We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abbeylee Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abbeylee Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #28 of 197 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC area
Level Contributor
80 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

We stayed for two nights at the Abbeylee in May and were very pleased with all aspects of this Bed and Breakfast. The house is beautifully and tastefully decorated, the rooms are a nice size, the lounge area very comfortable and the location is good. We could walk to Salthill or take a short drive into Galway. The hosts made excellent recommendations for restaurants and touring and provided wonderful breakfasts. They even offered to do our laundry for a small fee, which helped us considerably. We would definitely recommend staying here on your trip to Galway.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mustlovetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    18
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
34
81
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

My wife & I stayed at the Abbeylee for three nights during our stay in Ireland. We found the room to be neat, clean, and well kept. Breakfast was plesant, and there was always enough food for the belly! Overall a great place to stay, would recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CrackerGator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

The 4 of us from Canada enjoyed the very clean and spacious rooms at Abbeylee. The owners were very helpful in organizing a Horse Back ride near by. The place is a short walk to the beach/board walk and a short cab into Galway downtown. Breakfast even had a menu! Worth stopping in for at least one night to relax in and plan the rest of your trip in Ireland.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank orbital540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Pleasant SC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

We had a great 3 days here. It is a great location, if you like to walk and we do. It is about 25 min into town and 15 min to the beach area. Michael and Marie were very helpful with information. There is a bus stop near their location. The trip to the Aran Islands was amazing.

Room Tip: Stay several nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mamabrown49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southfield, MI
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2011

I loved this place! Mike and Mary were so hopspitable and laid back. They made me feel very welcome. If you go, and you should... You must try the French Toast, it's out of sight! They make their bread too!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pacificglow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

My friend and I had the pleasure of staying at the Abbeylee while on vacation in Ireland. Wonderful place and wonderful hosts. Breakfast was excellent. The B&B was centrally located and Galway was easy to navigate through. I would definately recommend the Abbeylee!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay_Kagol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Valley, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2011

I am so glad we found this B&B in Galway. We loved everything about it. The location was superb. It was a quick 5 minute drive into Galway and you could walk to Salthill. I had a wonderful run on the promendade which is less than 1/2 mile from the B&B. Very safe area as well.
Mike and Mary are genuine, hospitable, lovely people. They were extremely helpful and we thoroughly enjoyed talking with them. He's a retired cop and she a retired teacher. They had so much to offer. Their home is lovely. Our room was spacious and clean and had tea making facilities.
Breakfast was fantastic. My husband was extremely hungry and Mary made him a full Irish breakfast AND pancakes. It was no bother to her.
So look no further if you are in Galway. Stay at the Abbey Lee.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaneyahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.8 mi away
Inishmore House
Inishmore House
#25 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cappa Veagh Bed & Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Sunrise Lodge
Sunrise Lodge
#10 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Oranhill Lodge
Oranhill Lodge
#1 of 11 in Oranmore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
3.4 mi away
Almara House
Almara House
#11 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Stop B&B
The Stop B&B
#5 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbeylee Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbeylee Bed & Breakfast

Property: Abbeylee Bed & Breakfast
Address: Abbey Lee 3 Bishop o'Donnell Road No. 3 Cuan Glas | Bishop O Donnell Road, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbeylee Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbeylee is a family run,tastefully appointed,purpose built bed and breakfast. Situated in the suburbs of Galway City and close proximity to Salthill, Galway Bay's scenery and attractions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Abbeylee Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing