We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful”
Review of Sea-Breeze Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sea-Breeze Lodge
Ranked #3 of 188 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful”
Reviewed August 4, 2009

Beautiful room. Nice setting. Great Breakfast. Loved the comfortable bed and enjoyed looking out to see Galway Bay. We were very tired when we arrived, but was quickly revived after a great night sleep

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carjer70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    593
    58
    26
    6
    8
See reviews for
136
418
22
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2009

We spent 2 nights in Seabreeze, Freddy and his staff were great
The breakfast menu is extensive and the food very good.
The rooms were very nice and comfortable, with a lovely view of the bay.
I would highly recommend the Seabreeze to anyone visiting Galway.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bpesqurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2009

We stayed at Sea Breeze Lodge located at 2 Cashelmara and I was rather disappointed with my room. It was advertised as a room with a garden view. It was on the ground floor and looked into a hedge, with some kind of shed jutting out from the lodge and two large red gas tanks on the left. Not the garden view I expected. My friend had stayed at the other Lodge at 9 Cashelmara and could not believe the difference in rooms, etc. Thought it was overpriced for the size of the room. Would not consider going back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gbirdScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freddy121, Owner/Manager. at Sea-Breeze Lodge, responded to this review, August 3, 2009
Dear Alison,

We are sorry you were disappointed with your room. I quite remember checking you in myself. You had booked a double room for single occupancy. A double room is a room for 2 people and you stayed on your own so it couldn't have possibly be too small. The rate you paid is not for the room only. You stayed in the peak season during race week in July, some of the busiest time in Ireland let alone Galway. The city attracts about 100.000 people in one week alone! Obviously the rates are higher than other months. You also made a comment when I asked you if you liked your room and you said you'd rather not climb stairs at the age of 65+ and you were quite happy to stay on the ground floor. Yes I have a gas cylinder in the garden. You'd have to look carefully to see it. That reminds me of a writing on a fridge magnate : A FRIEND IS SOMEONE WHO LOOKS PAST YOUR BROKEN DOWN GATE AND ADMIRES THE ROSES ON YOUR FENCE. So many people have admired our garden...I just still don't understand one thing after 14 years in business. Why don't some people have the courage to tell us right in the face if there's something they don't like and see if there's anything that can be done about it rather than leave unhappy and write a not so nice review about it!? I could have easily found you an alternative room! "A problem well stated is a problem half solved."
- Charles Franklin Kettering (1876-1958)

Sincerely,
Freddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2009

Sea Breeze Lodge was the perfect choice for us!
It was a short walk to all the local sights, yet far enough away from the hustle and bustle.
Freddy and Michelle pampered us and saw to our every need. The breakfasts were delicious and the entire ambience was superb.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikquenum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2009

I visited Galway for 5 days with my mom, and we fell in love with the Sea Breeze Lodge the minute we arrived. Freddy and Michelle (the owners) are some of the most welcoming and hospitable people that I have ever met. Upon our arrival, Freddy welcomed us with open arms and gave us some great recommendations on what we should do during our stay. This was incredibly helpful, considering that we had not done any research before arriving in Galway.

Our room was perfect for us. It had a nice bathroom and a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was provided each morning, and it was fantastic! Fresh fruit, cereal, bread, pastries, and juices were all set up on a buffet each morning. There was also a made-to-order menu with 5 or 6 items on it that was made especially for you by a member of their staff. We tried everything on the menu at least once, and loved each of the items... especially the french toast!

The B&B is a little bit far from the city center, but makes a very beautiful walk along the bay when the weather is nice. We walked everywhere we went, and it probably took us 30-45 minutes to get to the city center. However, if you take any of the offered tours, transportation will come pick you up at the B&B. I highly suggest the Connemara tour- it was really beautiful!

I can't say enough good things about this B&B. My mom and I both loved our stay here, and were so blessed to have Freddy and Michelle as hosts during our stay. We enjoyed many great conversations with Freddy... he is such a caring and funny guy. I would recommend this B&B a thousand times to anyone traveling to Galway. You won't regret it!!

Stayed June 2009
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelsey022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Professors in US
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2009

Our hosts at the Sea-Breeze Lodge in Galway made us feel comfortable as soon as we entered the door. Freddy and Michelle provided us information regarding must see opportunities in the Galway area and once we determined what we wanted to do they helped us make the arrangements. It made sightseeing so much easier!
The Sea-Breeze Lodge has fantastics views, an incredible breakfast (with a variety of foods to choose from), clean and comfortable rooms. It certainly holds some of our favorite memories of our trip to Ireland!
If we should ever return to Galway we would be sure to stay at the Sea-Breeze Lodge without question.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The2Professors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2009

Teh food was some of the best we had all week, the room was great, and Freddie and Mishhelle were terrific hosts. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and getting to know them both, wish we would have had more time to stay there. It was like being with long lost friends.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beaner53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
1.9 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,703 reviews
0.9 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,124 reviews
0.8 mi away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
2,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,782 reviews
2.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,921 reviews
2.8 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea-Breeze Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea-Breeze Lodge

Property: Sea-Breeze Lodge
Address: Sea Breeze Lodge 9 Cashelmara | Salthill, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 188 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sea-Breeze Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Breeze Lodge is the first and only bed and breakfast in the West of Ireland to be approved for the prestigious Five Star Award. Luxuriously furnished, all the rooms are non smoking, with own private bathrooms, full size baths and walk-in rain showers, Walnut wooden floors, mini fridges, central heating, hair dryers, all with 32" multichannel Cable TV and tea- coffee making facility. All the beds are fitted with the best Memory Foam mattresses and pillows available. Full traditional Irish breakfast, free Wi-Fi, off street private car park and all taxes are included in rate! Parking lots are directly present before the B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sea-Breeze Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea-Breeze Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing