We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seabreeze Lodge”
Review of Sea-Breeze Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sea-Breeze Lodge
Ranked #3 of 187 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sudbury, ON, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Seabreeze Lodge”
Reviewed May 13, 2009

My wife and I reserved a room from the 2nd to the 5th of May on the strength of the very nice website. As we came from Lladudno, Wales, and had taken the ferry from Holyhead we arrived around 8pm, somewhat late but we had communicate this to the owner. The taxi from the train station delivered us at the wrong address (there are two properties in the same block with the same name). Our problems started after I pressed the door bell. No answer. Then I tried the intercom and after quite some time someone (as it turned out the proprietor) answered ansking for my name. In the mean time we were soaked standing outside the locked door. A little later the owner himself arrived on a bicycle and informed us that we were at number 2 instead of number 9. We marched to number 9 and after being admitted quizzed about our surname again which, as it turned out caused difficulties for the mangement. Having just enjoyed a wonderful stay at Abbey Lodge in Lladudno this was not the kind of welcome I expected.

We were shown our room, which was a good size and clean but hardly palacial I told Mr. Frank, the proprietor that I felt not welcome by the reception we had got. Unfortunately that was not a good start. Instead of being asked what might be done to rectify this impression we were treated to a lengthy dissertation that all this was my fault. I had a strage surname (true), I was tired (some truth to this obsevation) and we were wet (quite true). In brief, it was all my fault. After using the proffered towels to dry our heads I saw that this was probably not the place we wanted to be and I informed Mr. Frank that we were thinking about cancelling. My wife and I went for a walk as the rain had by now become a drizzle and decided to inform Mr. Frank on our return about our decision to stay just for the night and look elsewhere. Not a good idea. Another lecture on my shortcomings already listed above. Well, we stayed for the night, skipped breakfast and found another B&B.
The whole unfortunate mess cost us another 150 Euros and a long e-mail from Mr. Frank explaining it all over again and exhorting the vitues of the Tempurpedic mattrasses. Of course, as Mr. Frank explained, all this had been my fault.
Others may have had a wonderful time at the Seabreeze Lodge but it left a sour taste in my mouth. Surely, a guest comment could be an opportunity to change things for the better. And at no time was I anything but polite. As for being on the bay that is just another slight of hand. It would be if it weren't behind a main road that runs between the Seabreeze and the the bay.

Helpful?
11 Thank Peter9953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    58
    26
    6
    8
See reviews for
132
412
22
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2009

Incredible stay. I want to live in Galway now. I love Salthill and Galway and I am blown away by how nice everyone is there. The kindest people I have ever met and the B&B are a perfect example of this. We all became great friends in just minutes and they recommended great restaurants and pubs and helped us catch the bus and arranged the BEST bus tour to the Cliffs of Moher ever. I need to return asap because it was the most relaxing and blissful trip of my life. Breakfast was amazing (buffet and your choice of full irish hot breakfast, french toast, oats, etc. made especially for you) and the bed was so comfortable. After breakfast the first morning they just arranged a small bus tour to come pick us up and we were off to the breathtaking site of Cliffs of Moher!! I love Galway and Sea Breeze Lodge!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PazyAmor7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2009

I stayed at the Sea-Breeze Lodge for two nights while in Salthill Ireland (a suburb of Galway but not far away). The hosts were wonderful and very acommodating (made you feel like you were a member of the family and suggested great places to see and to eat) and the breakfast was great. The room was very nice. I had a room with a view of the bay. The bathroom was large and there was a skylight in the room I stayed in which was on the third floor. The lounge was very cozy and the breakfast area warm and welcoming. I would stay there again in a minute if I went back to Galway.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PrissyFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2009

Excellent B & B. Freddy the host was most gracious. Breakfast was the best. You do need a car from there as it's a little bit of a drive into Salthill area, not a far drive at all, but a long walk. Althought my father-in-law and I did hike up the road to the local pub for a late nighter! Very clean, well run. The beds were super comfortable. And to the few that had somewhat negative comments about Freddy - not quite sure where they are coming from on that. In fact, I'd say to Freddy if he changed his interaction due to that, please don't. People who go to B & B's want a little more personal interaction with others, else we could stay at a hotel - right? Overall an outstanding B&B in Salthill. I spent a summer in Salthill as a kid, and it's very busy now - even in April. I can't imagine what the summer must be like. So you must weigh the location (i.e. traffic, parking) in your decision. If you have a car, most certainly this is the place to stay as it's an easy shot over to Salthill or Galway. Decent restuarants in area. I recommend Sea Breeze highly - very nice, great hosts, great breakfasts, very clean. Can't go wrong staying here. My mother's family lives very close and I would defintely stay here again if I ever get back to the Salthill/Galway area.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ftrasser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2009

It was our first time in Ireland and had a wonderful stay at Sea Breeze, we felt very welcome as soon as we arrived and it seemed as if we were coming home! The room was just perfect and the Breakfast is excellent! (Traditional Irish breakfast is excellent and try the French Toasts with golden syrup!) Freddy is a great host and a wonderful piano player... It makes breakfast an even better experience! Sea breeze is also in a ideal place, allowing us to visit both Connemara and the Cliffs of Moher.
We would recommend it to anyone wanting to visit Co. Galway and Co. Clare, it is the ideal place to stay... Simply the best!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Xosout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2009

Sea Breeze Lodge is a wonderful B&B establishment that makes you feel right at home as you walk through the door. Michelle, Freddy, and Monica are so accommodating and friendly. They will help you in anyway they can. My room was immaculately clean and very comfortable. The location is only a short walk away from the Promenade in Salthill, Co. Galway. The Promenade will also lead you directly into Galway City Centre. Every morning I ate breakfast in a beautiful sunroom. With 7 different breakfast choices prepared deliciously to pick from and a full buffet of pastries, cereals, breads, scones, croissants, and fruit salad. Made me think, "How did I get so lucky?" I also used their front sitting room to write the book I was working on. The Lodge is quiet and welcoming in that way. When you walk out the front door of Sea Breeze you are staring at Galway Bay. The way the sun hits the water is indescribable in its beauty. I cannot say enough about this wonderful establishment! Thank you for such a relaxing wonderful stay!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tara93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onalaska, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2009

From the delicious and beautiful breakfast to the clean and comfortable rooms with plush bedding and towels, every aspect of Sea Breeze was just wonderful. But the best aspect of all was the proprietor and his staff. Freddy, Michelle and Monica were kind, generous, knowledgeable and fun to be around. They offered help with transportation issues, restaurant advice and just enjoyed having comfortable conversation with their patrons. I would very hightly recommend this B & B to anyone who will be traveling to Galway. It is second to none! Absoluetly fabuous and one of our best memories of our trip to Ireland. Perfection!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ebsgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
1.9 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,685 reviews
0.9 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
3,057 reviews
2.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 45 in Galway
1,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#4 of 45 in Galway
2,468 reviews
2.7 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
2,748 reviews
2.8 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea-Breeze Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea-Breeze Lodge

Property: Sea-Breeze Lodge
Address: Sea Breeze Lodge 9 Cashelmara | Salthill, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sea-Breeze Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Breeze Lodge is the first and only bed and breakfast in the West of Ireland to be approved for the prestigious Five Star Award. Luxuriously furnished, all the rooms are non smoking, with own private bathrooms, full size baths and walk-in rain showers, Walnut wooden floors, mini fridges, central heating, hair dryers, all with 32" multichannel Cable TV and tea- coffee making facility. All the beds are fitted with the best Memory Foam mattresses and pillows available. Full traditional Irish breakfast, free Wi-Fi, off street private car park and all taxes are included in rate! Parking lots are directly present before the B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Sea-Breeze Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea-Breeze Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing