We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The House Hotel Galway”
Review of The House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We are just back from another most enjoyable weekend in the House Hotel. Breakfast is excellent, beautiful fresh fruit, freshly cooked full Irish breakfast as well a choice of cold meats and cheese. Lunch was delicious with a wide and varie menu. Service as always was friendly and helpful. The hotel is located close to the main shopping area and parking is available nearby. We will be back again soon.

Room Tip: We have never been disappointed.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Athlonemendac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,105)
There are newer reviews for The House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

757 - 763 of 1,106 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

Im from Galway and heard great things about the bar at the house hotel so decided to try it out. Went along with a group of my friends. We all ordered different cocktails so that we could try them all out. The cocktail menu is big and varied, there's a great choice. The bar men had great skills swinging round the bottles it was fantastic to see. I don't think Galway has any other bar like this. Also the dj played fantastic tunes. Highly recommend.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
Thank worldclasstourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The hotel is in a great location and it's very attractive and trendy. However, we spending over 200 euros a night for a fancy lounge and restaurant downstairs that we barely used. The rooms were nice and clean but very small. There were absolutely no amenities. I feel like they care more about the scene and less about their guests. The staff were mixed - some were helpful and friendly but others seemed aloof. The breakfast was fantastic - I'll give them credit for that. But overall I don't think it's really a hotel for travelers - especially not those who are budget conscious.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KellyMC79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Just spent three nights at this hotel, this past week. I found the accommodations to be very good. Room was clean, bed was comfortable. It was in a great location, just a stones throw from the Latin Quarter. My only complaint would be that the staff was not very warm or helpful. When I asked questions, I felt as if I was bothering them. But note this: It was only the staff that was NOT Irish that seemed cold. The irish employees were helpful and cheerful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scoutsperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

After hours of driving and site seeing, we had a great welcome at the House. Conveniently located near the docks and Spanish arch in Galway. Price is right.. Warm and inviting lobby.
Rooms are perfectly done and lovely staff... Great location...
Must stay here....

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for the parking discount when checking out
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sbk225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

The title here says it all. If traveling to Galway, which is undoubtedly the most active, fun,
and exciting City in all of Ireland, don't even consider staying anywhere but the House Hotel.
It couldn't be more conveniently located, right in the center of all the fun, a short block to
Quay Street where all the action is. This is the neighborhood, now known as the "Latin
Quarter" loaded with Pubs and Restaurants on both sides of the street, block after block.
In other words for "true night life" you just have to stay here.

The decor in the guest rooms is neat and clean with beautiful modern, up-to-date
furnishings, a lovely spacious bath, flat screen TV's, and free Internet. The staff
members are just the greatest. Wish I could mention each and every one of them but
must at least mention the beautiful, caring and helpful girls at the front desk, who
help you with check-in and check-out as well as serving as Concierge to aid in recommending
places to visit and special tours to take in the area. The gal on the early schedule from
morning until mid-afternoon is Marta and Lisa comes in a bit later and is there to serve
you on into the evening.

On an evening when you may just choose to stay at the hotel rather than go out on the
town, the dining room is just lovely and the food here delicous with a varied menu to suit
every taste and the bar and cocktail area in the evening is always full of people of all
ages enjoying hor d'ourves and drinks of every kind and with wonderful service. For the
smokers who wish to enjoy a cocktail with a cigarette, a pipe or a cigar, out back is a
lovely covered area with plenty of seating space, should you care to have your cocktail
in this enviornment.

A wonderful breakfast is included with your stay at The House Hotel and the breakfast
menu is extensive as well, in addition to a well stocked buffet table where you can add
things to your regular breakfast plate, if you so desire.

Again, don't even consider looking elsewhere when visiting Galway, just book The House
Hotel right in the center of all the fun in Galway.

Room Tip: There are no "bad" rooms here. However if the traveler is handicapped in any way, mention...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jinglegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed in the house hotel for three nights last weekend in August. We booked at the last minute and it was perfect. It was a lovely place to stay,the location was ideal we were minutes from the main center lots of shops restaurants. The room was very comfortable, it was not big but quite adequate, the shower was very good and the overall decor was very nice and clean & modern.
The staff were so friendly and nice especially the lovely girls who served breakfast, the food was delicious we had one evening meal and breakfast each morning. There were a few hen parties but we just seen them as we passed going in or out but never noticed any noise at night. The last night we were there we went to bed earlier and the disco was still on as we came in we didn't hear any noise in our room and we slept sound.
I would have no problem recommending this hotel small but very good

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtcf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,981 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,818 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,725 reviews
1.6 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,191 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#16 of 46 in Galway
1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House Hotel

Address: Spanish Parade, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Galway
#10 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#18 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range: $127 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the House Hotel, a luxurious boutique hotel located in the heart of Galway City. The House Hotel represents the ideal "Home away from home" with its cosy atmosphere, chic style, excellent facilities and personalised service. Features of the guestrooms include flat screen TV's with internet access, safe and crisp white linen that will guarantee you a comfortable night sleep. The Parlour Bar & Grill specialises in modern and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The House Hotel Galway
Galway The House Hotel
House Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing