We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no irish welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
College Crest Guest House
Ranked #36 of 189 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2011

guest house was just ok bit dated clean though.no irish welcome greeted by polish girl no hello or even welcome bedroom standard ,mould in bathroom heating on once a day very cold it was february !! ah we did get a goodbye when leaving no atsmophere at all ...

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janeneMillisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 198 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2011

Stayed here in August, and loved it. Have recommended it to lots of people since. The rooms were spotless, the beds were really comfy. It is perfectly located only a few minutes walk from Eyre Square, but quiet enough to ensure low levels of noise at night. The owner was lovely - really accommodating. Breakfast had something for everyone. Very reasonable price-wise considering the location.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VintageLover1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2010

The location is great if u want to enjoy in the centre and then go back to sleep walking, it's just 5-10 minutes. Ample parking in front of house. We got room 14 which is lovely with king size bed and tv. Slightly small toilet but clean and with good pressure in the shower. One great point is blinds on bedroom that allows total darkness for a good sleep. Breakfast is ok, for personal taste I would grill the bakon to have it crispy and eggs should be slightly less cooked. Overall is great, highly suggested. We paid 55€ in two for one night, which is good

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivan-Deb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2010

We had selected College Crest Guest House based both on good reviews and on its location - in comfortable walking distance from Galway Centre. Our car could stay at the Guest House and we explored Galway on foot.

Our room was large and quiet. Equipped with beds for four, the only drawback was no real space to sit down in the room. On the other hand, the lounge was comfortable and we spent one rainy afternoon there, nicely supplied with tea and cookies, reading, surfing the network and playing a game.

Helen, the owner, made special efforts to accommodate some dietary special wishes and was also very helpful in any other way. Should we come back to Galway in the coming years we would surely consider the Guest House again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EpicurPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

My wife stayed here recently for one evening on our honeymoon while we toured across Ireland. It was our first exerience at a B&B. We chose College Crest based on its location to Quay St and reasonable price. In general, its not a bad place. Its clean and the location is 5 minutes from all the things you'd wanna do. We were on the first floor, which was really noisy. We could basically hear everyone as they came in from being at the pubs. The place was a little dated as well, but if you're looking for a erasable price for a good location, its worth a stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbanec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2010

We've stayed to days in Galway, to visit Connemara and the Cliffs of Moher. We've enjoyed a lot our stay in the City. College Crest was a very calm and quiet B&B. We've stayed in the Family Room with our little children and everything was very clean. The breakfast was excellent, we could have a Full Irish (eggs, bacon, sausages, tomato, black and white pudding, beans) and toast, cereals, fresh fruit, yogourth, and they had prepared milk with chocolate for the children. The dining room is a charming place with a lot of sun light. Very comfortable. The owner is a very kind person: we've left our baggage in reception the last day, till afternoon, in order to enjoy that last day in the city, without luggage. I do recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SilviaSeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

We stayed with Helen for a few nights in July and found everything that you could expect in a guest house. She and her staff were very friendly and helpful.
The location of College Crest is great - literally just 5 minutes walk down hill to Eyre Square - the heart of Galway. On the way you pass the tourist information office - (well worth a visit in it's own right for information and ideas)
The rooms were a reasonable size and well maintained, however, minor things I would mention were the complete lack of a shelf in the bathroom (which meant that our toiletries had to be kept on the dresser next to the TV - not the end of the world granted, but not convenient either) and also no soap / shower gel available. Just small stuff, but easy to fix...
Anyway, breakfast was very good both in quality and size and another plus was ample parking and easy acess from the main roads around Galway.
If you need a base for a few days to explore Galway and Connemara I would recommend it here.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ss1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.0 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#7 of 189 in Galway
727 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons B&B
Four Seasons B&B
#51 of 189 in Galway
230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Asgard Guesthouse
Asgard Guesthouse
#10 of 189 in Galway
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Copper Beech Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Lynfield B&B
Lynfield B&B
#94 of 189 in Galway
236 reviews
0.5 mi away
Corrib House Guest Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to College Crest Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about College Crest Guest House

Address: College Crest 5 College Road, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range: $71 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — College Crest Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your College Crest Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
College Crest Guest House Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing