We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best way to start the day!”

Galway on Foot - Walking Tours of Galway City
Ranked #16 of 56 Tours in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Want to hear the story and stories of Galway? Come with us and we'll bring you where the tour buses can't - for a leisurely and entertaining stroll through the heart, history and vibrant culture of Ireland's fantastic western capital. Let us share our knowledge, stories and love of this very special city with you. Interesting, informative and very definitely good craic, trust Galway on Foot to set you on the right track in the City of the Tribes.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best way to start the day!”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Sean is FANTASTIC! At his suggestion, we met him the day after we arrived and spent a wonderful, entertaining, engaging, 1.5 hours with him as we walked the city. Sean's knowledge of Galway's history- political, geographical, and religious was amazing! Even our 18 & 20 year old daughters found the tour interesting. Sean does indeed have a great sense of humor, and can provide spot on recommendations for where to grab a drink, a bite to eat, or see some entertainment. I could have spent a day with him!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank BodhisattvaHand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    6
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sean makes the history of Galway fun!”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Sean's tour of Galway was fun and entertaining. He has a great knack for telling stories and giving good insight into the history of the city. If you have family history in the area make sure you let him know. He will personalize the tour for you.
You can tell Sean loves what he does and wants you to fully enjoy your trip, even after the tour. Make sure you go on the tour early on in your stay in Galway, as Sean's advice for great pubs and restaurants is spot on. He saved us a lot of time and money otherwise spent in tourist traps.
I fell in love with Galway on our trip and Sean was a huge part of that. Pints are on us the next time I see him!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Way to Start Your Visit to Galway!”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

So knowledgeable, and fun to boot! Sean tells a great version of the story of Galway. If you have any family ties to the area he'll even tailor the tour a bit to highlight your family's contribution to the area. I walked away feeling like I'd learned a few things about Galway, appreciating the city even more than I would have otherwise, and all done in a fun, friendly manner - not in a boring, scripted fashion. I HIGHLY recommend booking time with Sean upon your arrival to Galway. You'll walk away with some knowledge, some good stories to tell, and a smile on your face - wishing you could just hang out and drink with Sean all day.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We had so much fun with Sean!”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Not only was Sean thorough and knew all of the history of Galway, he geared our tour to follow the story of the Burke family (one of us is a descendant). Sean spent nearly two hours with us and was a joy to be around and made our trip to Galway wonderful! I would recommend this tour to anyone in the world travelling to Galway! And, Sean, next time we are in town we're buying you a pint!

Cheers,
Jen Larson (and the gang from New Orleans)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank U2Jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenside, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Boring”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Im not exactly a history buff, but I was extremely bored through the entire tour. Might have something to do with the fact that we had just gotten off a red-eye and went right into the tour.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank bvozzo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galway on Foot - Walking Tours of Galway City also viewed

 

Been to Galway on Foot - Walking Tours of Galway City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing