We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exoctic experience”
Review of Lynfield B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lynfield B&B
Ranked #102 of 189 Galway B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 28, 2010

We recently returned from a three week vacation in Ireland. We flew from California to New York and then on to Dublin. The flight was long but the service was good. We played cards for most of the trip, so the time went quickly.
We spent the first week in Dublin. We stayed in the Temple Bar area. The restaurants and nightlife were great.
We then travelled to Galway by train. We had booked Lynfield House B&B as it was beside the train station. We took a cab from the train station as we had heavy luggage, but really we could have walked it.

The B&B was excellent. The owner was most helpful in helping us organise our days. Lynfield House B&B was warm, with the rooms clean, airy and well decorated. The breakfast was massive, lots of cereal, juices and a big fried breakfast. It kept us going for a lot of the day. Along this road, there were several other B&Bs. The weather was pretty cool, but it was dry. The owner of the B&B also arranged a hired car for us, which he brought to the B&B for us. He also gave us a quick lesson on how to manage it.

We took a bus tour of Connemara, which was great as we saw how ancestors lived many years ago. We visited a beautiful pub restaurant in Clifden (Kings). The food and pint of Guinness were great.
In Galway City, we spent most evenings in Quay Street. This area has lots of restaurants, quaint Irish bars and nightclubs. We found the most wonderful restaurant (McDonaghs) for lunch, which served fish and chips. The place was packed, so we figured it had to be good.

Overall, we had a great time in Ireland and the highlight was our week in Galway City.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megan17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 243 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2010

We just returned to Australia from two weeks in Ireland. One week was spent in Dublin and one in Galway City. Accommodation in the Galway centre was difficult to find. We stayed at Lynfield House B&B on College Road, just beside Eyre Square. We had read some mixed reviews on TripAdvisor about Lynfield B&B, but the location looked excellent and we decided to give it a go. When we got there we met the manager and decided to mention our concerns because of the reviews we had read. He was warm and friendly and introduced us to his assistant manager. Both were very helpful and gave us lots of information about where to go to eat and the various tourist attractions.
The weather was freezeeing. It was below zero most of the time, but the B&B was warm and cosy. The rooms were nicely decorated, clean and well maintained. The food was excellent and given the cold weather, we needed a good breakfast. Galway is a wonderful city and well worth a visit. We had read lots about it during the Volvo Ocean race in 2009. That was our main reason for going there. The city has lots of restaurant, quaint pubs and shops. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Ireland and plan go go there again in the next few years.
When we were leaving we asked to meet with the manager so that we could explain that our concerns were unfounded and to congralute him on the business he runs. The reviews we had read certainly did not reflect what we had encountered.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2010

worst place to stay in galway,be aware,poor rooms quality, very bad breakfast

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnyBDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2009

I recently spent a week-end in Galway with my partner. We took the train from Dublin to Galway. We stayed at Lynfield Guesthouse in College Road. It was just a two to three minute walk from the train station. The B&B was wonderful, warm and well furnished. The breakfast was top quality with a choice of full Irish of continental. There were about ten other B&B along the same street.
Galway is a great city for socialising or shopping. Quay Street has to be the most exciting street in Ireland with lots of quaint bars, restaurants and night clubs. We ate at McDonaghs Fish shop. It was obvious that it was good as the place was full and there was a queue for the take-away also. Another evening we ate at the Malt House Restaurant off Shop Street. This was more upmarket and definitely worth a visit.
We really enjoyed our break in Galway and look forward to going back sometime soon.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessicapaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2009

No other words to describe this place, in particular the owner named Adrian. We booked Lynfield Guest House almost 2 months in advance. Spoke to owner Adrian on the phone after booking to check on details of the place. Everything was fine, until we arrived. A young girl who barely spoke english was there to greet us. Told us they made double bookings by mistake and as a result they had no room for us. The girl got on the phone to Adrian, who told me they made a mistake or rather he pinned the blame on the girl and said will book us into another B&B on the same street and call me back. Didn't call me at all. Instead called the young girl and gave instructions through her???????? Bearing in kind she hardly spoke any english. Eventually booked us into another place which was not the standard for what we paid but by that time, with 2 elderly people with us, we decided to stay put. I called Adrian immediately asking for a proper explanation. Why does he leave a young girl with little english in charge to greet guests and handle these matters. Why wouldn't he talk to us in person? He just replied by blaming the girl, saying she makes mistakes and he will make sure it will not happen again. Didn't apologise, didn't take any accountability. I then did more research on this place and discovered MANY other people had the same issue. I don't believe this is a coincidence. There seems to be a pattern of 'double booking people' and then diverting them to 'lower rated B&B' which are not the standard for the price paid. I intend to take this matter further and hopefully prevent other people falling into the same trap with this owner.

Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
1  Thank ray977777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2009

The Lynfield has a good location on College Road, a short walk from center of town and the tourist information center. Breakfast was good,with eggs, bacon, sausage, black & white pudding, toast, bread, scones, and (yes) beans. The owner is a young Polish woman named "Kate." She's very accommodating and even rustled us some toast and coffee when we arrived well after breakfast. On the other hand, it was rather hard to communicate with her, and she didn't serve as a resource for anything other than breakfast preferences and checkout. Parking is pretty normal for a B&B--which means a bit tight. College Road is a good route out of Galway for daytrips--you don't have to go through the city center. Our upstairs room had big windows with two double beds and one twin. That was as well, because there wasn't much in the way of storage furniture. The bathroom fixtures were a little wonky, but they worked. There are students boarding in the house, but they caused no problems with noise or anything else. Prices were reasonable, and they take credit cards.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davanden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2009

There are numerous negatives I could list about Lynfield (tiny rooms, dodgy shower, suspect cleanliness, chain smoking innkeeper, smooth talking owner, etc.) however, I will list the ONLY positive feature about this place - it's a 10 minute walk from Galway City center. That's it, there is NO other reason to stay here. There are so many other B&B's in Galway that do a much better job, so for my money, do NOT stay at Lynfield.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank capnwhitey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.3 mi away
Eyre Square Hotel
Eyre Square Hotel
#28 of 46 in Galway
683 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway
4.7 mi away
The Coach House Hotel
The Coach House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Oranmore
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Oranmore
838 reviews
0 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#7 of 189 in Galway
753 reviews
2 mi away
Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lynfield B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lynfield B&B

Address: 9 College Road, Galway 11111, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range: $49 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lynfield B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Center Location yet in excellent address quiet street 3 mins walk from Eyre square,coach & bus station and train station. Near restaurants, cinemas, theater,pubs,cafes, museum, river and promenade walk. Beside booking office for tours to Aran islands, Connemara or cliffs of Moher or car rental. 2 minutes from tourist office and all major hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lynfield B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing