We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like staying with you favorite aunt.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galway
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marless House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 197 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Monroeville
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Like staying with you favorite aunt.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Mary and Marless House were outstanding. She loves being a host and making sure you have a great stay.

She is a gem. Her husband is also a joy and lives to share stories (while Mary tries to get him back to the kitchen).

Close to the Aran island ferry and Ashford Castle.

This was a fine visit for us.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GatorJoe_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    680
    43
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
176
405
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Novi
Level Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We spent two nights at Marless house with two men running the show. Tom and his son-in-law were perfect hosts! Coffee, tea and cookies were ready for us when we settled in. A lap top was set up for our use and WiFi was available throughout the house. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were spotless. Breakfast was delicious with an abundant selection of fruit, yogurt, scones and fresh cooked hot foods. Parking was available on their premises. Tom recommended a restaurant for a very late evening meal which worked out perfectly. I would highly recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SenoraNovi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

As the final B&B on our two week driving tour around the southern half of Ireland, Marless House was the "icing on the cake" of our several great lodging experiences during our trip. Mary and Tom attend to every detail, making their guests feel both pampered and welcomed like old friends in their home. The accommodations were immaculate, the bed very comfortable, and the breakfasts were bountiful and sumptuous. The location could not be better, just a few houses up the street from the Salt Hill promenade and waterfront. The stop to catch the bus into the city is just around the corner; however, the weather was beautiful, and we chose to take the 3 km promenade walk into the city, along the waterfront, the day that we explored Galway. Mary armed us with a map and great suggestions for what to see, where to eat, and how to get there. We had a fun and tasty dinner our first evening at the bustling Da Robertos in Salt Hill Village--a very popular place for both Irish and foreign vacationing families. We did our walking tour of Galway on a Sunday; and towards mid-afternoon, we enjoyed a very good carvery luncheon at the restaurant inside the Park House Hotel. Mary helped us get reservations for the "Trad on the Prom" concert at the Galway Bay Hotel (just a short walk away from Marless House) for our final evening there. This was a great professional production of traditional Irish dance and music, in a fairly intimate setting, well worth the price of the tickets. Thank you, Tom and Mary, for a great stay at Marless House!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripLoverPortland_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed with Mary and Tom for 4 nights mid July. I can only agree with all the other reviews, the house is spotless, the room a perfect size, beds very comfortable. The weather was superb during our stay and we were delighted to find a fan in the room, without even having to ask! Mary was very helpful providing directions with accompanying maps. We were delighted to meet her 2 grandchildren during our stay. Both she and Tom made us feel very welcome in their home and nothing was too much trouble. Would not stay anywhere else the next time I return to Salthill.

I miss the breakfasts!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kajammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We arrived in Galway a little travel worn, and Mary greeted us warmly and made us both tea and coffee. She provided a map of the city and marked significant landmarks and restaurants. The room was clean and comfortable. The walk to the bus to get into the downtown area is just around the corner. We had an early start the next morning, and Mary was so kind to make us an early breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meaghan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois USA
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

The Marless House lives up to all the previous positive reviews on Trip Advisor. Steps from the water, this smoke-free B&B could not have been cleaner or more comfortable. And the breakfast!

It was delightful to meet Mary and her husband, Tom, and also to chat with other guests. Mary gave us wonderful recommendations, not the least of which was to recommend dinner at Moran the Weir (otherwise known an Moran's Oyster Cottage, www.moransoystercottage.com) 20 minutes or so outside of Galway.

Thanks, Mary and Tom, for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpzeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cle Elum, Washington
Level Contributor
166 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stay with Mary and Tom whenever we are in the Galway area and they have become very much like family to us. As small group tour operators, we are looking for small, comfortable and relaxing accommodation with a local feel. Mary and Tom provide that and much more. It is often a favourite of the people who come on our trips with us. Mary always greets us warmly upon arrival with tea, coffee and some kind of cake and the breakfasts are always memorable. We love staying here and you will as well!

Room Tip: Remember that the guest house is in the Salthill area of Galway and not right in the center of town...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottishDreamTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.2 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,863 reviews
2.1 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,642 reviews
1.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,627 reviews
0.1 mi away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,316 reviews
6.9 mi away
Oranhill Lodge
Oranhill Lodge
#1 of 11 in Oranmore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marless House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marless House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Marless House Bed & Breakfast
Address: Threadneedle Road, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Marless House Hotel Galway
Marless House Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing