We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a gorgeous home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galway
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marless House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 187 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wasaga Beach, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“a gorgeous home”
Reviewed June 4, 2011

Mary and Tom were excellent hosts. Their home is 1 of the most beautiful and comfortable homes I have ever visited. They are 1 minute from Galway Bay where we saw people swimming in May!! We met a very nice 4some from England and had a great conversation in the elegant sitting room. We picked this home because it was rated # 1 and were rewarded with a first class stay. Mary had great maps to allow us to freely move through Galway on the way from Doolin.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bsmowat5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    712
    43
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
188
422
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2011

Marless House was a perfect place to start our Ireland holiday. Mary was such a great host and couldnt do enough to make our stay perfect. Its a great location less than a block to the sea. Our rooms were so roomy, well decorated and super clean. (we loved the heated beds). Breakfast was excellent with lots of variety and great coffee. Mary helped us with our area tours and made sure we had a perfect stay. When I was having trouble trying to contact home (canada) she couldnt have been more helpful and caring. Our best stay in Ireland and would love to visit again. Thanks so much Mary for a memorable visit and all youir help-you are amazing!!!!! 2 ladies from Canada xxoo

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soozireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

My wide & I stayed at Marless House when visiting Galway for a wedding, and while our stay was brief we loved it. Arriving late from Edinburgh owner Mary was very accommodating and welcomed us with tea and biscuits (at midnight!) Cosy rooms, decent shower & TV (although we didn't spot it at first, hidden in a cupboard) plus free wifi. Ample choice for breakfast - fruit, juice, tea/coffee, cereals, yoghurts, porridge, full irish, pancakes, french toast, salmon, eggs - and quite relaxed about when we arrived & left. Great chatting with Mary and her husband, a lovely, friendly home.

Salthill is an extension of Galway, a few miles from the centre. Originally a separate seaside village it still has all the trademark attractions - rides, a long, winding seaside promenade overlooking Galway Bay, bracing winds (even in May) and a few pubs/eateries. If you're brave/crazy bring your swimming gear - every morning, all year round, a local group of swimmers enjoy a rejuvenating dip in the water!

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groveland, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2011

We stayed in Marless House for four nights in mid-May 2011. We had traveled from Killarney in the south and spent the day touring the Muckross House in Killarney, Cliffs of Moher, and the Burren before arriving road weary at Marless House. By the time we arrived, the nearby pubs had stopped serving dinner, but Mary Geraghty came to the rescue and served us fruit, cheese, crackers, and tea.

Our rooms were lovely and spotless. It was lovely to overlook Mary's garden. Mary assisted us in making arrangements to take the Connemara bus tour. The tour picked us up right in front of Marless House.

Mary's sitting room was the perfect place to meet other people, discuss dining plans, and discuss the day's adventures. It was beautifully decorated and cozy and welcoming.

Breakfast was a real treat. Lovely porridge, eggs, French toast, ham, and sausages. We ate like lumberjacks!

Mary gave us some good shopping advice on the day we went to Galway City Centre. By following her suggestions, we were able to wrap up our obligatory souvenir shopping in no time at all.

We saw the Trad on the Prom (a showcase of Irish music and dancing) and it was just a five minute walk from Marless House. We had dinner at the hotel where the show was taking place and it was a very good value. The show was one of the highlights of our trip.

We had an early flight to catch and weren't expecting breakfast, but Mary insisted on serving us breakfast at 6:45. Thank goodness! We didn't have any real food until 9pm that night when we returned home.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mgreer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

Mary is very nice host. Great breakfast. Very good value.

Room Tip: All rooms good.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2011

Mary and Tom were gracious hosts with great recommendations for dinner at Logan's and a place to buy an inexpensive tire to replace the one we blew on the way to Killarney. It was a short walk along the ocean to the town center. Our room was cozy and comfortable. The bathroom was tiny, but the shower was good. Breakfast was great -- we didn't need to eat again until dinner!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aresnick1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

We stayed at the Marless House with our two adult children, in two rooms. What a wonderful introduction to the Ireland B&B experience! Beautiful, comfortable, well appointed rooms. Just a block to the beach, and another short walk to downtown restaurants & nightlife. Mary, the Marless House host, is a gem! So welcoming, & full of great information on what to see, where to go, & how to get there to make the most of your time. And the breakfasts -- superb! When we go back to Ireland, Marless House will be part of our itinerary!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarciaFaught
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.2 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
3,052 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,684 reviews
1.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 45 in Galway
1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#4 of 45 in Galway
2,465 reviews
2.1 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
2,747 reviews
6.9 mi away
Oranhill Lodge
Oranhill Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oranmore
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marless House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marless House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Marless House Bed & Breakfast
Address: Threadneedle Road, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Marless House Hotel Galway
Marless House Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing