We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st Class”
Review of Ash Grove House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ash Grove House
Ranked #23 of 185 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“1st Class”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Have just returned home after spending 3 nights at Ash Grove House. I would heartily recomment the accommodation for easy walking access to Galway town centre and local sights. I and my friend were there for the 1st. International Quilt Festival hosted at the University.Our hostess was very welcoming and the bedrooms very comfortable. There was a breakfast menu with juice, choice of cereals and choice of main course. Definitely value for money.

Room Tip: House in a very quiet cul de sac
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank June R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashgrovegalway, Owner at Ash Grove House, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments,it was our pleasure to take care of you.Looking forward to your return next year.
Kind regards Angela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    54
    23
    3
    2
See reviews for
40
78
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 11, 2012

I stayed there for one week and I really enjoyed it. The rooms are really comfortable, the breakfasts are wonderful and the hosts are really kind and welcoming.
Moreover, the house is ideally located: 3min from the university and 10min from the center.
I highly recommend it to whoever wants to stay for a couple of days in the heart of Galway.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RomainB186609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

I stayed at Ash Grove House with my parents for two nights in early April 2012. The B&B is about a 10 minute walk from the main area of Galway that has all the shops, pubs, etc. The rooms were cozy and clean and there is a hearty full Irish breakfast included. We enjoyed staying here. The only slight problem was that there was not enough off street parking for all the guests that were there so we had to do a little bit of car shuffling, but it worked out. Would recommend, especially if you have a smaller budget.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashgrovegalway, Owner at Ash Grove House, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Thank you so much for your nice comments,we always appreciate feedback from our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Been meaning to write this for a while now, had a great stay at Ash Grove Guest House, lovely comfy room with a comfortable bed & a great breakfast.
Our host Angela was highly attentive from start to finish and really made our stay an enjoyable one.
Had Breakfast on both mornings and would highly recommend it, just a short stroll from all the shops and pubs, will definitely return here.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doctor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashgrovegalway, Owner at Ash Grove House, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Thank you so much for your great comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Ideal location to city & UCHG. Very friendly welcome. Accommodation very comfortable.
Breakfast excellent and presented beautifully and piping hot! Would visit again

Room Tip: Excellent location for anyone who has early appointment for Galway University Hospital and just a st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fortaleza59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We have been staying at Ash Grove over the last 10 years whilst visiting our sister in hospital and we are always assured a lovely welcome, a comfy bed and the breakfast sets you up for the whole day! Angela and Lyintie always welcome us with a smile and a chat. This guest house is situated opposite Galway University Hospital and is also within a short walk/bus route into the City Centre. The rooms are cosy and have everything you need and are decorated to a high standard. What we like the best is that they remember your name and even what your preferences are. A very personalised touch. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wendy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

we arrived on friday until sunday, Welcome was lovely, rooms spacious and warm, bed so Comfy!! didnt want to get up ha...breakfast was lovely, especially the pancakes!! lovely people & will be back!! great for city centre with in walking distance

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1385jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
The Sliding Rock
The Sliding Rock
#51 of 185 in Galway
39 reviews
0.9 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#7 of 185 in Galway
606 reviews
0.2 mi away
Desota House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Balcony House Bed & Breakfast
0.9 mi away
The Nest Boutique Hostel
The Nest Boutique Hostel
#17 of 185 in Galway
70 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Stop B&B
The Stop B&B
#5 of 185 in Galway
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ash Grove House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ash Grove House

Property: Ash Grove House
Address: Ash Grove House 6 Ashgrove Road | Newcastle Road, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 185 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ash Grove House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing