We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beyond Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Beyond Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Looking for a truly great place to stay in Galway? Then make sure you check out/check into The House Hotel. Gorgeous rooms, amazing staff, excellent food, delicious cocktails and the perfect location – this place has it all. As a magazine journalist I've stayed in my fair share of top hotels throughout Ireland and around the world, and this has to be one of the best. Ideal for a great girly weekend away – this is hen-party heaven without the tackiness – I can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanv25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galwayguests, General Manager at The House Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Susan,

I am thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us and just wanted to say thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. All comments are very well received and I shall be passing your compliments on to the whole team here at The House Hotel.

All the staff here truly pride themselves on exceptional customer service and we greatly appreciate when customers take the time to write such a lovely review especially from such an avid traveler.

I hope to see you again in the near future and please watch out for our amazing value offers like our ‘Fabulous Friday’ including an overnight stay on Friday nights with bed and breakfast with a 3 course evening meal for 2 from only €149.00 per couple!

Kindest regards,
Margaret Jenkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    285
    104
    44
    17
See reviews for
112
479
36
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athlone, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

had a two night stay here in feb 2013 brilliant staff so friendly and helpful, the bar service was second to none and the food in restaurant was very good and not overpriced,car parking is just a short walk away and you are in the middle of all the nightlife if you want it but we found the hotel bar great fun for the two nights

Room Tip: book early to get the dates you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joshnamrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galwayguests, General Manager at The House Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Josh,

Thank you so much for your lovely comments on Tripadvisor. We value all your comments and taking the time to write your review.

It is always such a pleasure to be able to pass on such lovely feedback to the team here at The House Hotel and your compliments will be greatly appreciated by all the staff.

For anyone who likes being in the heart of the town, we pride ourselves on our location along with our amazing special offers like ‘Spoil Someone Special’ package which includes overnight accommodation in one of our individually designed boutique bedrooms, complimentary bed and breakfast in bed, a three-course evening meal for 2 from our Table d'Hote menu, and a cocktail each on arrival from only €75.00 per person sharing!

Best wishes,
Margaret Jenkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Great hotel for a night out. We went for a birthday celebration, from the minute you walk in the front door, you get a real hip experience but not at an expensive price. We decided to eat in the restaurant in the hotel. Lovely corner table, great service and good food. The bar area was buzzing went up the town after a few drinks at the bar and it's was not as good as the hotel until much later in the night. I think the hotel needs to market the restaurant and bar more as we were expecting it to be as good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abmGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galwayguests, General Manager at The House Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your lovely comments on The House Hotel. We really appreciate your review and taking the time to write your observations on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted you enjoyed our Hotel décor and your meal in our House Bistro. I will be sure to pass on all your lovely comments to our staff.

We hope to welcome you back to The House Hotel very soon and please ask any of our staff about our ‘Cocktail Specials’ available daily from only €5.00!

Looking forward to your return,
Margaret Jenkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

brilliant hotel for a night with the girls.Hen friendly so its an ideal location for this kind of weekend. great staff and even better cocktails. Very friendly and professional and fun...great location for a night out in Galway!!!!
Rooms are lovely and clean and comfortable. Decorated in a boutique style, its very cute!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niamhon81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed in The House Hotel in Feb 2013. It is lovely, we were on a deal of €139 for two nights. The room we stayed in was very nicely decorated with a modern vibe. The bathroom was pure luxury and we loved the shower. The staff at this hotel are friendly and they were so pleasant. We travelled the day after the notorious promnite so it was great to escape to Galway and to stay in such a great hotel. The perfect antidote to austerity!!! We were there for a friday night so the bar was very lively and the hotel was buzzing. Galway is a lovely city and there is lots to do, we went to a play in the THT on the Thursday night. Our room was very quiet and there was no noise in to disturb our sleep from the busy street below. One of the best places I have stayed in EVER... No hesitation in recommending it....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackmario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galwayguests, General Manager at The House Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Jack,

We are delighted here at The House Hotel to read your fantastic review. We are always keen to receive as much feedback as possible, and your review is greatly appreciated by the entire team here.

Once again thank you for such an excellent review. We all hope that you will stay with us the next time you are visiting Galway. Please contact us directly at the hotel to help ensure your next stay is as amazing as the last and receive the best possible rates.

Look forward to welcoming you back,
Margaret Jenkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed at The House Hotel in January 2013 for two nights. From our first encounter with the receptionist the stay was fantastic, right through to our checkout two days later.
The rooms are decorated in a quirky luxurious/boudoir style. Our room came complete with mini bar and separate sitting room.
The location is absolutely superb- walking distance to all the bars, restaurants and shops, making a stay at The House Hotel comletely stress free.
I have since been recommending the hotel to all my friends and family and am looking forward to staying there again soon

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Limknelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galwayguests, General Manager at The House Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you for such wonderful feedback following your recent stay at The House Hotel. It is always such a pleasure to be able to pass on such complimentary comments to our staff that prides themselves in delivering an exceptional service to all our guests. I will be sure to pass your lovely comments to our Receptionists also in particular.

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your room and the interior decoration and took advantage of our minibar service available in all rooms.

We appreciated you recommending The House Hotel to friends and family and we find word of mouth to be extremely powerful.

Please let your friends and family know to contact us on 091-538900 for all our best prices guaranteed and excellent packages available all year round and we hope to see you return to the House in the near future.

Best wishes,
Margaret Jenkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

At check-in the staff were pleasant and efficient. We bought a deal on the standard room, and it was very small but at the same time we did not spend too much time in it so it was adequately comfortable. Most importantly of all the room was clean.

We also had a meal in the restaurant and it was just OK, probably wouldn't eat in it again, mainly because there will be far better food elsewhere. The staff were very nice and we rushing around to do their best.

Overall I would recommend this hotel as it's clean, comfortable and is in a great location.

Room Tip: The standard room is very small, but adequately comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joelikescake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,702 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,648 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#13 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
4.3 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
1.6 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House Hotel

Property: The House Hotel
Address: Spanish Parade, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Galway
#10 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#18 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the House Hotel, a luxurious boutique hotel located in the heart of Galway City. The House Hotel represents the ideal "Home away from home" with its cosy atmosphere, chic style, excellent facilities and personalised service. Features of the guestrooms include flat screen TV's with internet access, safe and crisp white linen that will guarantee you a comfortable night sleep. The Parlour Bar & Grill specialises in modern and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The House Hotel Galway
Galway The House Hotel
House Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing