We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A few short steps........ and you're watching "the moon on Galway Bay"!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galway
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marless House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 188 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2013

10/16/13 to 10/18/13

Mary is the perfect hostess and made us feel right at home in her beautiful B&B located a short walk to Galway Bay. Our room was very comfortable and breakfast was excellent with many choices. We enjoyed chatting with Mary and her husband about their family and the 30 plus years of operating this wonderful inn.

Mary, please don't throw our your husband's collection of trophies. :-)

Thanks so much for a really nice stay,

Al and Marge

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Al N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (774)
There are newer reviews for Marless House Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

352 - 358 of 774 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2013

This was our last stay in a B&B on this trip. And as good as all the others were you can always find things you like about each one. The accommodations were quite pleasant and we loved the electric blankets, maybe not needed in season but good for a November stay. There were places to eat within walking distance and did I mention Salthill. One of the few breakfasts that I didn't eat the traditional Irish breakfast. I had french toast which was good and a nice change. They offered a very nice breakfast selection. Not that it was a problem but they only accept cash so just make sure to consider this when staying here. I would stay here again and have no problem recommending staying here to any of my friends. Thanks for the nice stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BsquaredTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Mary made us very welcome. Her local knowledge, patience and helpful maps were priceless. Keeps a friendly house. Guests interacted and exchanged tales. We walked into Galway. Had meals just off the esplanade. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Book early.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Great location, lovely room, but best of all Mary! We were welcomed with tea and coffee (after the harrowing drive through the many Galway rotaries) by Mary who immediately made us feel at home. Room had everything we needed and breakfasts were outstanding. Mary explained the bus system which was an easy way to get around town. And she was a whizz with directions and information as we headed off to the Kylemore Abbey and other points. When we get back to Galway we will definitely stay with Mary again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank withanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This was our first time in Ireland and our first B&B. What a wonderful experience.
We flew into Dublin, rented a car and began our journey in Galway. When we finally found Marless house, we were pretty worn out. Mary greeted us with open arms and made us feel like we were visiting family. After a nice cup of tea and cookies, Mary gave us directions to the local pubs, and eateries. We were only able to reserve the smallest room she had available but it was more than adequate and very clean and comfortable. Mary gave us as well as her other guest a great deal of personal attention. I was amazed at how hard she worked to make sure all of her guests were taken care of. The breakfast offerings were numerous and very well prepared. I have never had a scone as good as the ones she prepares. If I ever return to Ireland, which I hope I do, I would go way out of my way to visit Mary and her husband again.
What a great start to a great trip!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Panchito7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We couldn't believe we were so lucky to stay in the #1 place in Galway. Mary was magical & beyond accommodating. We called her our Ireland mom. Tea upon arrival, called us cabs & made us welcome in <min. The breakfast was amazing & you could pick unlimited items! It was a short walk to the beach & amazing sunsets.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank xyliafanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This B&B should be rated 6 stars. Perfect location by the beach and just a few houses from a bus stop. Mary is the best host. A fountain of knowledge on where to go, what to see, where to eat, how to get there complete with maps! The house is beautiful, comfortable , and spotless. Breakfast is cooked to order. Definitely stay here. We were there for 5 nights and loved it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.2 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,190 reviews
1.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,979 reviews
0.1 mi away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
2,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,725 reviews
2.1 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,818 reviews
6.9 mi away
Oranhill Lodge
Oranhill Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oranmore
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marless House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marless House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Threadneedle Road, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 188 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Marless House Hotel Galway
Marless House Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing