We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique Hotel, charming!”
Review of The House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The House Hotel
Ranked #9 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Boutique Hotel, charming!”
Reviewed March 16, 2010

We stayed here for one night in March. Arrived at the hotel unsure where reception was, little did we know we were at it! Reception is a cute little desk in the middle of the lounge area! Checked in straight away, and up to our room. We had read the rooms were on the small side, so we booked a larger one. It was very spacious, clean, plenty of closet space. We had a snack at the bar, sandwich and coffee, yum!! Then on to cocktails, which were also yum! Had a great sleep in the large comfy bed, up at 10:50am the following morning just in time for breakfast , which finishes at 11am at the weekend. Great breakfast menu, friendly staff, and quick service. The hotel in IN town so fabulous location too.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coliop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    611
    294
    114
    45
    17
See reviews for
115
496
37
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundalk, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2010

I go to Galway for a weekend atleast once a year. Everytime I've gone in the past few years I would always stay in this hotel. However the last time I stayed with friends we had 3 rooms booked. The sink in one of the rooms was cracked. On the second day of our stay the room was cleaned as normal. When we checked out of the hotel there was no problems. However a few days later the manager called to say that the sink was broken by us. He stated that the room was not checked and cleaned by the maids during our stay so the crack was not seen by them. This was false. After avoiding many calls and messages left by us (and even on one occasion pawning the phonecall onto a cleaner who did not understand a word of what we were saying and then she hung up the phone!!) , there was a sum of €300 taken from my credit card without notifing me. I think this treartment of a regular customer is absolutely disgraceful and as a business owner myself can not think of a more dishonest and appauling way to conduct an accomodation service. I previously thought this hotel a nice one to stay in however I will never recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank blackcat2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2010

This is my second stay at the House Hotel. This time was a two night stay mid-week. It was very good value at only €99 per night and included one evening meal. The location is perfect, right in the city centre, so no need for taxi's. Some might find the room on the small side but this wasn't a problem for us. There is an option to upgrade to larger rooms for a few extra euro. The room was clean and nicely decorated.

Give its location in the city centre, you'd expect it to be noisy, particulary at night. I have to say we did not heat a sound, thankfully.

The only thing I don;t like about the rooms are the doors to the bathrooms. They are glass, and do not shut fully like normal doors.

There is no car parking at this hotel. The carpark is located down the street from the hotel. You must leave your car there for a minimun of 8 hours to avail of hotel discount price. So if you need to come and go a few times during the day it really will cost you!!!!!

The one thing which we really noticed about this hotel was that staff. While all friendly and helpful, we did not encounter a single member of staff who was Irish!!!!!!

All in all I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank omdoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2010

Our first room was tiny and on requesting an upgrade, i expected a bit more than just a bath and an extra 2 foot of floor space.
Really good offers in the Restaurant and while the food was nice, we didnt recieve our drink until main course as they didnt have enough glasses!
Room service arrived 1 hour earlier than ordered.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tyko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mettawa,il.
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2010

Just had a great stay. A bit more expensive than other hotels in the area but well worth it. Great staff, good breakfasts, nice rooms, and a perfect location close to but not right on Quay and Shop Streets. Only downside is parking 2 blocks away. Not much of a problem though.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ralcrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2010

The location is excellent. The hotel was fine a bit expensive, the room was not much above average.
I was hit for €100 a couple of days later on my debit card (which wasn't pre authorised)
A good breakfast though.
G

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank urbancad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2010

Superb value and great location. Terrific service especially in the restaurant (special mention for waitress (should be management!) Abby who is a major asset to your restaurant). Friendly and helpful checkin with complimentary coffee and even hot chocolate for our two kids who were not even guests as they were awaiting "offloading for the night to a local relative.. The original room that we had booked was lovely for a solo business traveller, but slightly small for a weekend away. The very helpful receptionist processed a room upgrade and arranged movement of baggage etc while we we were down town. Lots of immaginative and superb value " modular packages" such as €10 euro room upgrades and the €20 Dinner - Cocktail offer. Food was of a very high quality with excellent presentation and service. The hot breakfast was amongst the best I have ever had in an Irish hotel. One small downer was that our checkout was efficient but sort of unfriendly.... Took the shine off of a super weekend slightly :>) - Hence the 4 rather than 5 out of 5.

I thought that the booking chargesthrough "Book Assist" were excessive and at one stage this factor nearly led to me abandoning the booking.

Over all Terrific value and a great location for a short break in Galway City. I highly reccomend it.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Powerboat_ie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 45 in Galway
1,891 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
2,751 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
1.6 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
3,063 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#14 of 45 in Galway
1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House Hotel

Property: The House Hotel
Address: Spanish Parade, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Galway
#10 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#18 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the House Hotel, a luxurious boutique hotel located in the heart of Galway City. The House Hotel represents the ideal "Home away from home" with its cosy atmosphere, chic style, excellent facilities and personalised service. Features of the guestrooms include flat screen TV's with internet access, safe and crisp white linen that will guarantee you a comfortable night sleep. The Parlour Bar & Grill specialises in modern and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The House Hotel Galway
Galway The House Hotel
House Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing