We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional”
Review of The House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The House Hotel
Ranked #9 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
County Meath
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed here over the August bank holiday weekend with a hen party group. Cannot fault one single thing about this hotel or the staff. The lobby/bar/rooms were all spotless. The staff are incredible, especially Grainne. Nothing was a problem for any of the staff which was so refreshing due to the fact that it was race week and a bank holiday. We were booked in for cocktail lessons which got delayed but we were immediately approached by the bar staff and advised of this. We were given a free round of shots as an apology which went down a treat. We followed up the coctail lessons with dinner in the restaurant which was amazing! fantastic fresh food for dinner & breakfast. Air conditioned rooms were a plus! Overall had a perfect stay and will most certainly be returning. Location is excellent, didn't need any taxis for the whole weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cjay05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    611
    294
    114
    45
    17
See reviews for
115
496
37
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ennis, Clare, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Great place to stay. Staff very friendly. Quirky reception with bold bright colours and comfy sofas. Rooms nice and clean but lighting is a little too dull. Bathroom clean with a great shower. Excellent location for shopping and galways fantastic nightlife. Carpark very near and great value with discount from hotel. Would definitely stay again and reccomend to friends and family. Well done to staff for being so pleasant and friendly it really makes a difference

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballindine
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed here on a two night break with one meal included in July. From start to finish everything about our stay was just perfect. The staff are so friendly and helpful, the bedroom was spotless and comfy, the air conditioning was so welcome due to the heatwave. The meal was just fab and the cocktails went down a treat. We will be back for sure and would recommend it highly. Keep up the good work guys!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank imeldake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

I had dinner there this weekend with a group of friends. I could not rate it high enough. Food was excellent and the staff were superb. Bar staff were friendly and welcoming. They made great cocktails and they were entertaining and engaged with everyone. I had great fun there and would recommend the restaurant and bar highly.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mffrequenttraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This hotel is absolutely gorgeous and only a short walk from the train/bus station. The staff is extremely amiable. They're not the best at giving advice on where to go or what to see, however, so come with a game plan prepared. The one thing I would warn against is eating here for lunch or dinner (the bed and breakfast rate is well worth it - their breakfast is great!). While the lunch/dinner menu itself is average, the service is delayed and awkward around this time of day because there are a lot of people checking in. Plus, there are so many great places in the area to eat, and the hotel is near them all. The decor is also worth noting: very funky, in a good way.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TSolomon311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had a frustrating start with this hotel as it was difficult to find by GPS and no parking information was provided. The hotel has an arrangement with one of the parking lots but we didn't find this out until after we had checked in and the employee checking us in was not very welcoming.

Our room was pretty small and had no view but I loved the whimsical decor. I was never able to access WIFI from my room but I could access it in the lobby. Also loved was the rainfall shower even though there was no counter space in the bathroom. The hotel had a great modern vibe that I really liked and most of the staff seemed to make a genuine effort. The location was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachgoes_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Uniquely and exquisitely Alice in Wonderland style. The décor is colourful and welcoming and you feel you are stepping into the home of a friend. The room setup is modern, fresh and cosy with the lighting giving another perspective. We had a pre dinner drink at the bar which is located in the same area as the dining with the whole of the downstairs area flowing one into the other. With breakfast included we experienced a very satisfying and desirable home away from home.

Room Tip: we were able to shut off the outside world.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 45 in Galway
1,891 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
2,750 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
1.6 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
3,063 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#14 of 45 in Galway
1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House Hotel

Property: The House Hotel
Address: Spanish Parade, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Galway
#10 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#18 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the House Hotel, a luxurious boutique hotel located in the heart of Galway City. The House Hotel represents the ideal "Home away from home" with its cosy atmosphere, chic style, excellent facilities and personalised service. Features of the guestrooms include flat screen TV's with internet access, safe and crisp white linen that will guarantee you a comfortable night sleep. The Parlour Bar & Grill specialises in modern and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The House Hotel Galway
Galway The House Hotel
House Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing