We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Meyrick

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Meyrick
Ranked #24 of 47 Hotels in Galway
Brewster, New York, USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Some friends from New York were visting friends in Blarney and we decided to take a driving tour of a bit of Ireland. Galway was highly recommend and the Great Southern while we were there. Very nice hotel, friendly service and comfortable stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write of your experience at the Hotel Meyrick. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and our prime location in Galway City,

We at the Hotel Meyrick value our guests and their comments, as without these we are unaware if we are offering the level of service we expect of ourselves. We will be relaying all our feedback to our staff and management team.

Thank you once again for your time and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    548
    405
    201
    100
    77
See reviews for
192
634
33
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Someone from Ashford Castle recommended this hotel and we are so glad we found it so quickly upon our arrival in Gallway. The location can't be beat, right down the street from the main parking structure, bus station, and right on Eyre Square. The hotel interior and exterior are beautiful, our rooms were lovely, the bathrooms gorgeous and spacious, the breakfast was great with some of the best scones I've ever had. We didn't have a reservation but that staff was warm and accommodating and so helpful during our stay. Because it was the week before Christmas - a traditionally slow time - we received room upgrades and the price was very reasonable. We would definitely stay here again. It was a little loud at night because of all the holiday revelry going on, but that was part of the experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pmac1238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write of your experience at the Hotel Meyrick. It is always nice to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay with us.

We will be sure to pass on your kind comments to all the staff, it is always a pleasure to be able to relay the positive back to them.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

We came in to Galway by bus and were pleasantly surprised to see it was so close to the bus station (less than 5 mins walk). The hotel is centrally located on Eyre Square with lots of shops and amenities, and looked out on the Christmas market. We had the Winter Warmers deal which upgraded us to a suite on the top floor facing the market - wonderful view! Room was large, comfy and warm. The breakfast buffet was substantial and the staff were so helpful and friendly! Only thing that wasn't perfect was the noise in the wee hours coming from the square, but it was expected given the hotel's central location and the position of our room. Will definitely recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms at front of hotel may be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for taking time to write this review.

We are glad that you have enjoyed so many things about our hotel, such as our location, exclusive rooms and high standard of the service. We appreciate all feedback from our guests as without it we are at loss as to know where we are not providing service we expect of our selves.

Thank you once again for your time and we hope to see you at Hotel Meyrick in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed at the Meyrick 30.11.12 - 04.12.12 with my wife and had a thoroughly enjoyable relaxing break. The location of the Meyrick was an added bonus for us as all shopping malls,Train station,Bus station were situated only a matter of minutes away. A small Christmas market was also in full swing outside the hotel front door and was a pleasant addition to our stay. We had a 5th floor room looking out towards Salthill. The room was most comfortable(Coffee/Tea maker,Good TV,Spacious bathroom and most important "Very Comfotable Beds",Free WiFi). Hotel Breakfast was of very high standard with an exceptional selection. All the staff were most helpful in every way to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. We would certainly stay again at the Meyrick!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hughboy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time to share your experience at Hotel Meyrick with other Tripadvisor users.

We are glad to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us, as we expect nothing less than excellent customer service of ourselves. All feedback is important to us and I will certainly pass your kind comments to our team.

Thank you once more for your review and we are looking forward to welcome you back to Hotel Meyrick in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

I recently stayed at the Meyrick for the first time and do not normally write reviews however I thought I should say just how much I enjoyed my stay. From the valet parking to the friendly staff and great breakfast my boyfriend and I cannot praise the Meyrick enough. We were given a room that overlooked Eyre Square and it was spacious and elegantly decorated and nothing was too much trouble for the staff at reception. I felt right in the heart of the city and there was a good Christmas buzz in the hotel. The only problem is now we cannot stay anywhere else when we visit,lol. It was an excellent weekend. Thanks to the staff and see you again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are the noisier but they have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skelly186482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write of your experience at the Hotel Meyrick. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and our prime location in Galway City,

We at the Hotel Meyrick value our guests and their comments, as without these we are unaware if we are offering the level of service we expect of ourselves. We will be relaying all our feedback to our staff and management team.

Thank you once again for your time and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.


Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed there as a group and had a very pleasant stay. Although this is an old building it is well maintained and very comfortable. The room was nice and the bar was enjoyable. Being in Eyre Square there is always a buzz around the place, and there was a Christmas village set up in the Square
We had a very good meal in the restaurant and following a short stay in the bar downstairs, which was not really the type of bar we were looking for, we headed out around the city to The Kings Head and had a great night.
On arrival I checked in and the receptionist asked to pre authorise my credit card for any extras that I might like to charge to my room. I would always do this but in this hotel I was told the Authorisation would be on my account for 10 days. When I questioned the time period I was told the Banks are the problem. As a regular hotel traveller I have never come accross this before and refused a charge account and advised all my other guests to do the same.
All hotels I Stay in complete the authorisations on check out. Why should anybody have a hold on my card for so long using up my available credit
Other than the issue with the card I did enjoy my visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write of your experience at the Hotel Meyrick, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.

We are glad that you enjoyed all that the Hotel Meyrick has to offer, such as the various bars and great location. We hope that on your next visit you will have time to visit our Square Spa and avail of one of their lovely treatments, or just relax in the out door hot tub.

Regarding your comments about pre authorisation of our guest’s credit cards, unfortunately this is a precaution we have to take with all debit cards to secure the payment for the accommodation. For our guests who are not happy with bank holding off pre authorised amount for 10 to 14 days we would advise to pay for accommodation at the check in.

We thank you again - for having booked with us and for your review - and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

The Meyrick hotel looks out onto Eyre Square. It's right around the corner from the train station so we didn't have to carry all of our luggage to far. Shop Street, the coach station, 2 tourism centers, and a launderette are within a 5 minute walking distance.

The hotel itself if very old and grand. There's only 1 elevator and it's a little slow. We got an upgraded room and were hoping to get a view of Eyre Square but got a view of a hostel instead. Our room was very nice and spacious. Even though it was the middle of November we kept on opening the window to get some ventilation, especially after someone takes a shower. I loved using the towel warmer in the bathroom. Breakfast in the hotel restaurant was very nice. The food was well stocked at all times and nothing got cold or soggy.

All of the staff were very nice and pretty helpful. If there was a concierge I didn't see him/her.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AjasTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write of your experience at the Hotel Meyrick. It is always nice to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay with us.

We will be sure to pass on your kind comments to all the staff, it is always a pleasure to be able to relay the positive back to them.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,605 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.2 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#12 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
0.8 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
0.1 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#20 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meyrick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meyrick

Property: Hotel Meyrick
Address: Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#16 Business Hotel in Galway
#16 Family Hotel in Galway
#17 Romantic Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Meyrick 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the heart of Galway City, the 4 star Hotel Meyrick combines stunning Victorian elegance with modern luxury and style. Enjoy a warm welcome, luxurious accommodation, a range of bar and dining options and the most central location. Enjoy a gorgeous Table D Hote evening meal or order from our A la Carte menu in our restaurant- No 15 on the Square. Relax in our beautiful Gaslight Bar & Brasserie for informal lunch or dinner with drinks, or in our elegant Oyster Bar. During your stay book into our Square Spa on Level 5. Along with treating yourself to a soothing spa treatment, avail of all facilities including Jacuzzi and our Outdoor Rooftop Hot Top. Ideally situated overlooking bustling Eyre Square, the delights of Galway are on your doorstep. With Shop street 2 minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotel.de, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Meyrick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meyrick Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing