We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hen hotel”
Review of The House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The House Hotel
Ranked #9 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Hen hotel”
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

I went to The House for a hen and the service, rooms and cleanliness were all very good. The breakfast was excellent, one of the best hotel breakfasts I had. On the Saturday night the hotel was packed with hens which obviously suited us but I can imagine it may have been annoying for anyone else staying there. Great location too.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Cathmce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galwayguests, General Manager at The House Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear valued customer,

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor.

I'm thrilled to hear you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed every aspect of the hotel from location, service and cleanliness to the breakfast served in the mornings.

I am very glad to hear you enjoyed the your night as we are a very popular choice for Hen Parties on Friday and Saturday nights with the party atmosphere being electric in our Cocktail Bar when the DJ starts off after 10pm.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kindest regards,

Margaret Jenkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    611
    293
    114
    45
    17
See reviews for
115
495
37
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed at The House Hotel for 3 nights towards the end of a month long trip through Ireland, and are so glad that we did. The staff were so caring and made us feel incredibly welcome. Nothing was too much bother - from booking a hairdresser appointment, to making terrific restaurant bookings, to general advice...We have never experienced front office staff so helpful...and we are seasoned travellers.

This is a family owned Hotel, and clearly the staff are all happy to work here.

The decor is simply scrumptious and very luxurious. Our rooms were terrific, the Rain head shower was divine and the beds very comfortable.

Special mentions MUST go to: Matt, Laura, Stephanie and Margaret who made us feel so special.

Thank you for all the wonderful memories of our stay in Galway.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenHoward123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galwayguests, General Manager at The House Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear seasoned traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments via tripadvisor.

I am delighted to hear you had such a fantastic stay and you enjoyed every aspect of the hotel.

We pride ourselves on exceptional customer service and I will pass your kind words onto the staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back in near future.

Kindest regards,

Margaret Jenkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had a ball on my sisters hen at the House Hotel. The staff were so friendly and accommodating. The location is just brilliant. Great buzz around the hotel and the breakfast was delicious!! I just can't recommend this Hotel enough. I will be back!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marese51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galwayguests, General Manager at The House Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing our Hotel on TripAdvisor. it was a pleasure to read how you enjoyed your recent Hen Party at our Hotel. We take great pride in our Hen Party packages and i'm thrilled to hear we were accommodating to your needs.

I will personally pass your complimentary feedback to the chef's regarding your breakfast and we hope to have you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Margaret Jenkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ratoath, Meath, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I stayed in the House Hotel last weekend as there was a group of us celebrating my friends 30th Birthday. I had cocktails in the bar on a few occasions but never stayed in the hotel. Upon arrival, I was really impressed with the reception area- so modern and girly. Staff were very welcoming. We had lunch in the bar- this was really lovely and also very relaxing. Evening meal was included in our package- I couldn't fault the meal, however the cocktails were very poor :(. Hotel rooms were very basic, to be honest I expected more from them. Overall it was a very pleasant stay and I will be back

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorraine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galwayguests, General Manager at The House Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would first like to wish you Happy 30th from all the team here at The House Hotel and I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

It is such a pleasure to hear guests speak with such regard to our welcoming staff as I find this makes our Hotel the popular establishment it is and i'm thrilled you mentioned this. I will be certain to pass your kind comments onto my staff.

I was also very pleased to read you enjoyed your two meals with us between your relaxing lunch and your evening meal.

I am disappointed to hear you didn't enjoy your cocktails with us and would definitely appreciate more feedback regarding this matter as we pride ourselves in our cocktail making skills along with our extremely popular cocktail making classes.

Thank you for your constructive comment regarding the room. All our rooms are decorated in a fresh modern style with all the amenities required for your stay. We have kept the decor in mind with the idea that not everyone has the same taste. All opinions however are greatly appreciated and noted for future renovations.

We very much look forward to your next trip to The House Hotel.

Kindest regards,

Margaret Jenkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed here for work for 2 nights. Staff are excellent, very friendly, professional, courteous. Had breakfast 2 mornings and dinner 2 evenings and food quality is excellent. Room is also perfectly kept. Spotlessly clean, very comfortable with a fridge and safe also. My favourite aspect of the room has to be the shower. I'm incredibly fussy where showers are concerned. Most hotels and B&Bs I have stayed in, the shower head is fixed on the wall shooting out against you. This one is also fixed but the shower head is directly overhead giving a more powerful comfortable shower.

This is definitely one hotel I would come back to stay in again without hesitation. I would also heartily recommend this hotel to any of friends

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galwayguests, General Manager at The House Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us here at The House Hotel and taking the time to review us via Tripadvisor.

It is such a delight to read your comments regarding our staff members, what a wonderful accolade. Our guests are very special to us and we want them to have a warm, welcoming and wonderful stay.

I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your two meals with us and your comments are very much appreciated regarding the rooms comfort and amenities.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance at any time.

Warmest regards,

Margaret Jenkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle River, Alaska, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed at the House Hotel in September and were delighted. It could not be better located, right in the center of Galway and just steps away from the harbor as well as a lively restaurant and retail district. Also not far from the Salthill Prom if you are interested in getting a little excercise. The staff was very accomodating, friendly, and helpful. The common areas (lobby, dining room and bar) are very chic and playfully decorated. The rooms are a bit small, but very clean and comfortable. Breakfast in the dining room was very good. The car park was a couple of blocks away, but we left our luggage in the lobby and drove the car right up to the door to pick it up, so the walk to the car park was not a hardship. Overall, we had a very good experience and will remember the House Hotel next time we are in Galway.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed at the House Hotel for 3 nights in July 2013 on our first trip to Ireland. This was my favorite stop in Ireland - Galway and the House Hotel! Clean and comfortable rooms with A/C (there was a bit of a heat wave when we were there and not many hotels have A/C) Entire Staff was awesome - very friendly and helpful! Delicious breakfast and great bartenders! Great location -Short walk to restaurant, pubs and shopping. Excellent value for the price - I will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Galway!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HollyM318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 45 in Galway
1,886 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
2,749 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
1.6 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
3,054 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#14 of 45 in Galway
1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House Hotel

Property: The House Hotel
Address: Spanish Parade, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Galway
#10 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#18 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the House Hotel, a luxurious boutique hotel located in the heart of Galway City. The House Hotel represents the ideal "Home away from home" with its cosy atmosphere, chic style, excellent facilities and personalised service. Features of the guestrooms include flat screen TV's with internet access, safe and crisp white linen that will guarantee you a comfortable night sleep. The Parlour Bar & Grill specialises in modern and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The House Hotel Galway
Galway The House Hotel
House Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing