We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Walking distance to city center - free parking” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Jude's Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
St. Jude's Lodge
Ranked #6 of 197 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
537 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Walking distance to city center - free parking”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed for two nights in June at St. Jude’s Lodge. Our main reason for choosing it was price and free parking. It’s located on one of the main roads into the city so very easy to find, and city center is an easy 15 minutes walk away. The house is not very distinctive, and gives the impression of a no nonsense business hotel rather than a B&B (usually with a lot of personal touch). The double room we had was very clean although small and sparsely furnished (the little closet had only a few bent wire hangers, a first on this trip). Floor was wood rather than carpeted which we liked. Bed was only a full but quite firm and comfortable. Bathroom needless to say was also tiny, with only a narrow shower stall (it seems to us that just about all the B&Bs have only shower stalls, although the sizes differ), however there was a window which made the bathroom feel a little less cramped. The wi-fi was a bit spotty and slow so required some patience. Breakfast was served as a small buffet with hot items like eggs, sausages and potatoes etc, not outstanding but adequate. The Lodge is run by twin brothers, which we didn’t realize at first so there was some hilarious confusion – like: didn’t you check us in yesterday? And you find out that no, that was his twin brother! In any case, although this is not one of those B&Bs one might describe as “home away from home” (and you don't get a lot of help with restaurant etc recommendations), it’s quite efficiently and well run, and a good lodging option for Galway.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paxa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    151
    43
    12
    11
See reviews for
125
215
37
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Can't say enough good things about St Jude's Lodge! I stayed here recently for 3 nights. Though I was traveling alone and requested a single room, I received a huge room with enough space to sleep 3 people. The room was modern, airy and sunny, with big windows and lots of light. Tea and coffee making facilities were in the room, along with the nice touch of chocolates on the pillows. Bathroom was big and spotless, shower was wonderful. Wifi was free, as well as free on-site parking behind the B&B. Breakfast was an additional 6 Euro. I did not partake, as I wanted to enjoy all the little local cafes in the area for breakfast, but it smelled wonderful every morning and the breakfast room was pretty and well-appointed. There was a sitting room with a computer and printer, and a bookshelf full of books. A short, 5 minute walk gets you right into Eyre Square, at the city center. A bus does come by the B&B, but I never used it as the walk was so quick.
One small negative: The doors on the first floor where I stayed were very squeaky. I could hear any time anyone opened a door nearby. The walls are also quite thin, and you can hear a bit of noise from the people around you. This didn't bother me at all, but might be something to think about if you are a very light sleeper.
Would definitely stay again if I returned to Galway!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Our brief stay at St. Jude's Lodge in Galway was exceptionally comfortable. The lodge is impeccably clean, the beds comfortable, and the administration friendly and helpful. Located close to downtown, we were able to safely park the car and walk to and from the major sights. We would most definitely return and highly recommend this stay to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JWCatalpa2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holt, MI
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed at St.Jude Lodge (not to be confused with St. Jude B & B) had nice rooms - great showers. Clean and the staff was super friendly. We enjoyed the breakfast room (a group of 6) lots of choices.
The location was super and we were close to locations we planned to visit.
The parking we thought was going to be awful until we realized there was a huge parking lot area in the back. Would stop there again. Thanks to the great staff.

Room Tip: We had a 4 twin bed room and it was excellent for our group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Had a lovely time in Galway. St Jude's was a wee gem!! On arrival we were greeted by a super friendly guy on reception who made us feel extremely welcome from the moment he opened the door. Our room was huge with a spacious bathroom and fantastic shower. The bed was very comfortable and the whole place was immaculate. There were mints set out on the bed which I thought was a lovely touch. There was WiFi throughout the whole premises with high speed connection unlike in most places where its only available in public areas. The B&B had ample guest parking so we were able to leave the car and head to the town for a few Guinness without the need for taxi's as it was only a short walk to the town centre. Next morning we met the owners - two brothers who were great craic. It's always nice to meet genuine people when you're travelling, it makes the whole experience so much more enjoyable. It would be fair to say that when I next visit Galway - St Jude's is where we will be staying. Thanks Guys

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IreLandFi0na
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Loved this B&B. Lovely room with comfortable bed and pillows, nicely decorated. Good location to walk to and from the City Center where all the action is. Any staff we talked to was very helpful and friendly. A lot of breakfast options offered. Very happy and would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harriet34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Great B'n'B within walking distance of the town centre. Car park at the back so you can hire a motor, look around the island and then pitch up at the lodge when you're done. Full Irish/English breakfast in the morning was sublime and there was masses of it. Owners were helpful and chatty. Couldn't fault it; will be returning at some point.

Room Tip: If possible, avoid the double room on the left as you enter the lodge, its a touch noisy in the morn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JBXXIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.2 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,605 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#20 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#12 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
2.1 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Jude's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Jude's Lodge

Property: St. Jude's Lodge
Address: Saint Judes Lodge 24 College Road, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Jude's Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a B&B in Galway city that's centrally located, but far enough away from the hustle of our vibrant city (we're just a 2 minute walk into the city centre) then St. Jude's Lodge and guesthouse is for you. Our fine guesthouse was purpose built to serve your every need whether you're booking your stag or hen, are coming to Galway to sty for a weekend break or are planning a romantic getaway. We pride ourselves on going the extra mile for you as we provide Free Wifi to all guests and laundry facility on site as well as complimentary breakfast when you book direct through our site. We can accommodate all group sizes, from business travelers, solo travelers, families to large tour groups. Just a stones throw to the famous and vibrant Eyre Square and you'll be spoiled with the quality of restaurants and activities that await you when you visit. And of course, when you arrive we'll do everything we can to ensure your stay with us is a positive one. Anything we can do to direct you or help you enjoy your stay in Galway, all you need do is ask! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your St. Jude's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Jude`s Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing