We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced”
Review of St. Jude's Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. Jude's Lodge
Ranked #7 of 189 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We stayed in room no. 4 for one night on 31.July..We were accomodated in triple room, even we booked double (double looks to be more spacey on the pictures)..Our bed was uncomfortable and pillows too thick (which can cause neck problems)..There was 4 lamps in the room (1 main and 3 small ones next to bed), but only the mail one was working as the others 3 had a broken bulbs! Toilet seat in our room was broken as well.There is a few centimeters gap between the main door and the floor, so everitime the light in the hall in on, it is getting to the room.This B&B needs some maintanance..Breakfast was not bad.The best thing about this B&B is the location, just 10 minutes walking to the centre..

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Plaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (746)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

630 - 636 of 746 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2011

Stayed at the b&b for 2 nights, great staff and we were not overcharged although it was raceweek. Great breakfast free internet access and free parking . I would book in here again without a boubt. The rooms were spotless and a good size.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MollyD80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Stayed at St. Judes twice in June'11. Great rooms, free parking, lovely breakfast and great staff.. Will be back again soon!! Recommended

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

Good for a short stay,walking distance to the city centre.Clean rooms with good shower.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTWS9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

Stayed for a weekend in twin room, rooms were fine and breakfast was delicious. Free parking and a couple of minutes walk to Eyre square. The rooms can be noisy with other guests coming and going, and laminate flooring echoes footsteps. The cooking smells are overpowering in the rooms and corridors, as nice as the breakfast was we were choking on the smell in the room of the evening meal when we arrived then the cooking breakfasts the two mornings we were there, maybe a better extractor fan in the kitchen would sort it out. The staff were all lovely though, and the place was clean and tidy.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kittywiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

While this place is more the size of a Guesthouse than a B&B it is still very nice. You won't find the personality of a smaller place and questions are harder to get answered but the location and closeness to town is worth the stay. We stayed in two family rooms (1D &2S) on the bottom floor...there were eight of us. Bathrooms are big, beds are comfy and everything was spotless. Ample parking in both the front and back. It was the only place we stayed during two weeks that had cable television...not normally an issue but the Icelandic volcano was erupting at this point in our trip and it was nice to have Sky News out of Britain for updates on flight cancellations.

It's a good place...but after the charming B&Bs we'd stayed at up until this point it just kind of felt like a hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ach27205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

st judes lodge is a very nice guest house, its approx 5 mins walk from bus station, train station and eyre square, galway. rooms were clean, very spacious. ideal for hen's and stag's but not for couples or older people. walls are thin and sound does carry, so drunk guests coming in at 4am will wake you. likewise if you wish to have a nice lie in the morning other guests will wake you talking and chatting. its location was excellent and it will save expense of taxi, and with two singles and one double bed in room it is ideal for groups on a night out in galway.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daveyath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#6 of 46 in Galway
2,082 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,880 reviews
1.1 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Asgard Guesthouse
Asgard Guesthouse
#10 of 189 in Galway
474 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Nest Boutique Hostel
The Nest Boutique Hostel
#17 of 189 in Galway
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Jude's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Jude's Lodge

Address: Saint Judes Lodge 24 College Road, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range: $88 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Jude's Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a B&B in Galway city that's centrally located, but far enough away from the hustle of our vibrant city (we're just a 2 minute walk into the city centre) then St. Jude's Lodge and guesthouse is for you. Our fine guesthouse was purpose built to serve your every need whether you're booking your stag or hen, are coming to Galway to sty for a weekend break or are planning a romantic getaway. We pride ourselves on going the extra mile for you as we provide Free Wifi to all guests and laundry facility on site as well as complimentary breakfast when you book direct through our site. We can accommodate all group sizes, from business travelers, solo travelers, families to large tour groups. Just a stones throw to the famous and vibrant Eyre Square and you'll be spoiled with the quality of restaurants and activities that await you when you visit. And of course, when you arrive we'll do everything we can to ensure your stay with us is a positive one. Anything we can do to direct you or help you enjoy your stay in Galway, all you need do is ask! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your St. Jude's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Jude`s Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing