We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location in Salthill, Galway”
Review of Cashelmara Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cashelmara Lodge
Ranked #29 of 189 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Nice accomodation in Salthill, 3km west of Galway City. Stayed here for two nights and booked the room per mobile-phone on the day of our arrival in Galway. The room with a view of the near Bay was clean, breakfast was good and the owners were friendly and helpful.

The ferry terminal (in Rossaveel) for a trip to the Aran Islands is just ~ 40 min. away and you avoid possible traffic jams in Galway City. The city itself is easy to reach with the car (ca. 5 min). In Barna, also a few minutes west from Salthill, there are some very good restaurants (seafood!).

All in all we enjoyed our stay in the Cashelmara Lodge.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 140 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2012

That was a great happiness to stay 3 nights in this lodge, very clean, really quiet, and we enjoy the irish breakfast. The couple FAHEY is so kind, helping us for our tour in Connemara ! I'm sure I'll come back there if I return in Galway !!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JREGNAULT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

B&B is right on the Bay. Great view from the second floor patio which is for everyone to share. Our room was large enough for three of us to move around and we had enough room for our luggage. Each night we were asked when we wanted breakfast in the morning. Breakfast was nice, very morning we were asked if we needed assistance in planning our day. Owner's suggested an excellent route to Quiet Man Bridge, and Cong, Ireland.

Room Tip: It was really windy one night, our room was in the back of the house and I didn't hear a thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marypat_MGainesville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

My fiancé and I stayed here for 1 night in March 2012, we hadn't made a booking but the owner was very accommodating, we were lucky to get a room overlooking the Bay/Irish Sea. The B&B is run by a friendly couple who were knowledgeable of the area (they recommended a spectacular seafood restaurant at the nearby pier where we had the best meal in Ireland!).

The room was cosy (perfect for snuggling your beloved on a chilly March evening night/morning!), and well-catered for, with an ensuite (the shower had excellent hot water!), tea/coffee making facilities, TV, wardrobe and heater. There is ample space in the beautifully ornate and homely living room downstairs to relax in as well, complete with fireplace, couches, books etc. You can hardly tell the owner's family live there, as we found the place to be very peaceful and private!

Service was prompt and friendly (e.g. when I enquired about Wi-Fi, which was quick) There are plenty of options on the breakfast menu, I had the Irish breakfast and my fiancé had the normal hot breakfast (and you can help yourself to the cereals and yoghurts if you wish), which were delicious, ample and very satisfying!

Overall, we were very impressed at how tidy, clean and meticulous the room and B&B was, and we felt very well-looked after. The lovely owner gave me a warm birthday wishes on the morning of my birthday which topped it all off! Being our first B&B experience, it couldn't have been better for us! Highly recommended AAA!!!

Room Tip: We were advised this place gets busy during peak seasons, so may be best to book in advance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

We visted Ireland for the World Irish Dance competition in Dublin last year. We came to Galway without any plans or information. We just jumped on a train. We enjoyed Galway for 2 nights and the staff helped us create our plans for tours,shopping,and dinning. We live in California and we experienced Irish hospitality as if we were part of the family. We felt safe and at home. We were three women, a Grandma,Mother and 13yr old. They created lifelong memories of happiness for 3 generations. We highly recommend you stay here for as long as you can.

Room Tip: Some rooms have ocean views and some garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Stayed 2 nights as a couple, I usually have a big smile (for no reason other than I enjoy life) We were greeted by the daughter of the house, with a big smile, an apology that her mother was out, which was not necessary. Shown our room, I'm 6ft 6in, the big bed was what we asked for. Had a pleasant conversation about a shared sporting interest and as I was competing the next am asked if breakfast could be a bit early... no problem... did I want anything special?
We were out for a meal. Salthill has the usual quick food outlets but we found a restaurant so good we booked the Saturday as well.
The lady of the house met us later, another pleasant chat and confirmation of early breakfast.
We booked B&B, the bed was good the room was clean, the shower and toilet worked, breakfast was as ordered. We engaged in plenty of conversation.... helpful.
Would I stay again, sure probably same event next year!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DesLondonderry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We stayed in this lodge for one night but didn't have a very good experience. The owner, actually I didn't know her name until I checked the reviews below, looked very serious and 'cold' since we stepped in. We didn't even see her smile once till we left, which made us feel so 'cold' and 'unwelcome' staying here. The room facility is great but one thing, not CLEANING enough. One coffee cup in my room and the one in my friends' room were not clean at all (ours has coffee print and the other one has sugar left at the bottom!) AND THERE IS BLOOD on the duvet cover!! Actually we think she can do much better as she is at a good location and has very nice rooms! I have stayed in many places in Ireland when I travel around but this is the most uncomfortable and disappointed B&B I have ever stayed. Usually wherever I stayed I would have a chat with the owner and be recommended with advices, suggestions, and experience sharing - BUT NOT THIS ONE, just want to escape from the cold place.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yiwen19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cashelmara, Manager at Cashelmara Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2012

Dear guest,
I am sorry you feel that way about our guesthouse and that you did not feel welcome as most people do but unfortunitly we had difficulty with your party as they were very noisy. I had to get up at 1:30 at night and ask them to be quiet and stop running from room to room, shouting and banging doors. We had a complaint from another customer about the noise that night. I tried to help these guests with restaurants etc. but they stated they were ok - Regarding smiling I always smile and have conversations upon arrival. Our rooms are always clean and it is untrue to say there was blood in the bed clothes. As can be seen from previous reviews there has never been an issue with the cleanliness of Cashelmara Lodge.
Regards,
Christina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0 mi away
Seashore Lodge
Seashore Lodge
#67 of 189 in Galway
82 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rusheen Bay House Bed and Breakfast
0 mi away
Salthill B&B
Salthill B&B
#23 of 189 in Galway
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sea-Breeze Lodge
Sea-Breeze Lodge
#3 of 189 in Galway
703 reviews
7.6 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,141 reviews
2.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cashelmara Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cashelmara Lodge

Address: Cashelmara Lodge 3 Cashelmara | Salthill, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Hotel Class:3 star — Cashelmara Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully decorated inside, this is one of the most opulently appointed houses in Galway City which appropriately matches its glorious location overlooking Galway Bay. Located five minutes drive from the city centre on the scenic Coast Road at the gateway to Connemara, Cashelmara Lodge is the ideal tourist base. The Lodge is owner occupied and we have great local knowledge to help with your schedule and tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Cashelmara Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cashelmara Hotel Salthill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing