We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel but very very loud music”
Review of The House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2013

While the hotel was very nice the lobby and rooms were gergous and the breakfast was great great location
.But the big problem for me is the music that went on until 2.30 on the sunday nite.Yes i do know that this is a party hotel but some people do like to sleep and this was impossible on the night that i stayed and i do know that it was the same the night before.

Also our room was very warm and the ac was not working great but then that is just me as i like my room to be very cold.I dont think i would stay here again if the music was going to be as loud again and i could not recommend it because of this

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irelandladyluck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,106)
There are newer reviews for The House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

682 - 688 of 1,106 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2013

Very nice hotel, excellent location. I doubt there is a better hotel choice in Galway and I thoroughly enjoyed my weekend stay here, but then i moved to an absolutely lovely little B&B for the duration of my 3 week stay which I enjoyed even more.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camjwg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This hotel is right in the middle of Galway, on a small town block in the middle of the one way system, though it is so quiet inside you would never know. There is a little lay-by in front to deposit luggage, and the hotel has a discount arrangement with a multi-storey car park nearby which worked well. The reception was very friendly and helpful, and our (many) bags were quickly delivered to the room.
The ground floor has an expansive lounge, bar and restaurant. The meals are excellent everywhere and we had a tasty dinner, excellent sandwiches and some lovely breakfasts. It is so nice to have eggs properly cooked to order! The main walking streets of Galway are a stone’s throw away and the cosmopolitan charm of this university town and cultural centre pervades the hotel.
The room was large with a generous bathroom – one can see that quite some investment has gone into modern rooms with up to date facilities. We had a wonderful stay and called through to eat on our return journey through Galway – in summary an enjoyable place to stay, well located with modern rooms and an excellent restaurant.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holdendriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galwayguests, General Manager at The House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you for in-depth review on tripadvisor

We appreciate the importance of traveler’s comments and we appreciate your beautiful and concise description of your stay.

We pride ourselves on the service we value each individual guest we greet through our doors and I am delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay.

I will pass on your kind remarks to each member of the team, throughout the various departments.

I do sincerely hope that we will welcome you back to The House hotel in the very near future.

Kindest,
Margaret Jenkins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

brought the other half here for a romantic get away. had food elsewhere but came back to hotel later for some fantastic cocktails - they have a great cocktail menu there. room was amazing too. right on top with some nice views of the town. perfect place to go if you want to impress someone special

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seanf123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I stayed in The House Hotel in April 2013. Out of the many hotels I stayed in during a two week trip to Europe, this was my favorite. Beautiful, bright hotel. Great location right next to everything but not too close that you can hear the crowds. Great room with a comfortable bed!! Beautiful, updated bathroom. They put me in a room down at the end and I don't think anyone was staying around me. I usually hear doors slamming and people talking in other hotels but I didn't hear this at all. They had complimentary snacks and drinks for a mid-day snack. I didn't want to leave when I checked out. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KYtraveler79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

My friend, daughter and I stumbled upon this little gem by parking nearby. We'd not booked anywhere for the night, taking a punt on finding somewhere fabulous. And we did. This gorgeous hotel, right in the heart of Galway was my favourite hotel so far on our trip of Dubai, London and Ireland. I would love to go back to this beautiful city if only to visit this hotel again.

Room Tip: We slept 3 in a room and it was a bit tight but we booked late on the day of our stay and this was a...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here on a Friday night in January (2013), as we had cause to be in Galway overnight and wanted to stay somewhere within easy reach of the restaurants and bars around Quay Street. In the end, we just stayed in the hotel, enjoying the excellent food and atmosphere. Our room was a bit on the small side, but had everything we needed, and we both enjoyed a great night's sleep. Breakfast was equally fantastic! Plenty of choice, and enough food to set you up for a busy day shopping! Although, we did sneak back to the hotel around lunchtime to enjoy another bowl of their delicious creamy seafood chowder. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AcadMedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,989 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,823 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,726 reviews
1.6 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#16 of 46 in Galway
1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House Hotel

Address: Spanish Parade, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Galway
#10 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#18 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range: $129 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the House Hotel, a luxurious boutique hotel located in the heart of Galway City. The House Hotel represents the ideal "Home away from home" with its cosy atmosphere, chic style, excellent facilities and personalised service. Features of the guestrooms include flat screen TV's with internet access, safe and crisp white linen that will guarantee you a comfortable night sleep. The Parlour Bar & Grill specialises in modern and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The House Hotel Galway
Galway The House Hotel
House Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing