We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow!”
Review of The House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The House Hotel
Ranked #9 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
dublin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wow!”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

such a breath of freh air writing this reviev...we arrived midweek and although the hotel looked busy as we walked in we were met with a sea of smiles in the lobby..the receptionist made our checkin so easy and even got our bags to our room before we made the short journey up to the 1st floor. we had not stayed in galway for 10 years. we were recommended to eat at their restaurant which for our 1st night was ideal as we were so tired.The menu was very neat lots of dishes that I wanted to try but again I was recommended to have the confit Duck starter followed by the salmon which was fantastic. The srvice and attentiveness of the staff was second to none. I have to say that our entire experience at this "little gem" was one of the best experiences i have had in a Hotel in Ireland

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    611
    294
    114
    45
    17
See reviews for
115
496
37
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I dont normally write reviews but as im a regular hotell visitor ive "seen them all" but this hotel stood out among the rest i've been to this yr alone esp the restaurant. The food was AMAZING something onn the menu to suit evryones pallet. The staff were so accommodating and helpful and their knowledge of their job was something that not many hotels can b proud of. To sum it up, I HIGHLY recommend this hotel especially the restaurant to anyonee planning a stay in galway or in ireland asas a matter of fact. 5*

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helena1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I would like to recommended that place, service and food had been improved, I was there few months ago and I can see huge difference now. I felt really good in the restaurant, food was amazing, high standard of the service. Manager was always going around tablets and paying enough attention to guests i think his name was Mark. My mom was very impressed about style she said that, she loves that place. We will come back there for sure! I would like to say thank you to all staff!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Didi8726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Location is perfect - close to quay street and nearby to Spanish Arch. If you do want to leave the Hotel to explore the city everything is close by. We decided on staying put and enjoyed too many cocktails(lots to choose from). Had a lovely meal and all the staff we really accommodating and friendly. Rooms were very comfortable and we had one overlooking the harbour.
Overall great experience, would highly recommend it. Hard to find a stylish city hotel like it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I stayed here as party of group for a weekend away hen party and it was EXCELLENT! We had a cocktail class & dinner included in our package. The cocktail class was great fun and the dinner was delicious. Our twin room was small but had everything we needed and was tastefully decorated.

The downside is they have no hotel parking, and you have to park down the road in a multistory carpark and haul your luggage up.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cunga22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAroon Heaven
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I seldom write reviews - in fact I lied I just don't write them I get my secretary to write them for me. But in this Instant I feel I have to express my upmost pleasure in staying in this Magnificant Hotel, I would even go as far as saying this place is the best hotel in Ireland.

I loved the location of this hotel, close to everything but hidden away so no one can find you. The decor is boutique and reminded me of the Ritz in Paris.

The management of this hotel go to extra lengths when dealing with their customers. My youngest Child Emer awoke at 4am and wanted a Fish Finger Sandwich. Not only was this no problem to the Kitchen, but was done inside 15mins with a cup for tea for the tired parents.

Galway is a lovely city, in fact I proposed to my most recent wife there. On our last stay we celebrated our 6th Anniversary which I researched and found out as the Sugar anniversary. I asked room service to provide a 1kg bag of Suicra to be placed under my wifes pillow to celebrate the anniversary. The look on her face when she woke up to find the sugar in the morning was brilliant and I'd like to thank the management for organsing that, strange as it must have seen at the time.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking Galway Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maroon_Heaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I can honestly say this hotel is one of the best ive stayed in! We stayed for 1 night as part of their hen party package.

The pink décor of the hotel is really trendy and suits a girl’s weekend. The staff were superb! As a party of 19 girls we were running late but the staff were really accommodating and we didn’t feel rushed at any point.
The rooms are comfortable & clean, although we could of done with some more towels and the swinging door without any lock is an interesting touch!

Location is ideal with only a short walk to Quay Street and all the main bars. For those not wanting to brave the Galway weather (rain), the restaurant is turned into a late bar with their own DJ so there is no need to leave the hotel.
Breakfast and dinner was really nice with plenty of choice.
Highlight of the trip was the wide selection of reasonably priced cocktails…the Hobo (mint, elderflower & Prosecco) is a must!!!
Ill definitely be back during my next trip to Galway.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eilis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 45 in Galway
1,891 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
2,750 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
1.6 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
3,064 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#14 of 45 in Galway
1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House Hotel

Property: The House Hotel
Address: Spanish Parade, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Galway
#10 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#18 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the House Hotel, a luxurious boutique hotel located in the heart of Galway City. The House Hotel represents the ideal "Home away from home" with its cosy atmosphere, chic style, excellent facilities and personalised service. Features of the guestrooms include flat screen TV's with internet access, safe and crisp white linen that will guarantee you a comfortable night sleep. The Parlour Bar & Grill specialises in modern and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The House Hotel Galway
Galway The House Hotel
House Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing