We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Location...”
Review of Hotel Meyrick

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Meyrick
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Location, Location, Location.... Uber central, 2 minutes from the train/bus station. Spent one night in The Meyrick, and as anyone konws, one night is not enough in Galway. Booked this through an internet discount site and it was more than worth the money. Myself and my sister stayed in a suite. I took a chance when booking and asked would it be possible to get a 2 bed suite. This was arranged. It was a super room although the views from the back of the hotel aren't great,, but as it was only one night and we were out most of the day, it didn't matter so much.
If you are into really modern hotels this probably isn't the hotel for you, but that's not to say our stay was compromised. The check in staff was friendly and helpful. Stored our bags until rooms were ready. We had treatments booked in advance of arriving. Lucliky treatments are half price on Mondays, which we didn't know... they hadn't advertised that and we may have picked different treatments if we'd been told that when we booked. Jaccuzzi and outdoor hot tub are cool. Evening dinner was included in our deal and really enjoyed it. Nice to sit at the fire and have a night cap... Breakfast the following morning???? well I'm being picky .... pudding and sausages were way over cooked, but everything else was good, eggs cooked to order and lots of toast! Always good! They've a late check out which is always a nice option. Overall it was a very nice stay and I would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Go for a suite if you can, and check out on line deals... Oh, 50% discount on SpaTreatments on Monda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinaburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write of you experience at the Hotel Meyrick, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.

We will be sure to relay your kind comments to all the Team here at Hotel Meyrick. We have passed your comments also on to the Spa Manager to ensure that guests are informed on booking of the various offers we have available.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the charm and old characteristics of the Hotel Meyrick.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,499)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,126 - 1,132 of 1,499 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2012

We have just returned from a week end break at the meyrick as part of a family group. One member of our family undertook to look after the bookings. We had six rooms in total. From start to finish everything about this hotel was perfect. Check in was friendly and efficient ! We had requested complimentary upgrades where possible and our requests were met !Each room was luxurious and all had the wow factor ! The bathrooms were huge and spotlessly clean.In fact the first hour was spent viewing each others rooms ! Big thank you to orla who; looked after our accommodation so well. We had a large group for dinner on the saturday night in the dining room.Both the food and the service was excellent.The staff were courteous and professional at all times. We left with wonderful memories of what was a special family get together and have decided to make this an annual event at the meyrick.Well done and thanks again to all the staff.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christydol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write of you experience at the Hotel Meyrick, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.

We will be sure to relay your kind comments to all the Team, especially Orla. It is great to know that your family reunion was enjoyed by all and that we were able to help assist in marking such a special occasion.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Staff were so friendly when checking in and checking out!!!!
Hotel Meyrick is walking distance away from everything.
The room was lovely and plenty of space!!!
Would go back again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MonkeyGirlMayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write of your experience at the Hotel Meyrick. It is always nice to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay with us.

We will be sure to pass on your kind comments to all the staff, it is always a pleasure to be able to relay the positive back to them.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Last weekend we spent Friday through Saturday in Galway city and we chose the Meyrick for it's central location. Couldn't really fault them. Everything was nice. We especially found every single staff member, from breakfast to bar staff in Fagan's Sport's bar to be very friendly and welcoming. Well done to the Meyrick on such high staff standards!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taxco50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write of your experience at the Hotel Meyrick. It is always nice to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay with us.

We will be sure to pass on your kind comments to all the staff, it is always a pleasure to be able to relay the positive back to them and commend them on their hard work.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Myself and my partner and twin baby girls are just home today from a two night stay in the hotel meyrick. Our stay in this hotel really made our trip to Galway! The staff couldn't do enough for us and they were extremely friendly. Would just like to thank them all for making our first family holiday a great one and will definitely be staying there again next time we head to Galway. William, Caroline, Hannah and grace.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Williamc1279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write of your experience at the Hotel Meyrick, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.

Your kind comments will be relayed to the various teams, we are delighted to hear that your first family holiday was an enjoyable and relaxing time.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Meyrick in the near future and too seeing Grace and Hannah again.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Spent one night in room 316, a magnificent 'junior suite', wih a massive 4 poster bed, lovely seating area, and marble tiled bathroom with jacuzzi corner bath and seperate shower. the soft furnishings were stunning....real plush elegance. This room overlooks Eyre square but was very quiet. Felt like a queen for one night! Breakfast was very, very good. Dinner was a bit too fussy for me. Crabmeat wrapped in a fillet of plaice. Would have given anything for simple panfried fillet of fresh fish, with a nice sauce. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. The spa experience was a little confused. The treatments were lovely but it would have been helpful if one of the staff members had shown us around the facilities,and explained to us what treatments were possible. The concierge parked the car and on arriving and leaving, wanted to carry our luggage. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beemvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write of your experience at the Hotel Meyrick, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.

Your kind comments will be relayed to the various teams, we are delighted to have been able to assist you in feeling like a Queen for the night.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Meyrick in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a two night stay in the Hotel Meyrick and we can honestly say that it has been one of the best mini breaks that we've had in many years. The Hotel is old style elegance with all modern conveniences and close to shopping and dining in the city. The food (dinner and breakfast) was excellent and the staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. A thoroughly enjoyable experience... We will definitely be back. Joe & Sue McNally, Kilkenny

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Eyre Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeMcNally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write of your experience at the Hotel Meyrick.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed all that the Hotel Meyrick has to offer and its charm, character and location. Your kind comments will be relayed to all the team members.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Meyrick in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,896 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
1.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,363 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meyrick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meyrick

Address: Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#15 Business Hotel in Galway
#15 Family Hotel in Galway
#16 Romantic Hotel in Galway
Price Range: $139 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Meyrick 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the heart of Galway City, the 4 star Hotel Meyrick combines stunning Victorian elegance with modern luxury and style. Enjoy a warm welcome, luxurious accommodation, a range of bar and dining options and the most central location. Enjoy a gorgeous Table D Hote evening meal or order from our A la Carte menu in our restaurant- No 15 on the Square. Relax in our beautiful Gaslight Bar & Brasserie for informal lunch or dinner with drinks, or in our elegant Oyster Bar. During your stay book into our Square Spa on Level 5. Along with treating yourself to a soothing spa treatment, avail of all facilities including Jacuzzi and our Outdoor Rooftop Hot Top. Ideally situated overlooking bustling Eyre Square, the delights of Galway are on your doorstep. With Shop street 2 minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Meyrick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meyrick Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing