairs to the Bar after to watch the match after which was handy, we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank SNBY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear “SNBY”

We are absolutely delighted to read that you had one of the best Sunday lunches in Galway here at Hotel Meyrick. It is important for us to receive feedback from our local guests that come in for a meal in the Oyster Grill Restaurant or quick lunch in the Bar or Parlour Lounge on a regular basis.

We will be relaying your kind words to our restaurant and kitchen team.

Thank you for taking time to write this review and we hope you will visit us soon.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I spent a great weekend in Galway with a large group friends. The hotel has a superb location, right in the centre of Galway and just around the corner from the bus and train station. I was really impressed with how they made everything so simple and hassle free. The group booking was straight forward, I got prompt replies to any queries I had and all the staff were really helpful and friendly. The hotel has warm and welcoming atmosphere and is definitely a place I would stay again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 643PatrickC643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear “643PatrickC643”

Thank you for this positive review.

We are glad that you and your friends had an enjoyable time at Hotel Meyrick and that our reservation team made the booking of your weekend away so easy. We will pass your comments to them all.

Thank you once again for kind comments and we hope to see you all back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This old but updated hotel is located in the center city and is very close to the stores and resturants. The staff was very friendly and helpful and they parked your car for a very value. The rooms were very nice and quiet and also had a nice view of the square. The breakfasts were outstanding. Great access to wonderful resturants and pubs at night. The street was full of activities. A good value for the money spent.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor and it was quiet. The view was very nice across the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billgilman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear “billgilman”
Thank you for sharing your experience at Hotel Meyrick with other TripAdvisor users.

It is our pleasure to read that you had an enjoyable stay at Hotel Meyrick as we expect nothing less than excellent customer service of ourselves. It is very important for us to know that yet another guest left Hotel Meyrick with a smile.

We hope to see you again in the near future. Thank you.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,921 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Skeffington Arms Hotel
Skeffington Arms Hotel
#27 of 46 in Galway
489 reviews
0.9 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
0.0 mi away
Eyre Square Hotel
Eyre Square Hotel
#29 of 46 in Galway
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meyrick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meyrick

Property: Hotel Meyrick
Address: Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#15 Family Hotel in Galway
#15 Business Hotel in Galway
#16 Romantic Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Meyrick 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the heart of Galway City, the 4 star Hotel Meyrick combines stunning Victorian elegance with modern luxury and style. Enjoy a warm welcome, luxurious accommodation, a range of bar and dining options and the most central location. Enjoy a gorgeous Table D Hote evening meal or order from our A la Carte menu in our restaurant- No 15 on the Square. Relax in our beautiful Gaslight Bar & Brasserie for informal lunch or dinner with drinks, or in our elegant Oyster Bar. During your stay book into our Square Spa on Level 5. Along with treating yourself to a soothing spa treatment, avail of all facilities including Jacuzzi and our Outdoor Rooftop Hot Top. Ideally situated overlooking bustling Eyre Square, the delights of Galway are on your doorstep. With Shop street 2 minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Meyrick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meyrick Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing