We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad value for money and no sleep”
Review of Lynfield B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lynfield B&B
Ranked #101 of 189 Galway B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 16, 2012

The room was totally overpriced (€35 per Person, no breakfast), especially since the house is currently a building site. No refund given. Loud movement on wooden floors above until 2.30 am, noisy bathroom vents, 5 small rude children running around the house, constant banging of doors below the room and early morning construction outside our window left us with almost no sleep that night. The room was not ready upon arrival, the towels were not clean, there was no second set of keys and an unaccommodating owner who overcharged us when we decided to leave early. After 4 months of travelling the world, this has been one of the worst places I have stayed at. Much better deals (€30 p.P. incl. breakfast) much closer to town (e.g. Rossa B&B, Hillside B&B) with owners that have a sense for business and customer service.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank julia_f265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 244 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2011

the lights didn't work.. the shower was not good, the kitchen was not clean, crumbs in the corner.. TV did not work.. but they took our money gladly!!!
it is possible the actual B and B on college is cleaner. The mngr has 5 small kids and cannot keep up with running a B and B. I do not recommend this place
there were 4 of us for one night... No lights, poor shower,stained shabby linen/towels... not worth 100 euro.

Room Tip: she kept us waiting for over 30 mins while she "cleaned the place.." towels were stained a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank allipali62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stayed two nights the first week in August 2011. Adrian and Trish were very friendly and accomodating. We were in a family group of 5 and occupied two rooms, one upstairs and one down. Both rooms were ready for us upon arrival and were very clean. The breakfasts each morning offered a wide selection of choices with the Irish breakfast was most excellent. Town was within walking distance, making it very convenient.

This B&B is a family operation with everyone pitching in to help with cleaning, cooking, dishes, etc. It was great to see them working together so cheerfully. All of them treated us like royalty and we were glad that we had stayed there and got to know them.

Naturally, we highly recommend this very nice B&B to anyone visiting Galway or neighboring areas.

The Hazens of Ocala, Florida

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Me & my 2 friends booked to stay in this B&B for 1 night (19th Aug 11') for my friends birthday. On arrival to the B&B the lady who owned the house came across flustered and very abrupt with us demanding that we pay her upfront - while we did not have a problem with this, we did find it a bit strange as usually bills are settled on departure. We were brought to a room on the top floor which had 2 double beds and a single bed which was pushed up against a wall. The room had a stale musty smell and was only what could be described as average. The plumbing system badly needed to be updated as we found out later that evening - with the shower and toilet becoming blocked &eventully overflowing. When we informed the owner what happened - she was so rude to us and made comments about how 'you would'nt know what was put down the toilet' that would end up blocking it. She made such a song and dance about how it was our fault that it happened - which was completely untrue. After she cleaned up the floor (not even using bleach by the way), we decided that we no longer felt comfortable staying in the room for fear that the same thing might happen again. When we asked the owner what the possibility of changing rooms were - she had a really bad attitude & told us that there were no other rooms available and that there was nothing wrong with the toilet anymore. She even went as far as trying to humilate us. After having a chat amongest ourselves, we decided to change B&B's because of her unprofessional manner and we organised luckily to move across the road to Amber Lodge. When we packed up our stuff, we asked the lady to give us some of our money back -which we were most definetly entitled too - she told us that there was no way that was happening and that she would get her husband to talk to us when he got back. Her husband was a nicer man to deal with & he gave us most of out money back. This B&B is not Bord Failte approved and is it any wonder. We were completely dissatisfied with the service, attitude and treatment we recieved and I would definetly not recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jenna m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Arrived with 2 children and my husband. We were met with clean rooms & plenty of space. breakfast was always lovely, homemade scones were the best. Close walk into city centre. Busy street but didn't keep these weary travelers awake. Great room & location. Family room was ideal.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FriscoJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We had a lovely and really comfortable stay here! owner was lovely and served a really good breakfast -gorgeous scones!! The room was really spacious and clean! The service here was top class and i would highly recommend this b and b for a weekend stay! very close to everything and only a short walk in to eyre square! i would most definitely stay here again! A real gem:)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherie_odon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Myself and 5 friends stayed here last weekend for 2 nights. On arrival we were informed that the 2 rooms behind the B&B, where we were supposed to stay, had burned down. We therefore were going to be put in 1 room with 3 double beds. Because of the unfortunate circumstances we didn't mind too much that we all had to share 1 room. In the room however, there were not enough towels for 6 girls, and the toilet roll ran out pretty quickly. We were not offered fresh towels or toilet roll over our stay. The bin in the bathroom was not emptied either. We opened the door Saturday morning to be met with two presents....that the dog had left us! It was disgusting. We presumed it would be cleaned while we went into town but on our return it was still there! We had to tell the owner who joked about it and said she'd send someone up to clean it. Myself and my friend who slept under the skylight had a couple of bad nights sleep, as the blind was broken on the window and the light shone through from 5am. There was no bathroom window or vent and a few of us banged on heads on the extremely low ceiling. The shower was immersion and was cold by the second one. Did I mention there were 6 of us?! There was no bathmat either and the lamp in the room had no bulb. We were happy enough with the breakfast, and the distance to town was very short. We also negotiated a discount, given our dissatisfaction. We paid 64 each for two nights in the end, but again this was for 1 room only. I would shop around next time.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pip05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.6 mi away
Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway
0.3 mi away
Eyre Square Hotel
Eyre Square Hotel
#28 of 46 in Galway
684 reviews
4.6 mi away
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Oranmore
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 46 in Galway
1,713 reviews
0 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#7 of 189 in Galway
755 reviews
2 mi away
Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lynfield B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lynfield B&B

Address: 9 College Road, Galway 11111, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range: $57 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lynfield B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Center Location yet in excellent address quiet street 3 mins walk from Eyre square,coach & bus station and train station. Near restaurants, cinemas, theater,pubs,cafes, museum, river and promenade walk. Beside booking office for tours to Aran islands, Connemara or cliffs of Moher or car rental. 2 minutes from tourist office and all major hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Lynfield B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing