We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as nice as I remembered”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galway
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marless House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 189 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights last weekend and we loved it. The owners, Mary and her husband Tom were delightful. I had stayed here 10 years ago with my mom and sister, and this was a favorite for all of us. I booked Marless House right away when I planned this recent trip. The house and rooms were spotless. Breakfast was delicious. The house is located about 3 or 4 houses up from the water. From our bedroom window we could see the waves cresting out over the bay, and Aran Island in the distance. The room was cozy, even on a rainy windy night. We parked in the private lot in front of the house. We could easily walk to the main beach and attractions on the Strand. Mary mapped out a road trip for us each day, and we saw spectacular scenery going to Kylemore Abbey and it's gardens, and down to the Cliffs of Moher through the Burren. Fantastic stay. We also had a great dinner at McSwiggens Pub in Galway. Coincidentally, we ran into another couple at a different B&B in Killkenny who had stayed at the Marless House when we were there, and they also raved about Mary and Tom. We would highly recommend this place, and we did tell some other couples we met at a B&B in Bantry to stay at Marless later in their trip.

Room Tip: Our room in the front of the house had a nice view of the breakers out on the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NYgardeners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (780)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

577 - 583 of 780 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2011

My wife and I received a warm welcome, were shown to our room and offered excellent guidance about things to see in the Galway area. Mary was a perfect hostess with ideas on theater including booking our tickets, help with some of my ancestor search through a local data bank, and excellent directions to any of the sites in the area. The room was very brite and quite clean with excellent bath and all the amenities. The breakfast however was second to none on our 2 week trip to Ireland. Beginning with the multi-item menu, food was made to order and the variety would meet nearly anyone's tastes. She was even very happy to modify items .... ask about "Roberta's french toast". "Thanks Mary for a such a pleasant experience while in Galway."

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Larry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Mary greeted us with a lovely pot of tea in the guest lounge on our arrival which was really appreciated after our long drive. We had a good sized room with a double and a single bed, ensuite and tea and coffee making facilities. There is also off street parking at the front of the property.

Each morning we enjoyed a delicious Irish breakfast including pancakes. Mary was also very helpful with advice on day trips in the Connemara and supplied maps and directions. Mary also recommended places to see and eat in Galway, the city centre being about a 30 minute walk along the coast. Thanks Mary for helping us to make the most of our time in Galway.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Red_Kangar00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

We stayed 2 nights in Marless House earlier this summer, and we really enjoyed the place and its owners.

Our room was very big and light, the bathroom was spotless, and the bed comfy.
Mary is a lovely woman and a wonderful hostess. She really made our stay feel like home away from home.

Marless House was our base for touring Connemara (beautiful, beautiful area - do not skip a trip there!) and Galway - and for both the location is perfect.

In short - do check it out if you plan a trip in the area!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KerenISL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Marless guest house must be booked, when you want to have an excellent home, best breakfast, good suggestion for trips and restaurants. Mary and Tom were excellent hosts and it was very nice to stay there. Also Galway is a good place to start trips in other regions.
When we plan our next holidays in ireland, we are sure to visit marless house again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weinstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Wonderful, cute and very clean place. The ocean is near by, so we could walk along the beach and enjoy the view and clean air. Mary helped a lot with planning our tours and all her suggestions were very helpful. We've tried restaurants she suggested and loved every one of them. The tour she suggested to Connemara was a highlight of our trip. The mornings were full of crisp air and delicious breakfast. Everything was extremely tasty especially the French toast. Thanks Mary and John for your hospitality.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Larisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We would HIGHLY recommend Marless in the Salthill area. We were happy to stay out by the ocean, which is only a 2 minute walk from their home (and an easy bus ride into city of Galway, if you are looking for exciting nightlife). Mary and Tom run a homey and comfortable place. The house is beautifully decorated. Room was big, sunny and bright. Windows throughout the house were large. Bathroom was spotless,,,and we are particular! They were gracious in helping us when we needed to contact the airlines due to weather issues Hurricane Irene). Tea was always on with yummy fresh baked snacks. Breakfast was fantastic. Poached eggs with melted cheddar, the best french toast with warmed genuine maple syrup. This was one of the most memorable stops on our trip. These folks love what they do and they do it very well.

Room Tip: The downstairs rooms, though cheaper, are smaller. Request an upstairs room for the little extra mon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chiromag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.2 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,255 reviews
1.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,044 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
2,617 reviews
2.1 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,866 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sea-Breeze Lodge
Sea-Breeze Lodge
#3 of 189 in Galway
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marless House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marless House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Threadneedle Road, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Marless House Hotel Galway
Marless House Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing