We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!”
Review of The House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We were looking for a nice hotel that wasn't another US style chain hotel.
A lady at the local book store told us we should check out The House Hotel and we weren't disappointed.
The basics you want to know - clean, amazing staff and modern amenities are all present.
The food was great, the cocktails fantastic and the decor modern boutique.
We are thinking of going back to Galway again, just so that we can stay at the hotel again.
It's perfectly located for town and local pubs. The seafront too!
The only thing it can be faulted for (and had to really think about this) is the car parking which is a discounted spot at the local multistory car park around the corner from the hotel.

Room Tip: Balcony with views are available for extra $$$
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kester B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    295
    117
    45
    17
See reviews for
116
503
38
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This place was recommended to us by the TI office and was a little pricier than we originally wanted to spend. But the hotel was in a great area - walking distance to the Spanish Arch and other sights (but what isn't walking distance in Galway). The staff was extremely friendly and the hotel stunning.
Our room was large and modern and the décor was very 'Alice in Wonderland'. The hotel bar was very busy in the evening, although we went out for dinner. The breakfast was delicious. The only negative about this hotel was that there is no parking - we had to park in a public garage a long block away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This place was great, loved the decor, can't beat the location and the restaurant/bar were really good. We did not have enough time here, but this hotel provided a great room with ample space and a very updated/modern bathroom that makes you feel like you are staying in a suite anywhere in America - very roomy with all the amenities you could want. As with all European hotels the elevators are smallish and there's a little bit of effort to get through doors/hallways to get to your room, but once there - perfect. The check-in staff, breakfast staff, afternoon reception - all great. If you are wanting an old school experience this is not for you, but I would highly recommend. Location is unbelievable as you can walk to every restaurant/bar/shopping/sight you would want to. Parking isn't exactly convenient but it didn't bother me and I am easily annoyed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed here to 3 nights in May. The hotel is not particularly easy to find. However, once here I was made to feel very welcome and given a room on the first floor (just as well since the lift was out of order). The room itself was a good size and kited-it out in a boutique-style. The bathroom was small (and only contained a shower), but everything worked and fitted together well. The 'free' Wifi was good too.

Breakfast each morning started at 8 AM, but the staff on the reception desk were at pains to point out that the buffet was available from 7. The range and quality of food available was pretty good. Even when I was not able to have the cooked breakfast (8 AM really is too late), I certainly did not go wanting.

Overall, this was a pretty comfortable experience. For my liking the rooms were a touch on the warm side and the traffic noise meant that opening a window at night was not really a viable option. The room did contain air-conditioning but even at full whack, it did not seem to have any effect on the temperature. These niggles aside, I would definitely try this one again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

The House Hotel is a lovely boutique hotel in Galway City.

Very close to the main shopping street and Eyre Square. Parking is not on site but in a garage 5 minutes walk away and was €7 for 24 hours.

The rooms are nicely decorated, some with balconies with obstructed views of the harbour.

The staff were helpful and I experienced no issues with service. Breakfast was included in the rate and was okay, what you'd expect with a good selection.

The restaurant doesn't have a great selection on the menu so we didn't dine there so cant comment on the quality.

The location is great, just around the corner from Shop Street and near plenty of bars and restaurants.

Salthill beach is only a 5 minute drive away too.

The rooms are nicely decorated, the beds are comfy and our double room had probably a king bed or a really big double, not two singles pushed together! But the pillows, like most hotels, are pretty hard and difficult to sleep on.

The A/C / heating doesn't go below 17 degrees and I found the room very hot and stuffy which made it uncomfortable to sleep although I have stayed here twice in two separate rooms and only experienced this on the second stay.

Noise from the corridor is very loud but it wasn't an issue as we had quiet neighbours, but you can clearly hear people's conversations and doors slamming, during a busy period this could be a nuisance.

Traffic noise was also very loud when it passed but thankfully it seemed to be a quiet street.

It is not the cheapest hotel in the area but based on reviews of other hotels seems like a good option as others are more basic.

There was not a great selection of TV channels.

Galway is a lovely city and well worth the trip and although the hotel isn't perfect it is nice and clean and I will more than likely stay again

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DestinationHogwarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galwayguests, General Manager at The House Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of all the team here at The House Hotel I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your stay.

Thank you for your nice comments; I’m delighted that this was a return stay and one that you enjoyed. Our location is key to us and we do pride ourselves in being in the middle of the amazing atmosphere that Galway has to offer.

Just in relation to a few of your concerns – we are currently looking at our wine menu and making additions to it – I do hope when you do return again there will be a more extensive choice.

We have a control at reception for our A/C and it has a three options re: control – it may have been the case on this occasion that the A/C may have been on the wrong setting at reception – we are looking into this.

Thank you again for your kind review and we do hope to have you return to The House Hotel once again.

Kindest,
Margaret Jenkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I booked this hotel for my cousins hens as we got a very good package. We didnt want to do the cocktail class but the hotel gave us the 2 cocktails for when we all meet up the start of the day. A few members of the group didnt arrive until that evening and the hotel kindly gave them vouchers for the cocktails they missed. The finger food I ordered was amazing I think it was a little priced as it was Eur20 per platter and a platter was supposely to fill 20 people. Only 14 of us where there and I ordered 3 platters and there was no way these would of filled 60 people but the food was amazing. As it was my cousin hens we were given room 116 and this was a suite absoulatly amazing room. The bathroom was huge and so clean. Really loved the girly feeling I got from the hotel .
I ordered balloons for my cousin but unfortunatly one of the weights came off and it went up to the ceiling. It couldnt be brought down sooooo if you in the hotel have a look up the high celing and a lovely pink ballon display is there.
The meal that night was very busy we had over 25 people sitting to the meal and as the resturant is in the same area as bar it got very crowed very fast. At one stage a woman was sitting on my shoulder and i had to ask her to get off. My advice would be to have your meal as early as possible especially if you there on a saturday night. The music was great. Mix for all ages. The breakfast was also lovely.
I will be returning back for another hens in September and have to say I cannot fault the hotel.
the barman are very good looking to so eye candy on the night goes along way.

Looking forward to my return

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TazzyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galwayguests, General Manager at The House Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review of your recent stay here at The House Hotel. We do enjoy our Hens arriving at the weekend and it's lovely to hear that you all enjoyed it.

Let's hope you can make it back to us again without the worry of having to organise a big group!!

Kindest,
Margaret Jenkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

My friend booked this hotel for us and I was delighted as it looks like a lovely hotel!

The website pictures are true to what the hotel is like! Really lovely, clean, modern but with a funky twist. The bedroom was lovely and clean and so was the hotel in general. This hotel would have made 4-5 stars if these things had not let it down.

- When checking in we were left waiting and wondering around. There was no one at the front house to check us in. We couldn't find anyone to ask and eventually the receptionist turned up.

- Although I love music and I'm young, getting to sleep was a nightmare. I have stayed in hotels with loud bars downstairs but this was another thing altogether! It was soooooo loud!

- Getting served at the bar for cocktails was a looooong wait, then once they were ordered they took even longer to get to us.

Things I liked about the hotel:

-Decor was really nice

- great central location

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBear87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galwayguests, General Manager at The House Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Jane,

From all of us here at The House Hotel, thank you for your recent informative review left on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the decor and location of the hotel. It can be extremely convenient for shoppers and clubbers alike.

We are very dissappointed to hear you were waiting for a Front of House representative to greet you upon arrival. This is a very rare and isolated incident to which we can only apologise profusely for and I can assure you this will not happen again.

Regarding the music we have on a Friday and Saturday night from 10.30pm -2am, we deeply and genuinely regret any inconvenience caused to you. We are very rigid in our approach to allocating rooms on the weekends and we did not make it our intentions to disrupt your sleep.

Our DJ is aware of our guests who are not going out at the weekends, therefore we turn the bass on the music down. However, going forward we will have stringint rules in place to avoid such comments as these in future and again we apologise for the interrupted sleep.

In relation to our famous cocktails, our mixologists take great pride in making the best cocktails in Galway city and have won numerous awards to back this up. They take a little bit longer than your average alcoholic beverage to prepare but we take great pride in making certain they are the best in the city and hope they were worth the wait.


We do have waitress service in the lobby so you don't have to get up and wait at the bar. We do recognise they take a bit longer and as we are such a popular place for the cocktails, we are working on ways to reduce the wait at the bar for our thirsty guests adn as of this weekend we are trialing a bottle bar in the lobby area of the hotel.

We genuinely do hope you will be back in future to acknowledge all of these issues have been addressed as we take on board all comments from our valued customers.

Kindest,
Margaret Jenkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,922 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,783 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,703 reviews
1.6 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,129 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#14 of 46 in Galway
1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House Hotel

Property: The House Hotel
Address: Spanish Parade, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Galway
#10 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#18 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the House Hotel, a luxurious boutique hotel located in the heart of Galway City. The House Hotel represents the ideal "Home away from home" with its cosy atmosphere, chic style, excellent facilities and personalised service. Features of the guestrooms include flat screen TV's with internet access, safe and crisp white linen that will guarantee you a comfortable night sleep. The Parlour Bar & Grill specialises in modern and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The House Hotel Galway
Galway The House Hotel
House Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing