We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arus Grattan is a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arus Grattan Apartments
Ranked #19 of 59 Specialty Lodging in Galway
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We're 2 French tourists who stayed in Arus Grattan, 21-24 May 2012.
The apartment is clean, well equipped and had an exceptional location (15 minutes walk from historical center of Galway)and perfectly located for all guided tours of the region.
The fine grocery is only 1 minute from the apartment (around the corner!)
All in all, we had a wonderful stay and we strongly recommend this apartment.
Thank you Sean for your welcome and advise.

(2 French tourists)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Micaela93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
There are newer reviews for Arus Grattan Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 71 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2012

Had a great stay in these apartments last year for the Galway races. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evry1LovesAIrishGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

The apartment itself was nice enough, plenty of space with everything you need even, although possibly a little dated for some. The owner was very helpful and polite.

My major problem with it, is that it isn't the building advertised in the pictured. The building advertised is sea front location, and we were in fact placed around the corner, on a backstreet with a view of a Petrol/Gas Station and a derelict hotel building. Not the sea view expected!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SeasonedTraveller579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Spend a fantastic week with friends in Arus Grattan.
The appartment is very spacious and has everything you need, very practical no luxury but extremelly comfortable and clean. Very well located, first line, espectacular views of the beach.
Sean Tracy is very professional and accomodating. There is a whole pile of brochures with info about places to visit.

Would definately recommend it to everyone who wants to spend some time in a nice, quiet, clean and convenient location at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sabela_castro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

The owner was very accomodating with our every request. The apartment was very clean and spacious. The owner went over places to visit & put together a binder with very helpful picture and information on tourist attractions. Our view was spectacular every hour of every day. I would highly recommend staying here. I would come again.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bkadams88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2011

My trip was intended as a month-long personal retreat, and this place was ideal for that. It is in a quiet, mostly residential and B&B-populated area, with Galway Bay right across the street. The building and apartments are clean and well maintained. The kitchen was adequate to cook in. The owner was gracious and friendly, and though I didn't have many needs, I felt he was easy to reach and responsive.

It's not a hotel, so don't expect daily room cleaning or a front desk. This is definitely more for an independent traveller or someone who would like a reasonably-priced home base from which to go on day trips or enjoy the music and scenery of Galway City. It's got the basics of home, it's comfortable, and it's a great location.

A few things to make your stay better, if you're planning for more than a week like I did:

Hit the €2 Store the first day and get anything you need that's not already there. There are a couple of them in the city centre. For food shopping, Mortons is literally a 1-minute walk around the corner, but it's expensive. A little closer to town is a larger and less-expensive SuperValu, and further into town is an even larger Dunnes Store. Ask for a tutorial on how to use the combination washer/dryer, but don't expect it to dry the clothes too well. The owner provides a rack to hang clothes on; very bohemian :) The free high-speed internet is wired, so if you prefer wireless, bring along a wireless router with you.

Enjoy. Galway is a lovely place to spend some time.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BakerManDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2010

Would not recommend this apartment.
Priced the apartment, the man on the phone asked me 'What I was laughing at'. When unable to take the aparment - His reply was - 'GOOD'
Most unprofessional considering the price I was going to pay.
Actually left me feeling very upset.

Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
3  Thank gemmak98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.8 mi away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
2,562 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,989 reviews
0.7 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#18 of 46 in Galway
902 reviews
1.3 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,823 reviews
2.5 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arus Grattan Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arus Grattan Apartments

Address: Grattan Road, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 59 Specialty Lodging in Galway
Price Range: $152 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arús Grattan Holiday Apartments provide the very finest holiday accommodation. These Irish Tourist Board Approved 4 star one and two bedroom apartments are architecturally designed to meet the highest standards. Comfortably furnished with all modern appliances including direct dial phone, broadband internet, hair dryer, cloths iron, cable TV, video, radio/CD, full kitchen with washer/dryer, microwave oven. Electrically heated throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Arus Grattan Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing