We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“John & Monica”
Review of Cashelmara Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cashelmara Lodge
Ranked #29 of 187 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“John & Monica”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

My wife and I and two friends thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Cashelmara Lodge in August 2013 while touring around Ireland, being the start of a 3.5 months world trip from Australia. The Proprietors Padraic and Christina run an extremely pleasant B & B in a most convenient location overlooking Galway Bay. The spacious room and ensuite, large bed, neat furnishings, generous breakfast were ideal. They were a very obliging and friendly couple. Thankyou and well done !
We both agreed on the EXCELLENT ratings we have given is this review.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Legs1723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    20
    5
    7
    5
See reviews for
30
74
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Our family descended upon Cashelmara Lodge (we had travelled from Co. Kerry and Co. Clare, Ireland, the U.K. and Switzerland) and our stay was perfect from arrival to departure!
Christina and family were kind and thoughtful hosts and nothing was too much trouble. Our ensuite rooms were well appointed, very comfortable and spotless.
The breakfast menu offered a wide choice and all was cooked to order, portions were very generous, the scrambled egg and smoked salmon and seeded brown bread were superb!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Focus65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Clean, large room, perfectly located with bay views, easy access to the city centre and points west. Christina and Padriag were gracious, friendly and very helpful - such a delight! Don't miss your chance to stay here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Düsseldorf, Germany
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Very friendly and helpful couple!
The landlady has a good sense of humour.
A rich breakfast of good quality is served.
The room itself, the bath as well as the rest of the house is very clean.
It is situated in a quite area with a nice view onto Galway Bay.
Free parking right in front of the house is possible.
Also there are is a bus stop just one minute away.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uwe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands,UK
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Christina couldn't have been more helpful or accommodating. Lovely family bed and breakfast with fantastic views. Rooms really well appointed, clean with everything we needed. Christina recommended the golf club for our evening meal..fantastic selection and reasonable. Again with marvellous views! Breakfast was cooked to order and we all had something different...delicious..especially the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. She came to chat and it was just like staying with a friend..definitely recommend this gem in salthill.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LindseyMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is truly a wonderful and homely B&B situated in the most beautiful location in Galway. We were welcomed by Christina - a true Irish welcome. Great rooms and wonderful breakfast - one couldn't ask for anything more than the service we received.
If you are in Galway I would truly recommend you stay at Cashelmara Lodge - you will not be disappointed.
Thanking you for everything during our stay - top class
Elsie and John Crossey with PJ and Ita Colreavy x

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zil74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Galway has so many B&B's, Guesthouses and hotels, one has their choice from a penthouse to a shoe box of a room. its truely amazing as a one night stay can cost you as much as a weekend break anywhere else in ireland in some of these places. As always i travel on a wing and prayer and did not book ahead, Found myself in salthill at a wedding and nowhere to put my head down for what was to be a late night with old schools friends and no douth a extended drinking session. As i drove around salthhill scoping out possible places to stay knowing the head to pillow time would be approx 4 hours at most i was shocked and taken back by the prices and cost of staying in this city, I found Cashelmara on the web and they were by far the most affordable but also when i rang the lady was so nice and genuine that i said what the hell lets check it out, As i drove up to newish estate this little lady came out to greet me and introduce herself, she show me around the house which was lovely, Clean tidy and kind of homely with family pictures on the walls, Loads of local information and safe parking right outside the door. Rooms were perfect, Bed was comfy and again clean and my room had a lovely view and an ensuite, It had everything a really nice hotel would have. Next morning breakfast was nice and set me up for the day. Christine and Philip are both lovely people and even gave me a lift down for my car that i abandoned at the wedding venue. Great personal touch, lovely B&B and as i said great value and well worth a visit. It truely is a hidden gem !! well done folks ill be back :-)

Room Tip: Ring ahead and ask for one at the front of the house looking out unto the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank williebuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Seashore Lodge
Seashore Lodge
#59 of 187 in Galway
76 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marian Lodge Guesthouse
Marian Lodge Guesthouse
#48 of 187 in Galway
146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rusheen Bay House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bohola House
Bohola House
#40 of 187 in Galway
46 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ardawn House
Ardawn House
#17 of 187 in Galway
480 reviews
0.1 mi away
Salthill B&B
Salthill B&B
#24 of 187 in Galway
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cashelmara Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cashelmara Lodge

Property: Cashelmara Lodge
Address: Cashelmara Lodge 3 Cashelmara | Salthill, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cashelmara Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully decorated inside, this is one of the most opulently appointed houses in Galway City which appropriately matches its glorious location overlooking Galway Bay. Located five minutes drive from the city centre on the scenic Coast Road at the gateway to Connemara, Cashelmara Lodge is the ideal tourist base. The Lodge is owner occupied and we have great local knowledge to help with your schedule and tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cashelmara Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cashelmara Hotel Salthill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing