We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Helpful hosts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Seasons B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Four Seasons B&B
Ranked #19 of 197 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Helpful hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Four Seasons B&B in Galway. The location was great for a short walk to the center of town. Room was fine, breakfast generous. The best part were the hosts, Eddie and Helen Fitzgerald. We were greated by Eddie, who once we were settled in gave lots of good advice about Galway - restaurants, walking tour, where to shop etc. He was very thorough. He was available throughout the day and we had many good conversations with him about Ireland. I had many questions based on things I had noticed during our trip, and he was very kind and helpful about explaining the things I wanted to know. I think the conversations are the best part about staying in a B&B, and Eddie excelled in great conversations.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LRSSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    49
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
34
87
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

What a fabulous place..the hosts in this cozy B & B couldn't have been more welcoming, friendly and helpful - and don't get me started on the breakfast! The cooking (and particularly the baking!) was first-rate and worthy of a 5-star hotel. We set off each morning glowing with happiness because of the marvelous quality of the food at breakfast. The rooms, as has been noted by previous reviewers, are on the small side. This did not bother us in the slightest however-the rooms were clean, modern and quiet. The location is excellent as well, very near both train and bus stations, as well as Eyre square and all Galway attractions. We couldn't have been more pleased with the whole experience!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hatcheckgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Very warm welcome from gracious hosts! Room was very clean and comfortable. Room to park car out front. Fresh fruit always available -a real treat when we had been eating restaurant food for several days. Great breakfast in morning cooked to order. Good advice on where to eat. Highly recommend this place and hope to return.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DESOtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swords, Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed in Galway for a couple of nights in March while down in Galway working at the Schools Bridge Championship. Eddie one of the owners is a bridge player so made sense to seek accomodation in this B&B. Rooms were spotless and I would have brought the bed home with me except it would not fit in the car. Walking distance from the centre of Galway (that means about 7 minutes). Last year it was lashing rain and my friend Thomas decided we were going to get the shortest taxi ride ever instead of getting wet.
Breakfast was great and the Fitzgeralds supply various foods which should suit most people. I am the regular bacon sausage eggs guy so I cannot advise too much except my food was superb.
The only problem I have is apparently it is a house rule that the guests give a round of applause for the chef. So far I have had 4 chances and missed every one. However I did send the proprietor a youtube link to chef applause.
Proprietor also offered us lifts to anywhere we needed to go to in Galway and dropped us up keys to Galway Bridge Centre where we were working. I was also told I was the first person to get into his private stash of guinness.. anybody else only got a beer.
Went to Myrtie Rabbits pub about 7 minutes walk down the road. Good music provided by the Hot Sausage Band and great guinness.
I cannot comment on the value as somebody else paid the bill. WiFi access was available in all rooms. 6 of the bridge playing teenagers also stayed here and they seemed happy too and got free bridge lessons from Eddie Fitzgerald the proprietor.
Thanks
Eamon Galligan

Room Tip: Room 3 is my room and even has internet WIFI access. The fitness centre and swimming pool are down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eamon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed in Galway for a couple nights in November. Location is ideal for exploring Galway City & Eddie is a wealth of information. It's a short walk from the B&B to the city center & just a couple blocks from the Galway Sportsgrounds (home of Connacht Rugby). Rooms are clean & quiet & the beds are comfortable. Sure the shower is a bit small but that's nitpicking. Breakfast was fantastic & Eddie gave us the scoop on the Aran ferry (we used the pony tour he recommended on the Aran's).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fatheaded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

This is such a great B&B - perfect location to walk all around Galway and the owners will give you a map and suggestions to help you find good places to go. They even called ahead to reserve us a spot on a tour we wanted to do. Breakfast was great and cooked to order. My husband's only complaint was the shower - it was a little small for him, though he is 6'4". We highly recommend staying here if you are in Galway!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed three nights at the Four Seasons and had a great time. We were staying in the top floor room, which was a bit cramped since we are tall and the walls are sloped on the sides of the room and in the bathroom. The bathroom shower was similarly cramped for large persons. That was about the only faults we found though. The room was very clean and comfortable, and there were skylights which gave a view of the surrounding area. There is wi-fi, although the speed varied and seemed to be a little slower in our room due to the distance to the ground floor. The location is very good, about a 5-10 minute walk from the train and bus station.

Breakfast was wonderful! Our hosts, Eddie and Helen, offer a wide range of options, including smoked salmon omelets or full Irish beak fast. There was also a basket of toasts and absolutely fabulous warm home made scones! In addition, Eddie chats with guests with great stories and witty Irish humor. He is also very helpful with recommendations for restaurants, pubs, etc.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveH_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,605 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#22 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#6 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.0 mi away
Asgard Guesthouse
Asgard Guesthouse
#9 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Stop B&B
The Stop B&B
#5 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons B&B

Property: Four Seasons B&B
Address: Four Seasons 23 College Road, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Seasons B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Four Seasons B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons b&b
Four Seasons Hotel Galway
Four Seasons Bed And Breakfast
Four Seasons Galway
Galway Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing