We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrific stay”
Review of St. Jude's Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St. Jude's Lodge
Ranked #7 of 189 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2012

stayed here for just one night due to busy races week. what an excellent b&b, welcoming people very friendly and helpful, the room was very cosy and clean, could not have asked for more. the breakfast was great, lots of car parking space. would highly recommend this b&b for any occasion.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Therese k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (765)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

622 - 628 of 765 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2012

A lovely bed and breakfast in a great location! Room was nice and spacious and service was very good, would stay here again and would recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Nead87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

This is a well run B&B with staff who couldn't do enough for you. The breakfast was lovely and freshly cooked. The rooms were lovely and the bathroom nice and roomy. I would definitely highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KitteyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights on our visit to Galway. We were greeted very warmly and shown to our room. It was pleasant and adequate for our needs, a queen bed and a single bed and en suite bathroom. We opened the windows and let the breeze in, which was lovely.

We were only a short walk from Eyre Square and the train station so the location was great. Our train didn't leave until later in the day, and they allowed us to keep our luggage there so we could do a bit more shopping and exploring before we left.

Every employee we came in contact with was very accommodating and helpful. They called a taxi to take us to the Trad on the Prom and helped us with our bags when we checked in.

Being that it is an older house, there was quite a bit of noise when the people across the hall came back late in the evening, but overall, it wasn't bad at all. Woud

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mburton0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I have no complaints about St. Jude's Lodge, the staff was helpful and kind. This B&B was comfortable, quiet, and clean, great for a good night sleep. However, I did feel the hotel was slightly overpriced for what it was, the furnishings and carpets did seem a but worn and weary.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

My experience at this B&B was wonderful! It was located in a more quiet and safe residential part of town sourrounded by other large houses and B&Bs, yet is just steps away from Eyre Square and all the nightlife it has to offer (but without all the noise that comes with it).

The price we paid to stay in this establishment was BEYOND reasonable--I could hardly believe the great price we paid! Note: breakfast was not included in the price of our room, however we were told it could be purchased for only 6 euro per person--which is an incredibly reasonable rate!

The room itself was spacious, very clean and comfortable--with large windows that you could open. The sheets were nice and crisp, and there were lots of pillows on the bed. The wood floors were very clean, and the bathroom was just the right size and very clean as well. There was an electric kettle in our room, with a selection of teas and coffee, as well as a TV. There was also a hairdryer as well, and outside the door was an ironing board & iron.

The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. One of the best things about this B&B is that there was wireless internet in your room, as well as in the common areas--most hotels in Ireland don't even offer this yet! If you don't have your own laptop, there is a computer for use as well.

Even though our room faced the street, we barely heard any noise from outside, and received a peaceful and easy sleep.

I go into Galway often, and so long as they have room, I can't imagine that I will ever stay anyplace else--it is THAT GOOD!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greyhoundymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Stayed here with friends for two nights at the beginning of June. The main town is only a five minute walk away. The owners were very friendly and helpful. We stayed in the family rooms which had 1 double bed and two single beds. Plenty of room. Bathroom very clean and the shower powerful, plenty of hot water, they even provided face wipes. Fresh towels were provided each day together with tea, coffee, milk & sugar. The room had a tv and hairdryer. Beds were very comfortable. We also enjoyed the buffet breakfast each morning, they provided a very good selection of cooked breakfast & continental. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smudge1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,143 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,912 reviews
2.2 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 46 in Galway
1,736 reviews
0.1 mi away
Asgard Guesthouse
Asgard Guesthouse
#10 of 189 in Galway
476 reviews
4.9 mi away
Oranhill Lodge
Oranhill Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oranmore
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Jude's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Jude's Lodge

Address: Saint Judes Lodge 24 College Road, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range: $52 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Jude's Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a B&B in Galway city that's centrally located, but far enough away from the hustle of our vibrant city (we're just a 2 minute walk into the city centre) then St. Jude's Lodge and guesthouse is for you. Our fine guesthouse was purpose built to serve your every need whether you're booking your stag or hen, are coming to Galway to sty for a weekend break or are planning a romantic getaway. We pride ourselves on going the extra mile for you as we provide Free Wifi to all guests and laundry facility on site as well as complimentary breakfast when you book direct through our site. We can accommodate all group sizes, from business travelers, solo travelers, families to large tour groups. Just a stones throw to the famous and vibrant Eyre Square and you'll be spoiled with the quality of restaurants and activities that await you when you visit. And of course, when you arrive we'll do everything we can to ensure your stay with us is a positive one. Anything we can do to direct you or help you enjoy your stay in Galway, all you need do is ask! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your St. Jude's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Jude`s Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing