We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and friendly B&B was perfect stay in Galway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ontario House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #105 of 189 Galway B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 4, 2009

John and Anne were the perfect hosts the two nights that we stayed in Galway! In fact, we intended to stay only one night, but added on a second night after our positive experience.

We relied on public transportation and walking during our trip to Ireland and the Ontario House is located right off the bus stop, which was great. When we first got into Galway, it was pouring rain and we were soaked! We arrived at the bed and breakfast a bit early, but John and Anne invited us in, served us hot coffee and toast. It was such a welcome treat and we greatly appreciated the hospitality!

The breakfasts are great with delicious brown bread, an array of fresh fruits, cereals and a good full Irish Breakfast. The house is a quick walk to the bay, which we did quite often. The beds are comfortable and the rooms were clean and inviting.

When I come back to Galway, I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greengirl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 85 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2009

The Ontario House is a nice B&B and the owners, Anne and John, are doing their best tot make you feel at home in Ontario House and in Salthill/Galway. Everything is clean and tidy and the breakfast is full Irish. We had a nice stay,

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank persbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Ontario House and we found the owners very
friendly and hospitable. The B & B is spotlessly clean and breakfast was wonderful.
No problems at all.

We had a wonderful time in Salthill and we would go back to Ontario House.
We would recommend Ontario House to everyone we know.

Rosemary and John Ottembrajt
Wasaga Beach, Ontario, Canada

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blackPugsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markland59, owner at Ontario House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2009

We would like to express our sincere thanks for your feed back and for taking the time to write a review.
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for staying with us and we are delighted you enjoyed your holiday in Ireland. We look forward to seeing you again sometime in the not too distant future.
Best wishes from John & Anne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2009

Great little spot just outside of Galway. We parked our rental car in the gated carpark and walked about 25 minutes into Galway for dinner and were very comfortable doing the same on the way back in the dark. The hosts were so very welcoming and generous...it really did feel like we were visiting family! We were just looking for a nice place to sleep and shower...didn't need any frills. The room was tiny (three adults shared the room) but clean, pleasent and very comfortable beds! I'd recommend this B&B if you don't want to be in the center of things and don't mind a walk to and from!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cgiombetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2009

This was a very nice B&B. The room and breakfast were fine and the hosts friendly. There was parking in the rear. We had had a miserable day trying to find a boat trip in Galway, only to finally find where it was to leave from, and find out it wasn't running that day. Therefore we were happy to have a nice place to stay. It was a short walk down the hill to the bay and promenade and each night we found wonderful places to eat -- once in a Slavik restaurant and the next night in an Italian restaurant nearby. The B&B was a perfect base for our trip to the Aran Islands -- don't miss it! The ferry was only an hour away from the B&B.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retired-teacher60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2009

We had a great stay at the Ontario House in Salthill. Anne was very helpful in planning our night in Salthill and Galway. The location of the B&B is great; the bus stop is literally right next door to the B&B and there are several restaurants / pubs within walking distance. Our room was spacious and warm, and the breakfast was just fine.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank metric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2008

Anne and John were lovely people. The weather was quite undesireable, but, their home was warm and welcoming to exhausted travelers. The rooms were clean, comfortable and nicely appointed. We enjoyed a very good breakfast before embarking on our holiday and shared a lot of laughs with our host and hostess. I would recommend a friend to stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Meg417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
6.4 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,167 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
2,166 reviews
1.9 mi away
Westwood House Hotel
Westwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dangan
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,804 reviews
2.7 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,253 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Galmont Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ontario House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ontario House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Ontario 48 Dalysfort Road, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing