We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stylish mid to high end city hotel in the centre of Galway”
Review of The House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The House Hotel
Ranked #9 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“stylish mid to high end city hotel in the centre of Galway”
Reviewed November 18, 2011

A converted stone warehouse situated very close to the bars and restaurants of Galway.
We stayed in a double room (including breakfast) for one Friday night beginning of October 2011 (we were very lucky to find a room at such short notice).

The first thing you will notice when you enter the hotel is the pink and purple decor, maybe not to everyones taste but dont be put off. The main reception, sitting area, bar and restaurant are all on the same ground floor.
The rooms are very comfortable, clean and nicely furnished. We had a room overlooking the main road through the center of the city, but we couldn't hear the traffic because of the double glazed windows. The bed was large and comfortable.
Although we didn't have an evening meal in the hotel, apparently the restaurant is very good. However we did have an excellent full breakfast in the morning. The bar also looked very good and seemed to be quite popular the previous night
The only negative point is probably the access to the hotel for people with cars. If you want to drop off luggage or passengers you will end up parking with your hazards lights on. If you drive round to the back of the hotel there is a quieter off-street which is less dangerous. Overnight parking is at a secured multi-car park block 2-3 mins walk away. The hotel offers a discounted price for this service.
Overall, really enjoyed the hotel, comfortable, quiet, stylish and very central to Galway hotspots.

Room Tip: Book in advance, a popular hotel. Try the excellent restaurants nearby!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiwipome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galwayguests, Manager at The House Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to review our Hotel and for your very kind comments.

We noted your comments regarding our car parking. We are working on securing a Permanent set down area outside the hotel but in the mean time guests can pull up directly outside our reception door to offload luggage.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience and look hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,

Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    611
    293
    114
    45
    17
See reviews for
115
495
37
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2011

hi everybody, you`ve got to stay in this fabulous hotel-- our group of 8 spent one night here , and it was perfect.Staff were so friendly, the rooms so warm, clean and, cosy.We will certainly be back sooner rather later !.I loved the decor of the place and well done to the master chef !!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galwayguests, Manager at The House Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to review our Hotel and for your very kind comments about our friendly staff and our chef. Our restaurant is really growing in popularity so we're really glad to hear that you enjoyed it.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best Regards,

Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Two friends and I arrived in afternoon to a very welcoming reception. Very colourful and comfortable.We were spending one night in Galway to celebrate a special birthday. While waiting to check in we were overheard discussing the birthday and was immediately offered yummy bubbly and strawberries by Manageress. We shared a suite which was spacious and decorated beautifuly. One large double bed and a double sofa bed. (sofa bed not comfortable)Very beautiful large bathroom with two sinks and a huge bathtub with handheld very modern showerhose. Also a seperate shower unit. We dined in the restaurant after pre dinner cocktails at the bar which is to the side of the dining area. Dinner was very good and served by such friendly staff. We felt no need to leave the hotel as the bar served lovely cocktails and was so comfortable. Full Irish breakfast was served next morning but there was also an array of cereals, nuts, fruit, meats and cheese. What struck me most was that all the staff seemed to be genuinely very happy. They were a breath of fresh air. A wonderful hotel overall.

Room Tip: For adults the sofa pullout bed is very uncomfortable. Can feel the springs. I rectified this puttin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GERORP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2011

We had a fabulous stay for my friends hen weekend. The staff were amazing they were very helpful and friendly. The bar staff made our cocktail making course so much fun. It is a really great idea and made it great for the group to get to know each other the first night of our trip. The food was delicious. The location was ideal really easy to get to and the parking was easy to find. It is the ideal venue for a girlie weekend away with the funky decor.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

We stayed mid week! Perfect for couples looking for a relaxing place in the city. I'm not to sure if it would be the same at the weekend. It's in a perfect location to restaurants and shops. The car park is up the street €8 for 24 hrs which is reasonable enough.

I would definitely return to this hotel. Receptionists were very polite and helpful!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xxcsx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

This hotel is fab - great atmosphere, lovely interior and delicious food. The service is also really great. However, it's pretty much hen party heaven. When we stayed (as part of a hen party) there were also another 5 or 6 hen parties around us. Evening meals would often end up bursting into lots of girls singing cheesy songs en masse. Cocktail lessons are included in the weekend hen package so there are literally queues of women lining up in the bar waiting for their group lesson to start. Lots of pink and glittery decorations, but a stunning hotel. Perfect for a hen do or girlie weekend away - definitely not for couples, family or business!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauraq44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

excellent hotel, excellent service, amazing food and fab toiletries and little extras. coultn't reccommend enough

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shinoIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 45 in Galway
1,886 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
2,749 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
1.6 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
3,054 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#14 of 45 in Galway
1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House Hotel

Property: The House Hotel
Address: Spanish Parade, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Galway
#10 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#18 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the House Hotel, a luxurious boutique hotel located in the heart of Galway City. The House Hotel represents the ideal "Home away from home" with its cosy atmosphere, chic style, excellent facilities and personalised service. Features of the guestrooms include flat screen TV's with internet access, safe and crisp white linen that will guarantee you a comfortable night sleep. The Parlour Bar & Grill specialises in modern and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The House Hotel Galway
Galway The House Hotel
House Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing