We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and comfy.”
Review of Abacus Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Abacus Guest House
Ranked #30 of 189 Galway B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Abacus was very clean and comfortable. The owner was very helpful with travel tips and advice. Breakfast was great. We would come back for sure. Galway is a great town, and a good base for many day trips in the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 212 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2012

Recently, we had a great 2 night stay at Abacus Guest House. This spacious home is located in a nice residental area about a 5 minute ride into the center of Galway. We had very comfortable accommodations in our ensuite room featuring a powerful shower with lots of hot water. It was a peaceful location and most importantly loved finding a warm rapport with Breege our hostess. She was full of knowledge about Galway and all of Ireland. Chatting with her was like catching up with an old friend! Her breakfasts were plentiful, filling and delicious, served in a pleasant dining room. She offered yogurts, cereals, juices, breads, scones and of course a full Irish breakfast. Only wished we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pvs28holly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Abacus guest house looked after all my needs from informational 'how to' to flexible availability on rooms.While visiting the Bons hospital, I was able to come and go as I liked, avail of an early breakfast and late checkout as well as coffee/tea in room. I would highly recommend this place to anyone and wouldn't have any hesitation in staying there again on my next visit to Galway.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moldonegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Four of us stayed 3 days with "Breege" in her guest house, and found her welcoming, personable, ready with a laugh, and full of local lore and suggestions for our stay. Since we were unfamiliar with the area, it was just what we needed. It was also a challenge finding Abacus, but once there, we found the rooms large, comfortable, and quiet tho not "central Galway" if that is what you need. In fact, our day hiking on the nearby Burren was a highlight for us, and Abacus was very convenient for that drive. We stayed in 6 accommodations during our 2 week trip, and found that by far Breege was our favorite host.

Room Tip: Get exact, driving directions before you travel to the B/B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HappyTrails6970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We were her for 3 nights and we stay very well.
Nice and really large and comfortable room and bath,10 minutes with bus to town centre and Galway is a really nice town.
We recommend this B&B,thanks Louise and her Mom

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claudio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I had a great stay in the Abacus Guest House. First of all, Breege and her daughter Louise made me feel very welcome. They were helpful whenever I needed something and they always found some time for a chat. The room and the facilities are clean and generously, you find all you need.
The location suited me quite well, within a short walk you are in the centre or the bus station is very close.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chantal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

This is a beautiful B&B in a quiet spot on the doorstep of the town centre. I felt like I experienced true Irish hospitality - Breege and Louise were outstanding hosts.The room was beautiful and I loved coming down for breakfast every morning for an Irish breakfast and a friendly chat. I wish I could give more stars for my stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.6 mi away
Almara House
Almara House
#11 of 189 in Galway
299 reviews
0.8 mi away
Balcony House Bed & Breakfast
2.5 mi away
The Nest Boutique Hostel
The Nest Boutique Hostel
#17 of 189 in Galway
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Marian Lodge Guesthouse
Marian Lodge Guesthouse
#55 of 189 in Galway
147 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ardawn House
Ardawn House
#15 of 189 in Galway
500 reviews
1.0 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#7 of 189 in Galway
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abacus Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abacus Guest House

Address: Abacus 29 Dublin Road Glenina Heights | Dublin Road, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range: $121 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abacus Guest Accommodation is superbly located on the approach road from Dublin, Cork and Shannon. Traveling from the north or north west we are just off the main Sligo to Galway road (N17). Ideally situated for business or pleasure, we are five minutes from Galway city on a well serviced bus and taxi route. Abacus Guest House provides a warm welcome, as it is family operated. Abacus has a Guest Lounge with internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Abacus Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing