We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all round”
Review of Ash Grove House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ash Grove House
Ranked #26 of 188 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed in Ashgrove whilst in NUI Galway at a conference
The room was second to none and Angela and co made us very welcome
Breakfast was great and they let me leave my car parked whilst I went to NUIG
Will definitely stay again and recommend to everyone

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashgrovegalway, Owner at Ash Grove House, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Hi Andrew,Thanks a million for your great review.It was our pleasure to look after you.Hopefully you will return to Ashgrove House on your next visit to UCG.
Many thanks
Angela
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
There are newer reviews for Ash Grove House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 199 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed in Ash Grove House for one night during the summer. Angela and the staff were very welcoming and friendly. I realised I had a problem with my car when I arrived at the B and B, and Pat contacted a mechanic straight away, who got the problem fixed first thing in the morning. Room was warm, clean and quiet. Had a lovely (and generous:-)) breakfast in the morning that kept us going for the day. Highly recommendable B and B, only a ten minute walk in to the city centre! Would also be great if you were visiting somebody in the University Hospital (Regional hospital) as it is only a two minute walk. Lovely stay... we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cIreland2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashgrovegalway, Owner at Ash Grove House, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2012

Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a genorous review for us ..hope you get a lot more milage out of that car and come back and stay at Ashgrove House again.
Many thanks
Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

My husband and myself have stayed twice and will certainly be back. Lovely comfortable beds immaculate accommodation and warm welcome from everyone there. It was like visiting friends. The breakfast was delicious and generous. Lovely location close to the cathedral and city centre within walking distance. Can't wait to go back

Room Tip: It was great to have a downstairs room as my husband has difficulty climbing stairs
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ellen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashgrovegalway, Owner at Ash Grove House, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time out of your busy schedule to give us this very kind review. We look forward to your next stay at Ashgrove House.
Many thanks Angela
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

At the recent International Quilt Festival in Galway we were blessed to stay at Ash Grove House. Our hostess was one of those whose attention to detail was evident from the beginning of our stay. Her meeting and greeting skills made us feel so at home right from the off. We had a long journey from north and she patiently allowed us to sort out our needs before giving us the much appreciated information re the area and the guest house. Breakfast was served efficiently and very personally (each guest was called by their name) This was brought to our table on hot plates with good healthy choices of home cooked food. The convenience of the surrounding area was great. Just a 10 minute walk into the centre of Galway and just round the corner from the University. The local River Inn pub was supberb for supper and all just 5 minutes away. Our highest praise must be that - hopefully next year she will keep us a room for the 2nd GIQF

Room Tip: We liked being upstairs as we were not in line of anyone coming out or in re front door. All the r...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashgrovegalway, Owner at Ash Grove House, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

It was our pleasure to take care of two such wonderful and talented ladies,and hopefully Nui will host the Quilt Fest., in 2013.
Many thanks
Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Have just returned home after spending 3 nights at Ash Grove House. I would heartily recomment the accommodation for easy walking access to Galway town centre and local sights. I and my friend were there for the 1st. International Quilt Festival hosted at the University.Our hostess was very welcoming and the bedrooms very comfortable. There was a breakfast menu with juice, choice of cereals and choice of main course. Definitely value for money.

Room Tip: House in a very quiet cul de sac
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank June R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashgrovegalway, Owner at Ash Grove House, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2012

Thank you so much for your comments,it was our pleasure to take care of you.Looking forward to your return next year.
Kind regards Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

I stayed there for one week and I really enjoyed it. The rooms are really comfortable, the breakfasts are wonderful and the hosts are really kind and welcoming.
Moreover, the house is ideally located: 3min from the university and 10min from the center.
I highly recommend it to whoever wants to stay for a couple of days in the heart of Galway.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RomainB186609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

I stayed at Ash Grove House with my parents for two nights in early April 2012. The B&B is about a 10 minute walk from the main area of Galway that has all the shops, pubs, etc. The rooms were cozy and clean and there is a hearty full Irish breakfast included. We enjoyed staying here. The only slight problem was that there was not enough off street parking for all the guests that were there so we had to do a little bit of car shuffling, but it worked out. Would recommend, especially if you have a smaller budget.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashgrovegalway, Owner at Ash Grove House, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2012

Thank you so much for your nice comments,we always appreciate feedback from our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.3 mi away
Corrib House Guest Accommodation
0.4 mi away
Savoy Hostel
Savoy Hostel
#5 of 59 in Galway
208 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adare Guesthouse
Adare Guesthouse
#37 of 188 in Galway
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#7 of 188 in Galway
715 reviews
0.2 mi away
Desota House Bed and Breakfast
1.0 mi away
The Nest Boutique Hostel
The Nest Boutique Hostel
#16 of 188 in Galway
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ash Grove House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ash Grove House

Address: Ash Grove House 6 Ashgrove Road | Newcastle Road, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 188 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range: $116 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ash Grove House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing