We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Staff , Location & Service.”
Review of Hotel Meyrick

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Meyrick
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed there for St Patricks Wknd, 2 nights. Staff were excellent , especially Patrick at Reception, As we arrived early for Check in, we had a Coffee & returned to see our Bags had been taken to our Room, one of Groups Car was parked for them in Car Park. Breakfast was lovely. Room excellent, Hot Tub amazing. Thanksto The lady staff Member who looked after us late on St Pats night, with Beautiful Sandwiches & Desserts, much appreciated.Only one fault we could find was The Foyer Area, was cold, very quiet , no one seemed to sit there for long, same in the Bar, a pity as we love to people watch & mingle with other Guests. Overall we loved it, great location & we will return again.

Room Tip: We were on 3rd Floor overlooking Eyre Square & was so quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 499Coleen16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear “499Coleen16”

Thank you for shearing your experience at Hotel Meyrick with other tripadvisor users.

We are delighted to see that you and your friends had a good time at our hotel. We have taken your comments regarding the temperature in our public areas on board and have already adjusted our heating system to cope with these extra cold March days, so that our guests can comfortably relax in the Parlour Lounge or the Oyster Bar and do a bit of people watching.

Thank you for your time and lovely review. We are looking forward to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,499)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

972 - 978 of 1,499 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

Couldn't have asked for a better location, a few minutes walk to all the shops and bars. The lobby is beautifully decorated and very spacious, a nice place to sit and relax. I stayed as part of a group on a sporting weekend and we ate in the hotel quite a bit as we were pushed for time, it was delicious and very reasonably priced. There is an outdoor hot tub which was a fab way to soothe our aches after the race! The staff were very accommodating, couldn't fault the service. And the best thing was the free WiFi for us Northern Irish ones to use the Internet!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duchessmx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear “Duchessmx”

Thank you for your kind words. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

We are glad that you and the rest of your group have enjoyed those couple of days that you have spent at Hotel Meyrick. It is important for us to know that people with busy schedule can relax and rewind during their stay with us.

We hope to see you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed two nights and had an excellent suite on 5th floor. Spa experience was wonderful (they offer half price on Mon and Tues!). After a fabulous massage and facial we enjoyed the Canadian hot tub on the rooftop, with views over Galway Bay. The staff could not have been more helpful and were friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was great but the one evening meal we had in the main dining room was rather disappointing. Seemed like a TV dinner reheated, but maybe we were just unlucky. It would not put us off returning as overall our stay was extremely enjoyable and the location could not be better.

Room Tip: 5th floor has mainly suites and is handy for the spa, jacuzzi and hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thecraicis90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear “thecraicis90”

Thank you for taking time to write this review.

We are delighted to see that you had an enjoyable stay here art the Hotel Meyrick. We will pass your kind comments to all our staff members.

It was disappointing to see that we did not tick every box this time, as this is not the usual feedback we get on a quality of our food. We will pass your comments to our Head Chef and make sure that on your next visit you will see major improvement.

Thank you once again for your review and we are looking forward to welcome you at Hotel Meyrick in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in march 2013. The hotel is nice but could do with a bit of a makeover but is still very clean. The room we stayed in was, had everything and was comfortable.
The staff where very helpful and so friendly. We did not have dinner there but we had the breakfast which was excellent. All in all the hotel was just ok for the price we paid which was probably because of the location which is perfect.

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite which had a great view of eyre square on the 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mazuno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Dear "mazuno1"

We thank you for taking time to write this review.

We are glad that you have enjoyed so many things about our hotel, such as our location, exclusive rooms and high standard of the service. We appreciate all feedback from our guests as without it we are not aware where our guests think we need improvement.

Thank you once again for your time and we hope to see you at Hotel Meyrick in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Hotel - beautiful large and welcoming lobby with an open fire. Perfect for enjoying a coffee and meeting your group in the morning. Lots of marble. Very nice hotel bar with a sports bar in the basement.

Rooms: the doubles in our group had huge palatial rooms! Beautiful. I had a single which was very nice indeed with a hot and powerful shower. Very comfortable beds.

Staff: could not be better. This was a family trip to celebrate my parents 50th wedding anniversary and they had their wedding reception at this hotel. The staff could not have been more accommodating to make the weekend special. Thank you.

Food: dinner was faultless. Breakfast was hearty with plenty of choice.

Location: could not be better. Directly on Eyre Square in the heart of the city and the train and bus station is 30 seconds walk!

Value: I paid about 100 euros a night for a single, which included breakfast. For this standard of hotel it was great value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the sport's bar as on the Saturday night there was loud music until 1.3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllanBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Dear “AlanBLondon”

Thank you, most sincerely, for your very kind, honest and informative review.

It was our pleasure to have you all staying with us on such a lovely occasion. We are glad that you and your family had an enjoyable time at Hotel Meyrick and we hope to welcome your parents for many more wedding anniversaries.

Thank you once again for your review and we hope to see you in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I just made plans to return to this wonderful place for another few days. Can't wait. Haven't been too well and couldn't think of a nicer or better place to recuperate. This is a little bit of heaven on earth. I think the staff are definitely out of this world. Just love it.
Breedeen Coade Mullingar.

Room Tip: Higher floors are very spacious and luxurious. Go for the best it's worth it and so are you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lakelands1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Dear Breedeen

Thank you for another great review. We appreciate your time and kind comments.

We are looking forward to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future and will try our best to make this stay even more memorable than your previous stay.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We were really looking forward to staying at the hotel because of it's central location and almost thought it looked charming over looking Eyre Square especially at Christmas so when by chance we were in Galway we gave it a go.... Huge mistake.
It lacks all charm, is such a disappointment when u walk through the doors into a sad looking cafe/ bar...
No doormen, no staff to welcome you...
It looked sad and depressing.
It didnt get any better... The hotel was probably lovely in it's time but that time is well and truly over.
It looks like it had a refit during the good times, but this has now aged and looks terrible... They would have been better to have spent the money on restoring this historical building rather trying to tart it up.
There were no log fires burning, no music even playing... Just devoid of all atmosphere.
Our room was just as sad, service was so bad it was frustrating and the food wasn't worth the money.
We will in future return back to the G, which are sister hotels I think and the G may not be very festive at Christmas but the Meyrick is an old hotel and that's to be taken care of and loved once again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lovenyc81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Dear “lovenyc81”
Thank you for your review. While we are grateful to you for having taken the time to let others know about your stay here, we are disappointed that your experience was not entirely to your satisfaction.

We are very disappointed to hear negative feedback from a guest who stayed with us on such festive occasion. This is not the feedback we usually receive of our guests on the atmosphere and the customer service. It would have been very helpful if you would have brought these issues to our attention during or immediately after your stay, as this would allow us to change your mind about our hotels charm and festive spirit.

We would appreciate if you could contact us directly as we would like to discuss this further.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,896 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
1.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,353 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meyrick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meyrick

Address: Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#15 Family Hotel in Galway
#15 Business Hotel in Galway
#16 Romantic Hotel in Galway
Price Range: $138 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Meyrick 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the heart of Galway City, the 4 star Hotel Meyrick combines stunning Victorian elegance with modern luxury and style. Enjoy a warm welcome, luxurious accommodation, a range of bar and dining options and the most central location. Enjoy a gorgeous Table D Hote evening meal or order from our A la Carte menu in our restaurant- No 15 on the Square. Relax in our beautiful Gaslight Bar & Brasserie for informal lunch or dinner with drinks, or in our elegant Oyster Bar. During your stay book into our Square Spa on Level 5. Along with treating yourself to a soothing spa treatment, avail of all facilities including Jacuzzi and our Outdoor Rooftop Hot Top. Ideally situated overlooking bustling Eyre Square, the delights of Galway are on your doorstep. With Shop street 2 minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Meyrick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meyrick Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing