We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return to Galway”
Review of Hotel Meyrick

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Meyrick
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Had a most enjoyable stay here, having returned to Galway after four years to visit family and friends we were greeted by a lovely girl called Bernie who checked us in to a beautiful suite that had fantastic old charm with modern comforts.
All the staff were fantastic having met up with some friends in the lobby while enjoying coffees could not have been nicer and more relaxing.
The hotel itself is steeped in history and is in a perfect position to explore Galway or to just sit inside and enjoy a meal and watch the world go by on eyre square surrounded by history in a most peaceful environment can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diarmuid D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are absolutely delighted that the event was enjoyed by all and we are very grateful to receive your feedback.

Your comments have been communicated throughout the hotel.

Hopefully we will have the pleasure in welcoming you back to Hotel Meyrick again in the future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,528)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,029 - 1,035 of 1,528 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed here with my family for two nights on the winter wonderland deal which included 2 nights bed and breakfast and one evening meal. The location of the hotel is absolutely unbeatable. It is right in the centre and so close to everything. The hotel takes your car from the drop down point and parks it for you, and will take it back for you with 15 mins notice. On our last day, we did find that we were waiting almost an hour for our car. This appeared to be down to a busy time and a mis-communication between staff.
The rooms themselves are very luxurious and grand. We stayed in a room with a view to Eyre Square which was lovely but a bit noisy. However the hotel does have shutters on the windows to help block out the noise. One criticism would be that the heating in the place is a bit over the top. Although you can put the heat off in your room, the heat in the hallways was very warm.

The breakfast and dinner was lovely. Perhaps a little narrow on the breakfast menu, no baked beans was something we found a little strange. Our dinner was gorgeous, very tasty. However there was a lot of a extras if you wanted other things from the menu. We also ate in Fagans Bar which again was very tasty and very good value, albeit the restaurant was a but cold.

Two of our party also availed of the spa treatments. We felt the service could be a bit more personable. For the prices charged, we expected there would have been more introductions from the staff and a little said on what the treatment would involve.

Would certainly recommend - lovely hotel overall.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leezoou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments here on tripadvisor. It’s always helpful to receive feedback from our valued customers as it enables us to improve our product, in particular customer care for future guests of the Hotel Meyrick.

We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We will be passing your kind words to all staff here at Hotel Meyrick.

Please accept sincerest apologies for the inconvenience caused by slow valet service on your check out. Unfortunately some mornings guests tend to check out at the same time and request cars at the same time and this can cause delays.

Thank you once again for your time and we hope to see you at Hotel Meyrick in the near future

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Just pull up at the front door and the break starts then. This was our first stay here and we stayed on a recommendation. we got upgraded on our first night to a lovely old suite, this is old style glamour a bit rough around the edges but spotlessly clean, good food and great staff. The reception and concierge stand out as helpful in the exception, suggested walks, bars, shops etc. we had a great time and its all happening in galway.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tuppefun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your wonderful comments and thank you also, most sincerely for choosing to stay here in Hotel Meyrick. All on the team are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us.

Your positive feedback regarding the location of the hotel, the quality of food and customer service you received is most welcome. We are all delighted that like so many others you received the true Hotel Meyrick experience.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back at some stage in the future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Some friends from New York were visting friends in Blarney and we decided to take a driving tour of a bit of Ireland. Galway was highly recommend and the Great Southern while we were there. Very nice hotel, friendly service and comfortable stay!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write of your experience at the Hotel Meyrick. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and our prime location in Galway City,

We at the Hotel Meyrick value our guests and their comments, as without these we are unaware if we are offering the level of service we expect of ourselves. We will be relaying all our feedback to our staff and management team.

Thank you once again for your time and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Someone from Ashford Castle recommended this hotel and we are so glad we found it so quickly upon our arrival in Gallway. The location can't be beat, right down the street from the main parking structure, bus station, and right on Eyre Square. The hotel interior and exterior are beautiful, our rooms were lovely, the bathrooms gorgeous and spacious, the breakfast was great with some of the best scones I've ever had. We didn't have a reservation but that staff was warm and accommodating and so helpful during our stay. Because it was the week before Christmas - a traditionally slow time - we received room upgrades and the price was very reasonable. We would definitely stay here again. It was a little loud at night because of all the holiday revelry going on, but that was part of the experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmac1238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write of your experience at the Hotel Meyrick. It is always nice to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay with us.

We will be sure to pass on your kind comments to all the staff, it is always a pleasure to be able to relay the positive back to them.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We came in to Galway by bus and were pleasantly surprised to see it was so close to the bus station (less than 5 mins walk). The hotel is centrally located on Eyre Square with lots of shops and amenities, and looked out on the Christmas market. We had the Winter Warmers deal which upgraded us to a suite on the top floor facing the market - wonderful view! Room was large, comfy and warm. The breakfast buffet was substantial and the staff were so helpful and friendly! Only thing that wasn't perfect was the noise in the wee hours coming from the square, but it was expected given the hotel's central location and the position of our room. Will definitely recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms at front of hotel may be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear Guest

We thank you for taking time to write this review.

We are glad that you have enjoyed so many things about our hotel, such as our location, exclusive rooms and high standard of the service. We appreciate all feedback from our guests as without it we are at loss as to know where we are not providing service we expect of our selves.

Thank you once again for your time and we hope to see you at Hotel Meyrick in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed at the Meyrick 30.11.12 - 04.12.12 with my wife and had a thoroughly enjoyable relaxing break. The location of the Meyrick was an added bonus for us as all shopping malls,Train station,Bus station were situated only a matter of minutes away. A small Christmas market was also in full swing outside the hotel front door and was a pleasant addition to our stay. We had a 5th floor room looking out towards Salthill. The room was most comfortable(Coffee/Tea maker,Good TV,Spacious bathroom and most important "Very Comfotable Beds",Free WiFi). Hotel Breakfast was of very high standard with an exceptional selection. All the staff were most helpful in every way to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. We would certainly stay again at the Meyrick!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hughboy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time to share your experience at Hotel Meyrick with other Tripadvisor users.

We are glad to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us, as we expect nothing less than excellent customer service of ourselves. All feedback is important to us and I will certainly pass your kind comments to our team.

Thank you once more for your review and we are looking forward to welcome you back to Hotel Meyrick in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,934 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Galmont Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
2,168 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,806 reviews
1.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meyrick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meyrick

Address: Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#15 Business Hotel in Galway
#16 Romantic Hotel in Galway
Price Range: $132 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Meyrick 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the heart of Galway City, the 4 star Hotel Meyrick combines stunning Victorian elegance with modern luxury and style. Enjoy a warm welcome, luxurious accommodation, a range of bar and dining options and the most central location. Enjoy a gorgeous Table D Hote evening meal or order from our A la Carte menu in our restaurant- No 15 on the Square. Relax in our beautiful Gaslight Bar & Brasserie for informal lunch or dinner with drinks, or in our elegant Oyster Bar. During your stay book into our Square Spa on Level 5. Along with treating yourself to a soothing spa treatment, avail of all facilities including Jacuzzi and our Outdoor Rooftop Hot Top. Ideally situated overlooking bustling Eyre Square, the delights of Galway are on your doorstep. With Shop street 2 minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Meyrick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meyrick Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing