We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is there a Better Hotel in Ireland indeed Europe?”
Review of The House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The House Hotel
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I seldom write reviews - in fact I lied I just don't write them I get my secretary to write them for me. But in this Instant I feel I have to express my upmost pleasure in staying in this Magnificant Hotel, I would even go as far as saying this place is the best hotel in Ireland.

I loved the location of this hotel, close to everything but hidden away so no one can find you. The decor is boutique and reminded me of the Ritz in Paris.

The management of this hotel go to extra lengths when dealing with their customers. My youngest Child Emer awoke at 4am and wanted a Fish Finger Sandwich. Not only was this no problem to the Kitchen, but was done inside 15mins with a cup for tea for the tired parents.

Galway is a lovely city, in fact I proposed to my most recent wife there. On our last stay we celebrated our 6th Anniversary which I researched and found out as the Sugar anniversary. I asked room service to provide a 1kg bag of Suicra to be placed under my wifes pillow to celebrate the anniversary. The look on her face when she woke up to find the sugar in the morning was brilliant and I'd like to thank the management for organsing that, strange as it must have seen at the time.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking Galway Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maroon_Heaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

662 - 668 of 1,149 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2013

I can honestly say this hotel is one of the best ive stayed in! We stayed for 1 night as part of their hen party package.

The pink décor of the hotel is really trendy and suits a girl’s weekend. The staff were superb! As a party of 19 girls we were running late but the staff were really accommodating and we didn’t feel rushed at any point.
The rooms are comfortable & clean, although we could of done with some more towels and the swinging door without any lock is an interesting touch!

Location is ideal with only a short walk to Quay Street and all the main bars. For those not wanting to brave the Galway weather (rain), the restaurant is turned into a late bar with their own DJ so there is no need to leave the hotel.
Breakfast and dinner was really nice with plenty of choice.
Highlight of the trip was the wide selection of reasonably priced cocktails…the Hobo (mint, elderflower & Prosecco) is a must!!!
Ill definitely be back during my next trip to Galway.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eilis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I normally would never review a hotel but this one is sooo deserved!! I love the color pink and never thought I would find it at a very tastefully and modernity chic decorated lobby of a hotel in Ireland!!! Fun place! Just know if you come on a weekend it will be crowded! Book early! 40 rooms and each different. We were tired and spent more time in room than usual which was fabulous!!! Cozy bed, sheets & pillows. Hot rain shower! Good breakfast and warm friendly staff. Best hotel I've ever stayed in and I travel a lot!! Would come back to Galway just to stay here!!! Absolutely lovely!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The House Hotel was the first stop on a week-long sisters' trip through southwest Ireland. Wow! Great location, just steps away from Quay street. The lobby is pink! It was feminine yet bold, contemporary yet warm. We were told this is a woman-owned property and it shows, not only in the decor but also in the lovely staff. They were all women, stylishly dressed in black with pops of fuschia. They were attentive,gracious, and accommodating and went over-and-above to make us feel special. The restaurant and bar is lovely, and the rooms were modern, comfortable, and clean. A winner!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eilspaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Staying on the first floor. It's 1.35am and the music from the bar is just pumping though the floor. All I want to do is sleep... It's a massive negative in light of all the positives this hotel has to offer. Pity.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Altecka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galwayguests, General Manager at The House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel via Tripadvisor.

Firstly, I would like to apologise unreservedly for your experience and to point out this is an extremely isolated incident and since the time of your review we have investigated the situation thoroughly.

Upon investigation we found the DJ had set the bass up too high with the speakers that evening in question therefore penetrating sound coming through to the first floor and in your room.

At this time, I would like to state, had any staff member known of your distress at the time, there would have made every effort made to alleviate the issue promptly.

Should you wish to discuss this matter further, I would be more than happy to talk with you at your convenience.

We do hope you will stay with us in the near future and please be assured your experience was a highly irregular occurance and we will endeavour to make your future stay a comfortable one.

Kindest regards,

Margaret Jenkins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I stayed here with myhusband for a couple of nights.We were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary which I had mentioned when booking.From the minute we entered the hotel we were made to feel special with the receptionist wishing us happy anniversary and informing us of a free upgrade.The room was lovely with a small balcony and all we needed.At dinner that night ,which was excellent, we were given free cocktails to celebrate our anniversary.We also had lunch and breakfast in the restaurant and every member of staff were so nice and friendly and food first class.I would highly recommend this hotel and commend each member of staff for their friendliness and professionalism.Thank you for making our stay so memorable.

Room Tip: A room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bernadette14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The House Hotel has a great location just at the edge of Spanish Parade - close enough to get there in a few minutes, but without the noise of being right in the area. The lobby is a bold mix of pinks, purples and oranges, with lots of throw pillows, definitely suited to a more feminine taste. It's beginning to show some fraying around the edges and carpets/upholstery could use some cleaning. Our room (at the front of the hotel) was spacious and while I found the bed a bit hard, my husband liked it. Same note as above on the upholstery/carpet. The room also had a lovely Juliet balcony and a peek-a-boo view of the water. A huge plus for the hotel is the staff - very welcoming and hospitable, from reception to the restaurant. Speaking of the restaurant, they serve a whopping Irish breakfast with a nice continental buffet, and decent coffee. The price was a bit high, though I attribute that to the time of year (just after the races).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingCAGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.4 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,912 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,143 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,454 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Galmont Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House Hotel

Address: Spanish Parade, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Galway
#10 Romantic Hotel in Galway
Price Range: $135 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the House Hotel, a luxurious boutique hotel located in the heart of Galway City. The House Hotel represents the ideal "Home away from home" with its cosy atmosphere, chic style, excellent facilities and personalised service. Features of the guestrooms include flat screen TV's with internet access, safe and crisp white linen that will guarantee you a comfortable night sleep. The Parlour Bar & Grill specialises in modern and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your The House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The House Hotel Galway
Galway The House Hotel
House Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing