We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marless House is a true gem!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galway
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marless House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 197 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Marless House is a true gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2008

We recently stayed and experienced a wonderful two days at Marless House. Marless House far exceeded all of our expectations. Mary and Tom Geraghty are very friendly and knowledgeable hosts. Our room was bright, spacious, clean and very quiet. The breakfast was amazing with lots of choices and cooked exactly to your preference. The B and B is situated in a great location. Marless House is place I would recommend to everyone. We were so spoiled by our stay that every B and B we stayed at after Marless House during our trip to Ireland was a disappointment.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldFisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    682
    43
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
177
406
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2008

We recently stayed and experienced a wonderful weekend at Marless House. Not having stayed in a bed and breakfast for many years, Marless House exceeded all our expectations and we would encourage anyone who is interested in breaking away from the anonymous hotel experience to stay here. Mary Geraghty and her husband Tom are very friendly and informative hosts who were always at hand when we had a query yet very respectful of their guests privacy. Once we had settled into our bright and spacious bedroom Mary invited us to join some other guests for tea in the sittingroom. Mary is very helpful and knowledgeable and whilst we relaxed with a cup of tea in hand she engaged us in some light conversation regarding the surrounding area, places to visit, where to eat etc. Breakfast was a treat each morning, several choices, cooked to order, well presented and plentiful. Having spoken with other guests, many of whom were repeat visitors to Marless House, we concluded that Mary and Toms bed and breakfast is judged not only by their guests choice to stay there but also by their desire to return. We ourselves plan to return soon and perhaps for an extended stay as we were truly overwhelmed by the charm, attention to detail and gracious hospitality extended to us.

  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sophiedub08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2008

Marless House is well situated, just 100m from the Salthill Promenade. However, the room where we stayed, althought it was a large family room with lateral sea view, should be better sound isolated. We heard the cars passing by all night.
Breakfast was good, with many options.
Our hosts, Mary and Tom Geraghty were nice, but from the reviews we read we were expecting a warmer welcome, though.
It let us with a neutral impression about this B&B.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Ricandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2008

My husband and I stayed at Marless house in early November and were very happy with our accomodations. The B&B is extremely close the sea where we enjoyed taking long walks along the shore and watching the crazy people dive into the cold Atlantic from the diving platform.

Marless House was impeccably clean and quiet. We both agreed that we felt as if we were having a friendly stay at a relative's home rather than a B&B. The breakfasts were filling and delicious. We felt that we received an excellent value for the price and would definitely recommend Marless House to our friends and family staying in the Salthill/Galway area.

We were at Marless House for 2 nights and found it to be conveniently located to our planned excursions. It's located just a short drive from the Connemara region, and an even shorter drive to the Rossaveal ferry that took us to the Aran Islands for the day.

Overall, I would recommened Marless House to any traveler looking for a friendly, clean, and quiet place to stay.

  • Liked — Peace and Quiet and Friendly Atmosphere
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarahbean108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2008

I cannot fault Marless House. Very warm welcome, lovely room and excellent food. Extremely helpful owners who made us feel at home.

  • Liked — Well equipped bedroom and good ensuite shower room
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank archive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naas, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2007

I am used to travelling for business reasons, and decided this time to go for a B&B rather than for the hotel. What an excellent idea!! Marless House is quite and relaxing place. I had a room with a garden view on the ground floor. The bed was excellent and so was the shower. "Mary" prepared an incredible breakfast in the morning, and was extremely kind and respectful. This is definitly one of my favorite B&B in Ireland.

  • Liked — Quiet, Clean, Excellent quality of the bed & the shower, excellent breakfast
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PilPil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2007

Mrs. Mary Geraghty, and her Marless House, Salthill, Galway, Co. Galway was fantastic. Her B&B is absolutely outstanding. “Luxurious” is the way her home was described in our B&B book and it was absolutely true. Our room was very clean and extremely comfortable. Mary was friendly, and extremely helpful. Her breakfast was great, and she saved us hours of driving by mentioning the River Shannon ferry at Killimer. She also provided excellent recommendations which were very helpful to us. Mary recommended a pub to hear traditional Irish music and advised us to take the nearby bus. It was great advice, and the music was terrific. In mid-November 2007 we found many of the B&B's that were supposed to be open were not answering their phone or hanging out "No Vacancy" signs. Not so at the Marless House. Mary answered our phone call on her cell phone and was home to welcome us when we arrived. This is not your typical Irish B&B. It is definitely a four star, or better accommodation. Again, we would highly recommend the Marless House.

  • Liked — Beautiful, luxurious home
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank IdRatherBeBicycling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.2 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,872 reviews
2.1 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,647 reviews
1.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
0.1 mi away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,318 reviews
6.9 mi away
Oranhill Lodge
Oranhill Lodge
#1 of 11 in Oranmore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marless House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marless House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Marless House Bed & Breakfast
Address: Threadneedle Road, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Marless House Hotel Galway
Marless House Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing