We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what the Irish B&B experience should be like”
Review of Claremount House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Claremount House
Ranked #35 of 187 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Exactly what the Irish B&B experience should be like”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Myself and my girlfriend stayed the weekend here as we had a wedding on the Friday in Galway.

We needed an early check in so we could get changed for the wedding and this was not a problem. The room and bathroom were extremely clean, and the bed was incredibly comfortable. We had a nice view of Galway bay and the golf course. The TV in the room was quite small with poor reception, but you dont go to a B&B to watch TV so this was little more than a minor inconvenience.

The breakfast was excellent, with a wide selection of cooked options, and between the two of us we tried the full irish, and scrambled eggs with smoked salmon or sausages. They were cooked by someone who knew what they were doing, and werent swimming in grease like hotel breakfasts can be, and tasted like they were probably grilled. The sunday morning there was also crossaints freshly baked, dropped in to the door by the shopkeeper from next door. We had to leave earlier than they offered breakfast on sunday morning (pre 8am) and this was not a problem, and both Anna and Stephen were up to prepare breakfast and to see us off.

Not the cheapest B&B I have ever stayed in, but at the same time, you pay for what you get, and i feel we got good value for money (I'll be ringing directly not booking online next time to save a few quid too). All in all a pleasant experience, very welcoming house, with nice beds, nice breakfast and a great location/view. I dont understand the couple of bad reviews, as from what i can gather, it provides exactly what you should expect from a B&B (the clue is in the name folks).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darragh O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    23
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
24
132
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Clonmel, Tipperary, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

What can i say - had an absolutely fabulous two nights in Galway! Anna & Stephen are the best hosts..... I havent yet stayed in nicer or friendlier accomodation... Room was fantastic, the bed was divine didnt want to leave!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Breakfast was so yummy and the brown bread is to die for - Anna even gave me the recipe so must have a go at that... House was spotless, very quiet at night so got to catch up on my beauty sleep!!! So close to Salthill and just up the road is a lovely supermarket called 'Joyces'.. Petrol station and convenience shop next door are indeed extremely handy and convenient.. Went for some lovely walks overlooking the sea - really wish could have stayed for longer... Will be recommending this B&B to family and friends and i will defintely be coming back again - if even just to sleep in that amazing bed again...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We just returned from 21 days in Ireland and the UK, and we absolutely loved our three nights at Claremount House (July 25-27,2012). Yes, it's a bit of a walk to downtown Galway...along a perfectly lovely and scenic bayside promenade populated by runners, dogwalkers and families pushing baby strollers. That's the charm of staying in Salthill. And, yes, there are a few gas pumps outside the small market adjacent to the property...but who cares? Our room was located on the side of the inn facing that direction and we were never even remotely disturbed by the trickle of cars pulling in next door each morning.

Anna and Stephen and their children (Claremount House is a family business in the truest sense of the word) are all fantastic, as are the beds (which are better than ours at home) and the hot breakfast, cooked to order with your choice of tea or a fresh pot of French press coffee.

I'm sure one could find a hotel in Ireland, or even in Galway, with a breakfast and beds just as good - and with bigger rooms, elevators, swimming pools, a stronger wi-fi signal and a fitness center - but I'd wager it would be twice the price and wouldn't feel half as welcoming and comfortable as Claremount House.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gojonesgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

This was our second visit to Anna and Stephen's Claremount House. Their beds are the most comfortable we have ever had in Ireland. Their home is immaculate, breakfast and tea upon arriving were delicious, and their hospitality and friendliness are topnotch. We will return!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CMcGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed in Claremount House on the 28th July and had a lovely stay. The rooms were very clean and the bed, pillows and linen were better then most hotels. Had a great night sleep. The breakfast was lovely and the view of Galway bay from the breasfast room was stunning. Anna and Stephen are great hosts. Very friendly. I would recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne-Marie X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed here for two days and wanted a comfortable room with a bathtub...the pictures on the website show a large tub with black tiles...the pictures show a room with a large flat screen as well.. They had no tub in the the rooms and there was only a small tv with terrible reception... The rooms are super small and barely enough space to put two backpacks... We tried to take a shower late at night and there was only luke warm water for about five minutes, not enough time for two people to shower! It states that there is Wifi in all rooms!!! This is not true.. We had to practically sit on top of the wifi router to make our laptop work! It was ok, but everything was a little misleading! We stayed at numerous other B and B's and also never had to pay there 3% credit card fee.. The owner complained to us that they also have to pay 25 euro a month for the card reader! That is not the customers problem... they were nice owners and had nice children and yes, the bed was nice... The bathroom is almost as big as the room...the breakfast was good...:) this is the first review I have ever felt the need to write because of the Huge Misleading Photos... My wife so wanted a bathtub to relax in for our last two nights...I would personally recommend the White House B- B right up the street close to town with awesome views as well...great people running the place... Oh, the Claremount is located right next to two gas stations...

Room Tip: The White house BB is very good for the price! Nice views, close to the Ocean ok rooms...nice owners...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elvis777_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biddy22, Owner at Claremount House, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
While we thank you for taking the time to post your review, we are very disappointed to read your comment. Comments and Feedbacks are very welcome at all times and are addressed where we feel it is necessary to do so.

Unfortunately you booked on 23rd of July at 20:31 for July the 24th, for two nights (16hours in advance) We acknowledge that you booked with a specific request. This is your request, word for word:

" We would love a sea view room if possible..We have been in Galway for 10 days and have not been able to get a nice view:) a room with a bath tub would also be amazing!!! Thank you so much... It is awesome that breakfast is included!"

Due to such short booking notice, it was absolutely impossible to offer you the room with the bath tub, it had already been booked two months in advance of your arrival! However we moved around other customers from their rooms, who did not request the sea-view, in order to accomodate your 'sea-view request', where you 'couldn't get anywhere else'.

Also the second gas station you mentioned is half a mile up the road. The gas station beside us is also a convienence store which supplies many necessities that one might forget on their travels, mostly seen as a positive and not a negative thing!

We are sorry that you thought we were complaining about the 3% service charge, we were merely informing you as to why such charge applies. We also informed you of this credit card charge when you arrived so you would have enough time (2 days) to choose which way you wanted to pay. In no way were we implying that any of this was your problem (or any other customers problem)

Us, as the owners felt we had done everything possible to make your stay enjoyable. We changed rooms around, made sure your room was ready for 12pm, which you requested on the morning of your arrival (instead of normal check-in at 2pm) but you didn't arrive until 3pm. In addition to this, we also offered to drive you into the bus station on your last day because your friends didn't show up to pick you up and both of you were nervous that you might miss your bus. Might I add, this was at no extra cost. However ye decided to take a taxi!

Finally I would like to mention, our pictures on our website are 100% accurate, taken by a professional photographer. If you had booked on time we would have been able to accommodate you with this request. I stress again, we did accomodate you with fabulous sea-views, both from your bedroom and the dining room.

We do our absolute best for all our guests, who stay with us in our family home, including our guests that have been returning to us for years. Claremount House is not a hotel, but as we said, a fabulous family home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Stephen and Anna great hosts friendly welcoming and helpful, organised our pickup by bus for Aran Island ferry, bus collected us right outside door. Breakfasts were delecious especially the home made browm bread. Situated right on the coast next to a Gas Station very convenient for newspapers and snacks. Wonderfull sea views. Very close to Salthill Promenade but at the quiet end. One minute walk from bus stop for buses to Galway very good service every half hour on the half hour. Will definitely be back. Sisters Philadelphia and Dublin

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.3 mi away
Salthill B&B
Salthill B&B
#24 of 187 in Galway
55 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Nest Boutique Hostel
The Nest Boutique Hostel
#17 of 187 in Galway
78 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sunrise Lodge
Sunrise Lodge
#8 of 187 in Galway
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Inishmore House
Inishmore House
#28 of 187 in Galway
161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cashelmara Lodge
Cashelmara Lodge
#29 of 187 in Galway
133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marian Lodge Guesthouse
Marian Lodge Guesthouse
#48 of 187 in Galway
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claremount House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claremount House

Property: Claremount House
Address: Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Claremount House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing