We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Coast
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

We are staying here now and so far everything has been perfect. The room is comfy, love the reading chair, good shower although a bit small. Nice decor, simple with a little flair. I have heard the breakfast is good too!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gladyouasked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    591
    283
    102
    43
    17
See reviews for
111
470
35
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Just returned from 2 fabulous days at the house hotel. Fantastic situation right at the bottom of shop street so you can park the car and not have to take it out for either shopping, restaurants or pubs. The decor is quirky, and the food absolutly fantastic, especially the breakfast. We booked a deal including breakfast one lunch and one dinner with 2 nights and it was great value. The bistrot at night was lovely and candles with the lovely seating made for a great atmosphere. The restaurnat staff were lovely, great sevice. The only down side was that i had emailed the hotel 2 over a few days and never got a reply, i eventaually rang and was told they never received my emails..i double checked the address and it was right, you maybe they should have a look at this as if i was only enquiring i prob would have gone elsewhere. Overall have a great few days and would recommend it .. so hard to find a little boutique hotel like this !!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessi30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed at the house hotel for 2 days in Sept and liked it enough to book it again for a 5 night stay in October. I always try to avoid the big chain hotels, if possible and try to find a more individualised place to stay. The House is very welcoming -- fun decor throughout, comfy beds, and you can control the heat/open the windows of your room. Staff was friendly, although the turnover at the front desk was so rapid, that I'd ask a question and when I returned for the answer, someone else would be at the desk.

Breakfasts were great --- lovely treacle bread, smoked salmon, and chunks of ham, and great baked goods in the buffet. Cooked breakfast was good too, but the coffee was pretty weak most mornings (although some mornings were better than others).

Very centrally located -- lots of lovely restaurants within a five minute walk. Seafood place on Kieran's lane was fabulous.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 33PatriciaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

We recently booked to stay at the house hotel .. It looked great on the website but as a city centre hotel we were not too sure ... Wonderful surprise!! The hotel is at a very high standard! I wanted to ditch the man & call the girls and have a few cocktails!! The room was to a vey high standard .. And I mean my high standard. We had a large room with the most unique head board I've ever seen made of curtain .. Stunning! Or massive bathroom had a double sink ! Very handy! All rooms are sound proofed and are very warm and cosy. Wifi is available everywhere which is a must on my trips.
We dined in the restuarant and availed of the great offer of 2 course & a cocktail for €15 !! Yummy streak! I enjoyed a leisurely morning in the lobby while the hubby went about his business. Scones & fresh coffee - heaven!
Overall I was very Impressed by this small hotel! Excellent staff make it a truly magically stay!
Il be back but next time with the girls!!

Room Tip: Ask for the deluxe room of you want more bathroom space!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biawest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed here recently on way back from Connemara. Lovely staff (thanks Cliodhna at reception). Really comfy bedroom, small room but clean and well equipped and absolutely fine for a city centre location in a boutique hotel. Lovely food and cocktails from a really well priced midweek menu and a gorgeous breakfast. Total pleasure to stay here and we will be back

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galwayguests, General Manager at The House Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to review us.

Thank you for your kind words regarding the breakfast and I will pass your compliments onto our chef. Also thank you for your kind comments on our staff, we aim for our customer service skills to be second to none.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best Regards,
Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

We travel extensively and based largely on the reviews on trip advisory, we where excited about our stay at the House Hotel. Rooms are well put together and comfortable. On our first night the room thermostat control did not work. It was either all on or all off. We alternated between turning of the control and opening the windows to cool down and turning on the heat to stay warm. Needless to say manually adjusting the temperate in this manner every few hours does not provide for comfortable sleep. When this issue was raised with the staff a number of times during the next day no serious attempt was made to resolve it. We experienced the next night with the same problem again. When I raised the issue with management the following morning my comments where discounted (and was told they never had problems and I must be mistaken). Every hotel will have problems from time to time. It is when they have management does not want feedback that they loose me. To add insult to injury a discount of about 4% was grudgingly applied to the account for two sleep deprived nights. Clearly they have lost my confidence in their desire of looking after their client. Try an alternate hotel if you want a good nights sleep.

Room Tip: Don't stay at this Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Red_River_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galwayguests, General Manager at The House Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear valued guest,

I just want to thank you personally for taking the time and effort to feedback your thoughts following your stay here at The House Hotel.

We strive to attain full satisfaction from all our guests at all times and fully regret your experience on this occasion. Please be assured that your comments were at all times genuinely taken on board by staff and management, and our full efforts were made in attempting to make your stay a comfortable one.

Our Maintenance Technician was called on to alleviate the issue and was it was expected that the heating had returned to the satisfied settings. I have spoken to each member of the team and have discussed the different points with them. To note we did our best to accommodate you by offering to move you to a room of similar standard on your second night to ensure you would enjoy a full night’s sleep.

I am disappointed to hear of your thoughts regarding our hotel and regret any displeasure you experienced during your time; we aim for our customer service skills to be second to none.

If you would like to discuss any of the points in more detail then I would be more than happy to do so at your convenience and hope to change your opinion of our establishment in the future.

Thanks again for taking the time give us your feedback.

Kindest regards,
Margaret Jenkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

This review is based solely on the assistance we received from hotel staff recently! We stopped here looking for directions to our B&B. We were so lost! Margaret (who handled reservations) graciously took time to check internet maps, make a couple calls and get us turned in the right direction. If that's how they treat strangers - I can only imagine how well their guests are treated! By the time we left we were seriously wishing we were staying here! In fact, we probably will the next time we are in Galway. The location was great, the lobby was funky and cozy and it was very inviting.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaraFru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galwayguests, General Manager at The House Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you so much for taking time to leave such a lovely review, I was delighted to have been able to help you.

We look forward to your next trip to Galway and would love to have you stay here at The House Hotel!

Kindest,
Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.4 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,605 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#12 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
1.6 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House Hotel

Property: The House Hotel
Address: Spanish Parade, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Galway
#11 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#18 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the House Hotel, a luxurious boutique hotel located in the heart of Galway City. The House Hotel represents the ideal "Home away from home" with its cosy atmosphere, chic style, excellent facilities and personalised service. Features of the guestrooms include flat screen TV's with internet access, safe and crisp white linen that will guarantee you a comfortable night sleep. The Parlour Bar & Grill specialises in modern and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The House Hotel Galway
Galway The House Hotel
House Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing