We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location but disappointing food.”
Review of The House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2011

Stayed in The House Hotel with my partner. Booked 1 night and ended up staying a second. The rooms were excellent. The decor of the hotel was very classy and modern. Staff were very friendly and the cocktails were just delcious!! Only negative we had was the breakfast which was just awful and due to this we didnt try lunch or dinner there. Breakfast menu advised grilled sausages and rashers but when it arrived the grease was pouring out of the sausages! The poached eggs on both days were not runny and like a hard boiled egg. On the second day my partner nearly vomitted when he tried the eggs benidict with a hollandaise sauce that tasted gone off! Besides the horrible breakfast, we would definatly recommend this hotel and will stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ftz57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galwayguests, Manager at The House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel.
We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable time with us that you extended your stay; we have many guests who decide to extend there stay with us.
Thank you for your lovely comments about our staff, we do our utmost to ensure that we provide excellent customer service.
Our Cocktails are very popular especially our Cocktail Making Classes which are booked out weeks in advance!
We are deeply upset about your comments on our Breakfast, this is highly unusual as you can see from previous guests customers our Breakfast are one of there favourite parts of our hotel as it is not a buffet style. However we take your comments very seriously & we apologise that both mornings you did not enjoy your breakfast, this is something we have taken very seriously & the Head Chef as been advised and breakfast has been closely monitored to ensure high standards.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

947 - 953 of 1,142 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2011

For travellers looking for something a bit different in a city centre hotel, this place is the way to go. The atmosphere is warm, friendly and inviting as soon as you walk through the door. The decor is funky, bright and cheerful - much like the staff!

Food is very good,both our evening meal and breakfast were top notch and menu prices were reasonable.

Bedrooms, as others have said, are undeniably on the small side but for a hotel slap bang in the city centre, it's a small compromise...our standard room still had everything needed and some nice extra touches - nice decor, lovely cosmetics, a really good rainwater power shower, plenty of TV channels and free WIFI.

Parking is in a nearby multi-storey carpark (€8 for 24 h). It wasn't an issue for us. Once we dropped the car off, we walked everywhere.

We stayed over a weekend, and the place was very lively on Saturday night, with several different parties on - one 30th, one hen night and other groups. There was live music and definitely a good-natured party atmosphere in the bar/restaurant. The bar specialises in cocktails (lovely), which is probably draws the party crowd. I guess it goes with the Latin Quarter district of Galway on a Saturday night - Galway is a party town at the weekend - but it might be an issue for someone looking for a quiet weekend break. Having said that, the soundproofing in the room was good and we didn't hear any street noise or music from the bar in our room and slept well.

All in all, we loved The House Hotel and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FussyTraveller78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2011

This was my 2nd time to stay here, and to be honest, I really enjoyed the 1st time a couple years ago, BUT not this time.
I booked a "super delux room" for my couple days away with my girlfriend.
I was happy to pay the extra as I wanted us to enjoy the timeaway togeather, as I don't often get much time off, as I work in the hotel business.
On check in, very friendly, told where room was, went up, nice size, but not super, the window was looking out onto the extractor fan and a large wall, the bathroom window was looking out into flats, with their clothes line in front.
Both sinks were blocked, room was cold, large wine stains on the carpet.
When going out for a walk I mentioned the sinks, and only one was cleared on return.
I like the hotel, but was disapointed this time around, esp. for the money you pay for an upgrade.
When I was checking out, the receptionist said very little when I said that I was disapointed with the room, not good, esp in these times.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BMW05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galwayguests, Manager at The House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel, your feedback is very important to us.
We are disappointed to see that you did not enjoy your stay with us as much as you did the last time, we have a huge number guests who return to us time & time again & we appreciate your return business.
I refer your comment about our Super Deluxe Room. We have 3 Super Deluxe Rooms & 1 Suite in our City Centre 4 Star Boutique Hotel, we’re sorry that you were disappointed with this room. We are a unique hotel in the Heart of Galway City Centre – Any previous guests who have stayed in our Super Deluxe rooms have been extremely happy with no complaints, our Super Deluxe rooms are indeed spacious with a King Size Double Bed, yes the room you were allocated is in fact over the Air Conditioning unit however it does not make any noise. There are Apartments located across from the room but not in any close vicinity.
We sincerely apologise that the his & hers sinks in the bathroom were blocked & that only one was cleared on your return, this matter has been taken up with House Keeping & we can assure you that this will not re-occur. All of our rooms are checked on a regular bases by maintenance.
In relation to your room being cold, all 40 Bedrooms are air conditioned with a temperature control panel within the room; please accept our apologies if this were not made clear to you.
Unfortunately the previous guests had some wine spillage in the room which again we apologise for but we can assure you that a brand new carpet has since been fitted to this room.
We would love to see you again in the future & given the chance we are sure you will not be disappointed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2011

The directions given do not say that Lower Merchant Road splits into two different one way systems, one has the hotel on it the other way takes you away from the hotel. I realised at check in that this could be a mistake. Room small, bathroom really tiny with a sink that doesn't hold the water which makes shaving difficult, complained nothing done. Breakfast badly overcooked, table not set properly not enough care. Seems to be badly understaffed, and poorly trained, but are not rude,quite pleasent in fact. Obviously a lot of money spent on hotel update to make it boutique but not taken care to make it user friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alanwhotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

We heard of a special deal in this hotel and sure enough there it is in their website: TWO nights for TWO people for €69! At this price we assumed breakfast was not included but it was! I still think this must have been a mistake, but that's what we got which is just amazing value. Better still the hotel is a delight, quiet rooms nicely decorated and spotlessly clean, and the location could not be more central. The staff are outstanding, all extremely pleasant and helpful. We ate out so only had a snack in the hotel which was fine, but the other lovely surprise was the freshly cooked breakfast, which you just don't get anymore, even in a 4-star hotel (actually, especially in a 4-star hotel). Overall a wonderful experience, 4-star treatment and comfort at 2-star prices.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkeffIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galwayguests, Manager at The House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel, all feedback is much appreciated.
We are delighted that you had such a good experience with us & that you availed of our January Sale of €69.00 per room per night to include Breakfast. All of our 40 Bedrooms are sound proof so we never receive any complaints about noise disruption.
Thank you for your lovely comments about our Staff & our freshly cooked breakfast which guests can choose from a menu selection.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2011

I have now stayed a number of times at the hotel and for me thats says it all. I love going back. I have stayed when on business and also brought a friend over Christmas and every time it was just what I expect and look for in a Hotel. Special mention goes to the two memorable things. First of all the staff as they are so friendly and engaging. You want to go and say good morning to them as they will alway put a smile on your face. Second mention goes to the very cool cocktail bar and plush sofas adjacent to the bar. Cool and Chilled. A Place to go even if you are not staying in the Hotel - but you should stay. Jamie Dublin

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamieAKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galwayguests, Manager at The House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2011

Dear Jamie,
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel, we appreciate all feedback from guests.
Your lovely comments are much appreciated, our staff likes to go above & beyond to deliver the highest level of customer service & we are delighted that you have got to experience this on numerous occasions.
We take pride in our appearance & as a 4 Star Boutique Hotel our image is everything this is evident from the amount of people who just come to relax on one of our many plush couches for lunch or just to chill.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

I expected the service to be to the standard of a 'four star boutique hotel', however i was sadly disappointed. On arrival i was given a non-smoking room, however when i reached the room it had a definite smell of smoke. When i rang reception to enquire if i had gotten a smoking room by mistake they assured me that all smoking rooms were on the floor above. Secondly the face cloths in my bathroom on arrival, were stained with make up i rang reception for a new set which they delievered eventually. Thirdly the cleaniness of the room in particular the badly stained carpet was definitely not to a four star standard. Boutique hotels are always smaller and usually in my experience much better kept and cleaner than their larger counterparts however when it came to the house hotel this was not the case. I was also disappointed when i went to make a cup of tea and found that the spoons were tea stained! My expectations of the house hotel were obviously too high and in the future i'll be booking my stay in galway with the G. I have previously stayed numerous times and only that the trip was last minute and they had no rooms available for both nights i would have stayed there again. Needless to say i'll not be staying in the house hotel again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cazmurray80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galwayguests, Manager at The House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel.

We are extremely disappointed to hear that you had a negative experience with us. Please let us assure you that we have taken measures to correct each of the issues you highlighted.

Firstly, we can assure you that you were allocated a non - smoking room on the second floor however the previous guest who stayed in that room may have been smoking hence the smell. Housekeeping should have alerted reception to this and you should not have been allocated to this room. We do have two smoking rooms in our hotel located on the third floor. We apologise that you had a smell of smoke in your room, we would of been very happy to move you to another room but we understand that this may have inconvenienced you.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the stained facecloth & the stained tea spoons in your room this is not a normal occurrence and we have been complimented on numerous occasions for our cleanliness as can be seen by other guests reviews. However it is unacceptable that this did occur in your room and extra procedures will be put in place to ensure that it doesn’t re-occur; all rooms will be checked by our House Keeping Manager as per our standard cleaning procedures & then double checked again by our Manager on Duty - your complaint has been taken up with housekeeping.

The stain on the carpet was from the weekend prior to your stay where a drink was spilled and housekeeping was unable to remove the stain. I can confirm however that we have had a refit of new carpets in our rooms as recent as last week and therefore we do not have any carpets with stains on them.

We can assure you that if you were stay in our 4 Star Boutique Hotel again you will not be disappointed, we would love if you would give us another opportunity to assure you of this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.4 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,896 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,103 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,367 reviews
1.2 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House Hotel

Address: Spanish Parade, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Galway
#10 Romantic Hotel in Galway
Price Range: $114 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the House Hotel, a luxurious boutique hotel located in the heart of Galway City. The House Hotel represents the ideal "Home away from home" with its cosy atmosphere, chic style, excellent facilities and personalised service. Features of the guestrooms include flat screen TV's with internet access, safe and crisp white linen that will guarantee you a comfortable night sleep. The Parlour Bar & Grill specialises in modern and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your The House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The House Hotel Galway
Galway The House Hotel
House Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing