We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Southern Ireland Tour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea-Breeze Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sea-Breeze Lodge
Ranked #4 of 197 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
cheshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Southern Ireland Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2008

Room was very comfortable and well appointed. We had a sea view balcony which was supposed to look over Galway Bay but in fact it was a small inlet off the bay. The downside was that the B&B is on a service road parallel to a busy main road which is quite noisy. The breakfast was excellent with a printed menu to choose from. Parking was no problem. The owner has invested heavily in the furniture and decor and it was the best B&B we stayed at during our tour of Ireland.

  • Liked — Standard Of Room
  • Disliked — Adjacent To A Noisy Main Road
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank calcottraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    58
    26
    6
    8
See reviews for
123
389
21
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ilford essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2008

Great location and view. Really comfortable and welcoming place. Great room - bed was excellent. Breakfast also great. Would definitely recommend this place to anyone visitign Galway.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank catsaregood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2008

The Sea-Breeze, comprising two properties operated under the same name and ownership, (of which we stayed at the newly acquired one), is welcoming and friendly. We enjoyed a terrific stay. We had two rooms, both spotlessly clean; super-comfortable beds and good facilities. Enjoyable breakfasts were offered and eaten. We paid a nominal amount for larger room upgrades, (King/Garden View), which we would recommend taking. Tranquil area and good off-street parking. Good view of the Bay and a few minutes drive to the City. If we are back in the area we will stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Vere_dicis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2008

We found the Sea Breeze Lodge through tripadvisor. The rooms were fantastic with a view from both out to sea (a bit of a climb up to the third floor mind but well worth it). The beds were so comfortable and the rooms very well appointed. We were made to feel welcome from the minute we arrived (even though we were very late!). I would go back any time! Our rooms were adjoining with a foyer a the top of the stairs linking us , which was perfect for for us (2 adults and 3 kids) , and we had the entire top floor to ourselves.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — drive to shops/restaurants
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank kiwiklan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2008

Don't stay here if you're travelling by train and have no vehicle. It's about 5 miles from town, not 3. It's a short walk to the bus which is ok, but if you're not familiar with the schedule it can be a problem. There are no restaurants close by.
The queen sized room we booked was very cramped. Very. Just a small stool for seating in the room...for 2 people. Freddy did bring us another stool. We booked for 2 nights. I know why there are no decent chairs with backs in the room. There is not enough room for them. It made for an uncomfortable stay. No phone in room which is inconvenient.. There was a phone downstairs, though.
The room was very clean and the breakfasts were very nice.
Overall the room doesn't justify the cost.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sisilyCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freddy121, Owner at Sea-Breeze Lodge, responded to this review, December 11, 2008
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. Our location cannot be more perfect. You said it was about 5 miles not 3. I here confirm and guarantee it is " Exactly " 2.2 miles from the city. Any future guest who stays with me and proves it is more than that stays free! I have promised it before in another response to a review and I stand for my words. Why is our location perfect? Simply because you really do not want to be in the heart of the city center with all the crowd coming out of pubs, restaurants and night clubs late at night with all the noise they make, you will not get a good sleep.

The bus stop is literally one minute walk from here and runs every 20 minutes. Taxis are also widely available, run 24 hours and arrive within minutes to Sea Breeze Lodge. All you had to do is ask for the timetable or read the guest information book we leave in the rooms. We also have 2 restaurants within 5-7 minutes walk from here and 3 other award wining restaurants within 1 mile only!

About the size of the room : If you really want a very large room then the best choice would be hotels not B&B's. You'd probably pay twice our rate to get a relatively larger room, would that justify the cost then? Maybe not.
One thing is for sure, no hotels in Galway offer beds with Memory Foam Mattresses and pillows ( Equivalent of the Tempur-Pedic ) , but we do. Also, we never say we have phones in the rooms. When people book the rooms online, they get an exact description of what is in the room and what is not.

Regards,
Freddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2008

We had a spacious room in the eaves of the house, with a view of the bay. Breakfasts were delicious. This is about a 15-20 minute walk from the aquarium and restaurants, but the walk is along the bay and quite pretty. Would stay there again.

  • Liked — View of the bay
  • Disliked — Internet access was spotty
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2008

My family and I were very impressed. Clean...friendly...comfortable...great host and hostess !
Couldn't do enough for us.
Great commuications via email.
Try it...you'll LOVE it.

  • Liked — Freddy and Staff are great
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank NJjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
2.7 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,603 reviews
0.9 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,813 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#10 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
2.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
7.6 mi away
Oranhill Lodge
Oranhill Lodge
#1 of 11 in Oranmore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea-Breeze Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea-Breeze Lodge

Property: Sea-Breeze Lodge
Address: Sea Breeze Lodge 9 Cashelmara | Salthill, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sea-Breeze Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Breeze Lodge is the first and only bed and breakfast in the West of Ireland to be approved for the prestigious Five Star Award. Luxuriously furnished, all the rooms are non smoking, with own private bathrooms, full size baths and walk-in rain showers, Walnut wooden floors, mini fridges, central heating, hair dryers, all with 32" multichannel Cable TV and tea- coffee making facility. All the beds are fitted with the best Memory Foam mattresses and pillows available. Full traditional Irish breakfast, free Wi-Fi, off street private car park and all taxes are included in rate! Parking lots are directly present before the B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Sea-Breeze Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea-Breeze Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing