We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Claremount House
Nearby Hotels
$236
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Clayton Hotel Galway(Galway)(Great Value!)
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Menlo Park Hotel(Galway)(Great Value!)
$177
$162
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Connacht Hotel(Galway)(Great Value!)
$162
$143
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Flannery's Hotel Galway(Galway)(Great Value!)
$133
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$270
$238
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$162
$158
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$307
$287
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (224)
Filter reviews
224 results
Traveler rating
185
23
9
3
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
185
23
9
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbed and breakfastsalt hillwonderful hostscomfortable bedsnice breakfastshort walkhomemade breadher husbandroom was spotlessirish breakfastannapromenadesalthillirelandaccommodationswestpubs
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 224 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2013

One word, WOW!! This B&B deserves to be first on tripadvisor! Really and truly the best place I have stayed in Galway, beds are so amazingly comfortable, nice powerful showers and decor is beautiful! One thing I noticed straight away was the big fluffy dressing gowns in our rooms, 2 of them! I have never seen dressing gowns in any B&B before, exactly like one you would have in your own home. Such a nice touch!

Anna and Steven were so helpful ... really down to earth and welcoming. We went on a day tour to Connemara, they booked our tickets for us and organised for the bus to pick us up right outside the front door so we wouldn't have to go to the coach station itself, which saved us some time :) ... would really recommend that tour, and the sun was shining too, just gorgeous views!

We could see Galway Bay and the Clare Hills from our bedroom window, such a lovely view to wake up to in the mornings, it's just situated up from the promenade, which was a nice stroll in the evenings, and just 10 mins drive into the city center but we took advantage of the bus that ran all day past the house. Getting from Claremount House to the city/Salthill was so convenient and easy!

Will definitely be back next time we visit Galway (hopefully for the Galway races :))!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prettiful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

My boyfriend and I went to Ireland for St. Pats and stayed in Dublin. When we went to the west coast, I wanted to experience 'real' Ireland so we decided to stay at a B and B. We went by reviews just like you and were so happy with the Claremount House. Owned by Steve and Anna who have a young daughter who got involved with baking brown bread for people who stay. They were awesome. Gave us tips on where to go, helped us with taxis and made the best full Irish breakfast. Rooms and bed were clean and just what you need since you're not spending much time in the room. Restaurants aren't too far to walk and town was about a 10 minute drive. There is a pub directly across the street which was perfect too. The buses that do tour groups were willing to bring us directly to the hotel which was a big deal since taxis are somewhat pricey. Enjoy the stay and bring a raincoat : )

Room Tip: We picked a double bed room and requested a room with a view of the ocean and golf course. It was perfect.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fluttrbi4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Claremount House. The B&B overlooks a golf course and Galway Bay. We had beautiful views while eating the wonderful breakfast that Anna prepared.
This was the first overseas trip that my mother or I had taken, and we were very lucky to have such a wonderful experience.
We were welcomed by Anna and two of her daughters, they all made us feel like family.
Anna gave wonderful recommendations for sightseeing and meals, and always greeted us and asked about our day.
We stayed here on nights 8 and 9 of our trip, Claremount house had the best shower we had experienced (size of shower and water pressure were both great), nice comfortable beds and pillows. Parking was easy (in from of the house), and it was close and easy to attractions.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and comfortable, but the best views are from the side that overlooks the Bay.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SherryS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We only booked one night ahead, which was rather short notice, and found the owners to be very accomodating and helpful. A very fancy building, the rooms were small but very clean and elegant. There is plenty of parking in front of the house. Only a short walk away is the seaside promenade, where we went for a walk with gorgeous views of Galway bay (which we also had a great view of from our bedroom window). Very good breakfast. The downside is that it is rather far away from the center and if you don't want to go there by car, it takes a while by bus and is a little confusing. Definitely too far to walk, as we first tried (we do walk a lot whenever possible). Overall, I would say that the owners didn't feel as welcoming as other B&B owners we encountered on this trip, but they were very friendly and professional – we just didn't feel as part of 'the family' as elsewhere but they were very courteous. Just a little bit more 'business' but certainly not impolite or anything like that. We had a wonderful stay there with a rather luxurious feel for a B&B.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L0upin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Claremount House is a bit out of the town centre of Galway, but the view across Galway Bay is worth it. Steven and Anna are a very hardworking and hospitable couple; the house is spotless and breakfast is wonderful looking out over the Bay.
We met two couples who are friends of ours from Germany and it was their first time in Ireland. We were all very happy with the warm hospitality and family feeling everywhere in Ireland, but especially at our two B&B's. Hugs all around when we had to leave. Hope to see Salthill and the Claremount House again one day.
Thanks!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews