We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Claremount House
Nearby Hotels
$128
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Westwood House Hotel(Dangan)(Great Value!)
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Connacht Hotel(Galway)(Great Value!)
$104
$100
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Flannery's Hotel Galway(Galway)(Great Value!)
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Twelve Hotel(Barna)
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maldron Hotel Galway(Oranmore)(Great Value!)
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oranmore Lodge Hotel(Oranmore)(Great Value!)
$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$175
$158
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$224
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (224)
Filter reviews
224 results
Traveler rating
185
23
9
3
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
185
23
9
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bbed and breakfastsalt hillwonderful hostscomfortable bedsnice breakfastshort walkhomemade breadher husbandroom was spotlessirish breakfastannapromenadesalthillirelandaccommodationswest
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 224 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Myself and my Finacé stayed here last year and we were delighted to be able to fit in a return trip to Claremount House. It was wonderful seeing the hosts, Anna and Steven again and they greeted us with a big friendly smile. Beds were just as comfy and breakfast just as delicious. Enjoyed every moment of our stay again and maybe some time again we will be up in Galway again, our No.1 location in Galway! Such a fabulous stay!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prettiful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

If selecting this B&B, bear in mind that the tripadvisor map does not currently show the correct location - this needs to be fixed as it is misleading - we expected to be easy walking distance from Galway city centre but instead paid an average of €10 each way in a taxi to go into town. The map shows the location being on the Seapoint Promenade, but the B&B is in fact 30 minutes walk further out from the city than that - great perhaps if you want to be based on that side of the city depending on your sightseeing plans. If you look up the Spinnaker hotel, that gives a more accurate reflection of the location as it is across the road from that. The room was relatively small but immaculately clean and with quality comfortable beds and a great breakfast. We found it to be a bit cold at times, but we were there during pretty bad weather.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front if available are likely to have a nice sea view - ours just had a view into the backs of other people's houses.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank llb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

This was my first bed and breakfast
The owners of this bed and breakfast are super nice and very accomidating
The rooms were nice and set up very well
The location is perfect, as the city center is close and the ocean is within view
We used the local bus line to get into the city and back and it was quite nice and the bus stop was only a short walk from the house

If I ever go back to Ireland again I will be staying at the Claremount House
We traveled through many cities on our trip and out of all the cities I liked Galway the most.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Comfortable, clean room, delicious breakfast in a room with grand view of Galway Bay. We were so comfortable there we extended our stay to three nights. We felt like Anna went out of her way to make us feel at home. She made reservations for us to catch the bus to the Aran Island Ferry, gave us tips for restaurants for dinner and pointers about the area. We felt like we were leaving an old friend when it was time to go.

Room Tip: Our room in the front gave us a view of the bay from our bed.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I recently stayed two nights at the Claremount House - Anna and her husband were wonderful. It was immaculate and the beds were the most comfortable in my 10 day stay in Ireland. Anna gave us suggestions on places to see during our stay and we are glad we took her advice. We had a wonderful breakfast and the smell of fresh baking bread was amazing when we returned home from our travels. I would definitely stay there again - very lovely owners and accommodations.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews